We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frangipani Langkawi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Frangipani Langkawi”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here 23-29th July 14. Our villa near the beach was excellent. The resort is well placed on the island, and is generally very good value for money. Liked the green/eco ethos of the resort -clean, green etc. ( it's just a pity generally that Asia uses the ocean to get rid of garbage ). Dining was adequate for snacks for lunch but distinctly average for evening dinner. But not a problem, there are many nice restaurants just a short walk from the resort. Anyway, that aside - a strong recommendation.

Room Tip: Villas near beach are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Maccaville,

Warm greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Firstly, we would like to thank you for recent patronage and reviews of our cosy home by the sea and we have taken note on your comments about the rubbish that sometime will be washed ashore at the beach near our Resort and as information, the rubbish will be cleared up daily by our Landscaping and Public Area team.

Regards to the quality of food at our Restaurant, we have taken note of it and informed our Executive Chef and his dedicated kitchen team accordingly.

Once again, thank you and best wishes from all of us in return.

Best personal regards,
WanZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    632
    242
    93
    54
See reviews for
471
549
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here in the first week of July with my boyfriend and it was amazing. We stayed in the cheapest room available which was great value for money. We were able to check in early at 8.30am, it was a king size bed, very spacious clean modern room. It was up the back near the staff quarters but that didn't bother us as it wasn't far from the beach, restaurant or salt water pool.

The buffet breakfast was great and overlooking the beach. The location is fantastic with practically a private beach and only a 10 minute walk way form all the action at cenang. I highly recommend this place for a very relaxing hassle free holiday.

Room Tip: We had a peak at the more expensive sea facing villas and they didnt look any different from the muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GIGI495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear GIGI495,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at The Frangipani Langkawi.

We are happy to know that with the length of your stay with us, you have managed to encapsulate many of the advantages that makes the hotel so special.

We will pass on your compliments to the team, who will appreciate your feedback. We are really pleased you and your family left us as happy customers and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

warm regards,
Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We tossed up between the Meritus pelagi and this resort and are so please we chose here. Love the kampung style villas, rooms were spacious, clean and the beds the best we have had in Malaysia. It's less ostentatious, lovely to hear the waves crashing as I write and has everything we need and more. Good selection for breakfast and friendly staff. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had great interleading rooms and fit our three children comfortably across 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandhfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jandhfm and family ,

I trust the month of July 2014 has commenced positively and everything is well for your family & indeed you.

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services during your recent stay at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA .

Your comments have been passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you and your family.

All of us at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will be looking forward to welcoming you back again at the property.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife, teenage daughter and I spent 6 nights at the frangipani in early July. We were initially attracted by good rates and location. As another review suggested it is an older resort but we found it well maintained. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. All seemed to have there own balcony or porch. The grounds were beautiful and tranquil. The highlight was the friendliness of the staff. The pools are good and the beach right out the front of the hotel clean and good for swimming. The food was inexpensive although the menu not extensive. There are plenty of good restaurants close to eat at. The tour office in the resort was efficient and friendly. Wifi around the pool and restaurant but not in rooms. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Glenn Young

Thank you for your time in posting your kind review about our services during your recent stay at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA .

Truly appreciate that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful garden, our villa's, the peaceful tranquillity that surrounds the Resort and our team member friendliness - which is the main asset here at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA.

Do rest assured that all your comments will be passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you and your family.

All of us at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will be looking forward to welcoming you back again at the property.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the resort. Located well for a short walk to shopping & dining. Staff were very accommodating & pleasant. Hard to beat the location as far as the very clean, relatively uncrowded beach. Wonderful vistas. Would definitely consider staying again. Our only complaint was the boxed breakfast we received because of our early departure - very disappointing for such a quality resort; day old products with little or no nutrition. Most of it ended up in the airport garbage; otherwise a very delightful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Veronica649,

Thank you for sharing your observations on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely regret to note your less than satisfactory stay with us and our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had encountered on this occasion. Kindly rest assured that our Kitchen and F&B team had looked into the issues you had raised about the boxed breakfast and every effort is being made to minimize any future recurrence.

On a brighter note, I am happy to note on your feedback about the staff accommodating and pleasant attitude which will certainly motivate them in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guest.

The whole team at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband back again for a much more enjoyable stay the next time.

Kind regards

Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We absolutely loved our recent stay at the Frangipani and can't fault it. Main thing we enjoyed was the overall feel of the resort - Peaceful and quiet - a very tranquil and relaxing place surrounded by beautiful frangipani trees and beautiful scenery. The location is perfect - just far enough away from the action at Cenang, but close enough to enjoy the activities and restaurants which are a 10 minute walk away. The views from the resort beaches are simply stunning. You never get tired of looking at it. Our days were spent lazing around the beach/pool/bar area and it was simply blissful. Quiet, peaceful, idyllic. The perfect beach holiday.

We stayed in a Family Deluxe room with our 3 children. The room was perfect for us, being two interconnecting rooms with balconies. Modern bathrooms with a huge overhead showerhead which was devine. Rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard. Our room certainly wasn't dated/old looking - we were very happy with the standard of the rooms. Beds were huge, firm and comfy. No complaints here.

Breakfast was a buffet daily, with outstanding beach views from the restaurant. No complaints re the food - great omelette station, hot meats, pancakes, croissants - plus pastries- everything we love. Service in the restaurant and pool bar restaurant was outstanding. Even the grounds maintenance workers and security guards were very pleasant and attentive. It was nice to see people always cleaning - picking up leaves out of the pool etc. Every staff member we dealt with was exceptional and pleasant. We didn't eat dinner at Mentari restaurant, so we can't comment on the dinner menu. We had lunch daily at the Bar restaurant and particularly loved the Roti Canai station. Our kids loved the pizzas.

There are two huge pools at the resort - one circular pool near the bar and restaurant, with a childrens pool. Then there is a saltwater large rectangular pool at the other end of the resort. Both are great.

I didn't use the day spa at Frangipani, but i did go to the Sun Spa, just outside the resort - but all the spas looked good, all offering different packages.

Free Wifi in reception and around the pool - very good connection at the pool bar restaurant/breakfast area. Totally satisfied with this.

A few shoutouts to local businesses around the hotel - Four seasons Laundrey was great, sun spa, Restaurant: Red Sky, and the mini mart across the road from the hotel. Everything you need is very close to the resort.

Overall we were completely happy and we will definitely be returning. We were very sad to leave!

Room Tip: The high story rooms for families had nice balconies, but all rooms looked good. Ocean view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Qldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Qldfamily,

Sunny greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

I trust the month of July 2014 has commenced positively and everything is well for your family & indeed you and we wish to thank you for taking the time to compliment our services and the quiet,peace tranquillity of the Resort during your recent stay

Your comments have been passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you and your family.

All of us at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will be looking forward to welcoming you back again at the property.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

with best regards,

Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Family we're looking for a few days in the sun, hotel is right on the beach and the ocean was fine for swimming. 2 pools available as well. Close to a number of restaurants and duty free shops.
Staff were always available to assist with any questions.
My only negative comment is that this hotel was obviously built a number of years ago and the rooms could have some work done to upgrade.
The hotel will grow on you from first impressions, if you are looking for a hotel that is close to the beach and local restaurants and are happy to use your room as a base only then this resort will suit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear andrew b,

Warm Greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Thank you for comments entitled "Short Family Stay" and thank you for staying at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA and on behalf of all the team here , may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our Resort.

We also take note on your comments about the slightly dated rooms and I have channelled the information to the Resort Management accordingly.

Once again, thank you so much for your patronage and constructive comments and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

with best regards,
Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,315 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing