We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated and the hotel needs a big revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were in Langkawi for a wedding and picked the Frangipani because it had good reviews on Tripadvisor. Maybe my expectations of the service and quality were not inline.

We were to leave for the wedding at 3.30pm and arrived at the hotel at 2.00pm to check-in. We were asked to wait as the room was being made up and check-in time was at 3pm. At 2.45pm I checked again and the front desk called housekeeping who informed them that they had only just started cleaning the room. We got into our room at 3.10pm. Bear in mind check out time is at 12pm, so what were the staff doing for 3 hours?

Here are a few concerns:
- from experience check in time is usually at 2pm and not 3pm. Check out is still at 12pm. This is a 3 hour difference.
- reception staff were not very friendly nor helpful. They did not offer any alternative rooms knowing we were in a rush to make the wedding. It was not until we pushed them and informed them of the urgency that they then said 'yes there is another room available'.
- the staff were there to just 'do their job' not to over deliver or find ways to solve the problem.
- room air conditioning was not cold. the a/c unit looked like it was installed 10 years ago
- lots of mosquitoes in the room
- room slippers etc were not prepared, we had to request for it (maybe housekeeping were rushing to prepare the room)
- wall paint was peeling
- our mate in another room had RM900 stolen when they were out
- no towel in the spa, we had to run to the pool to get a towel. No one offered to get one for us.
- staff were lying down on the bench in the spa having an afternoon nap

Positives:
- food was alright
- shower was awesome. Very powerful!
- there were staff who were actually very friendly - the housekeeping lady, dining area staff.

This hotel was at most a 3.5 star hotel with expensive rates. I would not recommend the Frangipani, my first and last time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoPoloTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear MarcoPoloTraveller,

We do apologize for the front desk experience that you and your party experienced. The staff in question joined us two months ago and has some ropes to learn. We have since reprimanded him for his behaviour. He is currently still on his probation period and has a few more months to prove himself.

In regards to your comments about the alternative rooms that were available, we were running on 98% occupancy on the day you were staying so were unable to check you in before 3pm. If you were to inform us in advance about having to catch a wedding around that time, we would have prepared the rooms earlier so that you and your party could freshen up in time for the wedding.
Our official check in time is at 3pm as 105 of the resort’s private chalets are spaced out over 10 acres of land. A city hotel would be more accessible by the housekeeping staff with lifts and rooms which are side by side. Unfortunately, our resort layout is a bit more unconventional to city hotels.

The missing RM900 was not taken from the room as mentioned in your review. It was left in an envelope at the restaurant. We were running on 98% occupancy as mentioned earlier so were having 280 guests walking around the resort grounds. There was very high traffic at the restaurant. There is no way we can ascertain whether the theft was by our staff or a guest but never the less, we are very sorry for this unfortunate incident. Our restaurant manager, Mr Ben mentioned that he hunted high and low for this envelope that contained the money but to no avail.We are very sorry for this loss of property.

We apologize that you had a less than satisfactory stay. If you would like to discuss this matter further, kindly contact me at siva@frangipanilangkawi.com.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.We will use them to improve our service standards as our guest’s holiday experience is of utmost importance to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having looked at reviews for this hotel in the months leading up to our stay, I did think several times about changing it but after a weeks stay there I'm happy I didn't. Myself, husband and adult daughter stayed in a family room and it was fine for space. The hotel grounds are well laid out and spacious, with lots of interesting plants and trees. Pools were both clean and a good size. Staff were polite. Breakfast was good, lots of variety. The location of this resort is perfect, right on a quiet beach. We spent the time there on a comfortable sunbed, looking out onto the beach, with the main pool behind us. The furniture in the room was a bit tired but served its purpose. I would recommend this hotel and would return myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank audrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

For all hotels we've stayed or have visited, this one seemed to give the best value for money. Location is perfect, very close to cenang beach, but in a more quiet part.

All non-standard rooms are housed in their own little bungalow, most a stone throw away from the beach.

Rooms are clean, well fitted, spacious and the terrace of (partial) seaview rooms is perfect to relax while staring over the ocean.

Staff is friendly and helpful, food is good and well priced.. especially the cocktails :)

Would definitely stay here again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLIvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This resort has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. I booked for a family of 5,we were given two connecting rooms which was spacious and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, there is a good variety to choose from. Dinner on the outdoor deck was beautiful with live music performances. Such a beautiful atmosphere at the Frangipani, would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domouh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The positives:
spacious rooms, good interiors, clean and well maintained property, resort with a good swimming pool and touches the sea. The food is extremely delicious,especially the local dishes but they should include more vegetarian delights for the main course. As mentioned earlier the pool is good and there are two jacuzzi to enjoy. The beach is little narrow but enjoyable as it touches the property. Nice to spend evenings as the sun goes down. We had sightings of jelly fish and i guess its common in that area. Very close to the famous Cenang beach.
The negatives:
Very pricey as compared to the rooms they offer. The ones that are generally on offer through online websites, don't have any view and are actually clustered together, away from the beach. The sit out actually looks over the back of the rooms in front. Its a high price for what feels like a economy resort. No room service or food after 10:30, not even a bucket of ice or request for a spare tooth brush is entertained after 10:30.

Room Tip: Have food in the resort, its quite nice. Spend an evening by the sea after sunset on one of the many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sayantan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely hotel 10 mins walk from Pantai Cenang. Quiet with direct beach access and two good pools. Big, clean rooms and a lovely dining area right on the beach, where breakfast is served. Service around the pool bar and restaurant is very slow, however. Food and drink prices similar to the many other bars and restaurants, although there is a duty free shop just over the road selling water and alcohol for a fraction of the price. For some reason we were given an interconnecting room, which for four nights was next to a couple with a young baby which woke up crying at 7am. Not what we were after! The beach has quite a bit of rubbish on it and the sea is murky - it's not quite the paradise island the pictures would have you believe. Pantai Cenang is a terrible place - open drains along the pavements mean it stinks. Restaurants are mostly poor quality. Many shops selling the usual touristy tat. Pantai Tengah, where the hotel is located, has barely anything there apart from a few scrap heaps, disused buildings and endless piles of rubbish. So overall it's a good hotel but in a really disappointing place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Really it was nice staying in this hotel, staff was perfect, place was fantastic
Hope to visit it again and again, the only thing missing or not to the level was the old AC in one of the rooms. the food was good and can be more better

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated or the one with a new AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osama H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 107 in Langkawi
1,413 reviews
11 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £94 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing