We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Although we ( the members of the National Association of Women Entrepreneurs of Malaysia) did not stay there, we went there for lunch and we were given a tour of the place. The management certainly walk their talk from energy saving to water harvesting methods. It is a good example of People, Planet and Profit. We planted a tree as a mark of our trip to the resort. As NAWEM seriously works with its membership to create sustainable businesses, we would like to imbibe some of Frangipani's ideas for sustainability.
Well done Frangipani. We'll be back.!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a family room after 9 days in Penang. Front desk were helpful but not necessarily inviting, as to in the Restaurant. Our room served its purpose a bed to sleep in that offered a view out the door - we were there to explore the island not laze around on the sun lounges. Our room was clean and neat but things were a little dated, the bathroom although clean was not luxury and some of the towels were almost worn out. The salt water pool was at our door step and inviting, we didn't venture to the chlorine pool. Breakfast was ok but not a huge choice - that could be our opinion after 4 star luxury in Penang. It is find your own table and one of us had to sit while the others got food in case it was taken by other guests during our absence. The Resort reminded us of chalet accommodation in our home state and was laid back but I certainly wouldn't come here to spend a week or two. Internet was non existent in our room and it was quite funny to see everyone in the lobby purely there to get their internet fix not to converse! The hotel has what appears to be a good environmental program happening and are to be commended. Considering our room cost us only RM30 less then our club room at Traders we felt slightly ripped off - but as stated previously it suited our purpose. The beach is great, quiet compared to that if you take a short stroll up towards the strip. Can recommend Siti's Laundry - a short stroll to the right of the entry, don't miss her shop it is set back off the road. At time of writing she was charging RM4/ kg for wash and dry and RM6/ kg for express service. In our 2 1/2 days we went on a Mangrove tour with Dev's Adventures, Underwater World, Cable car and a trip into Kuah to have a look around and buy chocolate. Not that we had a lot of time but we found Penang to be better suited to our shopping needs and as cheap if not cheaper - Langkawi definitely does chocolate and alcohol cheaper - but we think that was about it. Would recommend a stay but just don't expect luxury - it served our purposes and we weren't fussed by the tiredness of the rooms.

Room Tip: OUr family of 5 comfortably fitted into a family room - 3 children bunked in together in 2 king sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hewieandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at Frangipani and in terms of 'mid-tier' resorts on Langkawi it is probably one of the best. Its best feature is its location (at the quieter beach, Pantai Tengah, rather than the relative chaos of Pantai Cenang). We stayed in a beach front villa which was right on the beach, so that was great.

Why I say Frangipani is "good, not great" is that you pay a fair bit of money for service and accommodation that is pretty tired. Overall the resort needs a bit of a revamp to bring it up to 2014 standards. On arrival at our villa I found numerous hairs in the bedding and bathroom. I phoned reception to have the bedding changed - nothing happened for a couple of hours so I ended up walking to reception to follow this up. No apology was offered but at least the sheets were changed.

The villa itself is lovely on the outside and the outdoor shower is great, but the decor, bedding and general condition is very tired. Old sheets (one with a couple of small holes), a hard bed and fairly battered furniture. Again, this puts Frangipani solidly as a mid tier resort, and cannot be considered 'luxury.'

Frangipani also has a policy of "king sized beds being subject to availability." this means that although I booked well in advance, on the day we arrived no king bed was available so we were stuck with two twins pushed together. This spoils any notion of a romantic holiday! I think they need a better system in place here, rather than leaving it as "luck of the draw" on arrival. Generally speaking I would avoid Frangipani if you are after romance or are on your honeymoon - whilst it has a wonderful sunset view, it is also a child friendly resort and none of the accommodation options offer much privacy.

Some staff were friendly and helpful but many were very inefficient and dismissive. For instance we would often sit at at empty table at the restaurant for a long time before someone bothered to come and throw a menu on the table. They also found it difficult to understand very simple requests eg. the complimentary welcome drink is a Sprite-based drink - we asked if we could instead have a drink without sugar (a not uncommon dietary request) but this was met with complete and utter confusion.

The front desk staff also don't tend to offer a friendly welcome, although they will attend to most tasks ok eg. booked a local restaurant for us. The woman in the activities office was however friendly and attentive, and helped us book a sunset cruise and island hopping day.

That being said, we did still thoroughly enjoy our holiday on Langkawi and whilst Frangipani could improve in a number of areas, it is a good enough resort with a great location so I would still say it's a good accommodation option. Just don't go in with extremely high expectations- or otherwise go for one of the more luxury resorts. Also Frangipani is to be commended for its eco-friendly initiatives.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We loved our stay at Frangipani in december 2014 for our honeymoon.
Pros:
The resort exactly on the beach and the ambience is peaceful.
They have nice sits out next to the bar facing the beach.
We had booked a deluxe room and the room was clean, spacious. The beds and linen were clean and perfectly made. Bathroom was good, the only thing we missed was a bathtub.
Room has a verandah / sit out where you can enjoy your drink.
Beach was clean and they have their own watersport activities.
Staff is courteous and helpful.
Cons:
The only problem with the standard / deluxe rooms there is a adjacent room with the door closed. So, if your neighbours are loud sometimes you can hear their noise. Also, other rooms around are very close and hence you can hear them if they are sitting in the verandah and talking. I was lucky to have no one in the adjacent room except on my last day.
Very less food options for pure vegetarians in the resort. But there are a couple of vegetarian restaurants just next to the resort.

Overall, i had a good experience and carry lot of good memories from Langakawi & Frangipani.

Room Tip: If budget is not a constraint, go for beach villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhaumikShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed ay Frangipani for 4 days in January 2014. No complaints at all and really enjoyed the place. Had Beach Front Villa which was clean and spacious and had unobstructed view of sea. Good food and service, and relatively cheap drinks at pool bar. Beach is beautifully clean and free of the jet-ski pedlars, tattoo artists and hawkers who infest the Northern end of Pantai Cenang.
Will definitely be back to this place later this year !

Room Tip: Beach front villas are excellent. I would not stay in Garden View villas due greenery encouraging mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaituo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I loved my stay at The Ftangipani Resort & Spa. I stayed here with my sister during a holiday to Malaysia where we visited KL, Penang & Langkawi. Langkawi overall is such a chilled out place, defo somewhere to go as a couple! Perhaps a bit too chilled for us after being in Penang.

The resort was amazing, right on the beach which was beautiful! The staff were really helpful and the food was nice! The mango smoothie and fruit platter was our favourite!

You can jet ski on the beach behind the resort. The pool and beach area is pretty quiet which is nice. There are some lovely places to eat, we went to The Brasserie which was amazing! The food was so good and the setting is great, right on the beach! One day we also ate in another place on the beach (cannot remember the name but I saw it in a previous review) which was great too!

Only moan about this place is that the rooms have a locked interconnecting door, we had 2 young males in the room next to ours which scared us a little as they knocked a few times but we ignored..Not worth being put off :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cole271189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We got the booking with RM1,200 for 2 nights on Deluxe Room. When we arrived, we wish to upgrade to beach villa but the front desk told us there is no more room while booking.com show 2 rooms left. We have to walk 500m along the back street , thru hotel staff hostel before reach our room. When open the door, it was smelly, 2 twin bed for me and my wife instead of king size bed. Toilet looks old and worn out. The main wooden door can see thru ! The power plugs are all loosen and not easy to connect. The next morning, we went for breakfast and it was total disappointment with the food selection. It only worth 1/3 of the price given. We only stay for a night and move out for other villa.

Room Tip: only BEACH VILLA is worth a stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwintcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Edwintcq,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us.

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to stay in the room category that you desired. The king sized beds are upon availability and it was unfortunate that there was no room available at the time for you and your wife.If you book with us at least a month in advance, the chances are more likely you would be able to so. Also, a 10% discount is normally given for early bookers.

I have informed the housekeeping staff on your comments to improve ourselves but cleanliness is our priority and one of the key aspects that our guests comment positively on. I have also passed your comments to our chef on the breakfast selection. We are sorry that your short stay with us was less than satisfactory.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can use them to better ourselves in the quest to provide our guests a relaxing holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,238 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £81 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing