We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Happy, Don't Go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 24 March 2012

1* as opposed to 3*

When we arrived the room wasn't ready. Room allocated wasn't secure as balconey doors wouldn't lock. We were moved to another room & lights were broken, shower broken, no tea & coffee available in room. Cleanliness of room poor. 1 inch gap at least under main door allowing animals & insects to come into the room.

Staff were unfriendly & uncooperative. When trying to change stirling cash in to ringetts receptionist accused us of trying to pass counterfit money as she didn't understand stirling denominations.

Breakfast was adeqate but not much variation & sometimes some items were cold.

Beach bar staff were rubbish & choice available was poor & very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

We returning home after our 13th visit.This time we stayed with family and friends.Everyone had a wonderful,relaxing time.
The hotel is within The holiday villa grounds.Located within a very close proximity to the wonderful beach,Plenty of trees to shade you from the sun. sunbeds for all the guests.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable.Sheets and towels changed every day.Tea and coffee facility in room,also a fridge.What more do you need!!!!!!!!!!!
This visit we tried the breakfast,plenty of choice,european and asian food available.Would recommend.
May i commend the hotel manager Mr Passa.
Throughout our stay,we were very impressed by the friendly/helpful attitude of ALL the staff who are genuine and unpretentious.They went out of their way to meet our requests and deserve a big thank you.
The highlight of our trip this time was The valentines dinner,Tables set on the beach,sea in front and stars above.The food was excellent,so was the service.resident artists playing romantic songs,dancing in the moonlight,and then we made a wish as we sent our lucky lantern up into the sky above.
What more can i say.Thank you again.Mr Passa and all your staff for a wonderful holiday. I have already booked again for november.Can,t wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grundy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Service - Average
- Checked-in at 2pm but received the room at 3pm.
- No coffee & tea facilities although stated it is one of the hotel facilities. (no big deal)
- Friendly staffs but poor follow up.

Value - Average
- Online Agents able to offer better rate than you directly contacted the hotel itself.
- Nice swimming pool / jacuzzi did compensate a little.

Sleep Quality - Poor
- The bed is poor and countless Mosquito in our rooms.

Cleanliness - Poor
- towels smelled badly. :-(

Location - Excellent
- 2 mins away from P.Cenang
- 10 mins away from Airport
- 20 mins away from Kuah / Pantai Kok

Rooms - Poor
- Old room / furniture (since 1990 ?? not sure)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyi_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for one week and were really satisfied with the hotel. It's really the same as Holiday Villa but cheaper. They got the same entrance and breakfast etc u cannot really tell whether you're staying in FV or HV. The beach is quite peaceful, not crowded as Cenang. Big trees give shade plus there are plenty of sun rests.. Taxi drive to Kuah as well as Oriental village not more than 24 RM.

Great service overall, more than good looking at the price overall :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toppaset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed at The Holiday Villa in Nov 2011 and at The Federal Villa 7 weeks later (lucky me!!) Here's a comparison for those of you undecided between the 2:
Check-in for both hotels is at The Holiday Villa, a staff member helped us with our luggage to the Federal Villa next door, about 4 mins away.
The room was a bit smaller, mainly due to the fact it didn't have a bed-setee, the balcony was smaller, the flat screen TV was smaller. There was more space in the bathroom as there was a shower but no bath.
The best thing about The Federal Villa was the peacefulness, away from the reception and pool area I slept much better.
No hair dryer in the bathroom either but you can get one from reception.
The biggest difference between the 2 hotels is the price - Federal is around half price!! This is is a no brainer for me - I've stayed at the Pelangi a few times too but I think the Federal Villa offers the best value accommodation in the Pantai Tengah/Cenang area and will definately stay there again on my next visit to the beautiful Island of Langkawi :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScubaDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Federal Villa is part of the Holiday Villa Complex. The rooms in the Federal are just as good but slightly cheaper. This is about are 10th visit to this hotel and we love it. Fantastic beach - vast grassed area with huge trees for shade and one of the biggest pools in Malaysia.
Not renowned for it's cuisine but the breakfast is more than adequate with a very large selection. We normally stay for two months of the year, enjoying the fantastic weather in Jan/Feb/Mar

Room Tip: The bungalows at the federal are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy_George1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

If you wanna enjoy a holiday on the beach and feel nature, I think here is the place. U can spend all the day on the beach. We enjoyed simple time goes slow there. Especially it's nice to walk through the long beach in the morning. The swimming pool is big enough. Breakfast has many choices.
As someone left comments, it's not 5 stars hotel so some stuff missing but it has all we need so I think as the price of hotel it's all right. But I don't recommend it to someone wants something luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Komarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#80 of 104 in Langkawi
562 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#23 of 104 in Langkawi
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#20 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing