We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great family holiday that exceeded our expectations.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Federal Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great family holiday that exceeded our expectations.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

To start with, let me say that we had a great family holiday on Langkawi at Federal Villa.

We were a group of four with myself, my wife and two children aged five and six. We paid $66AUD per night.

We were a little hesitant to stay at Federal Villa after reading a few of the negative reviews, however it was the only resort venue we could find in the area we wanted that would accomodate our family without costing significantly more or looking like a complete dump from the reviews. I am pleased to report that I had nothing to worry about.

I accept that some of the reviewers may have had some individual problems from time to time, but I suspect that some of the reviewers who complained about the actual rooms have unrealistic expectations of a three star room. Federal Villa makes no claim of providing anything other than a three star room and that is what we got, a clean comfortable, functional, air conditioned room that did the job expected of a room in this price range.

What made Federal Villa excellent value and a holiday to remember were the grounds and facilities (shared with Holiday Villa including checkin for those who are unaware). The gardens in which our room was situated were beautiful, only a short walk to the spectacular beach (pantai tengah). I actually preferred the spread out garden setting of Federal Villa to the more block like setting of Holiday Villa. The gardens were beautiful and peaceful, with noise never being an issue.

The Holiday Villa pool was spectacular, with swim up bar. The beach front was magnificent with beautiful views all around, and a beach bar as well. The prices at the beach and pool bars were more than what you would pay in town but really not all that much more considering that it was a hotel service. We didn't eat at the restaurant due to the cost of breakfast compared to Cactus restaurant across the road (more about this great restaurant in a minute).

Contrary to some reviews, Federal Villa isn't far away from the main tourist areas. Pantai Cenang is within walking distance, although a bit far for some. Instead a taxi any where along Patnai Tengah and up to Underwater world on Pantai Cenang is only RM6 and further distances not much more. Our most expensive taxi was RM26 to visit Kuah, even the airport was only RM20. Taxis were always available at Holiday Villa with the fixed prices clearly displayed to all locations on the island as was the case at all taxi ranks. Taxis do not have meters in Langkawi but all prices are fixed and fairly good value, all drivers we had were friendly and honest.

What we enjoyed the most were the number of restaurants within walking distance. We ate breakfast at Cactus every morning and never left unsatisfied. The food was beautiful, cheap and the service impeccable (including driving us back across the road to our resort during a downpour). As for lunch and dinner it was either Cactus or the many other options within a five minute walk. All were delicious and affordable.

Overall I would not hesitate in recommending Federal (Holiday) Villa to anyone who wants an affordable, family, beachfront resort holiday that is close to all the main attractions.

Room Tip: The single story rooms in a group of four were quiet and peaceful with less neighbour noise than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Macmaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    145
    96
    51
    32
See reviews for
101
117
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The rooms are basic. The facilities are ok as they are shared with Holiday Villa. The beach is admittedly beautiful, but the rooms are dark, dingy and beds are awfully hard and uncomfortable. They're a little stingy with pillows too. The poolside snack bar isn't very good - just like the beach cafe. The menu is limited, food isn't too good. The main restaurant Lagenda is ok - menu is wide and food isn't bad. Cactus restaurant across the road from the hotel is very good - excellent food and prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fahrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I arrived langkawi and excited to see my room. Unfortunately, i was lost...i was nowhere and keep tracking where is Federal Villa. We keep driving till we found Holiday Villa whis we take a chance to asked the security where is the hotel located. Then they said we need to go to the reception inside Holiday Villa...
Ok, so we go and checked in, then we was told that its nearby the entrance before the security post. But still we cant find as no signage at all or even the name of the Villa. So we asked again to the security and he showed the way which is you can see there, we care for your heart, its something like that...
we tried to find our room and still we cant find as no body accompany us to go to our room, which is not a sign of hospitality..so we find it for ourself..
When i enetered in my room,..and checked it.. i dont like what i see, its not worth at all..
I was in a foggy rrom, which is i need to wipe the mirror every minute just to see my reflection, and every morning the walls and ceiling are leaking due to the fog isnside the room..
A very bad smell towels, and in the toilet they have a shampoo but it's in there is a body wash, it's even hardly to determine which is the shampoo and the body wash as its in the same pack.
Outside my room, infront of my door there's a bread knife which is i was expecting that when i wake up in the morning, the housekeeping will take it away, but still there..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madzcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel is right on the water and you have access to its brother hotel with all of its facilities next door. We were fortunate that our room was on the upper level and had a beach view. While the hotel is on the old side, our room was well maintained and of a good size. It was serviced every day and the air conditioner worked well. Many mention the huge pool at the Holiday Villa next door and it is fantastic. Taxis are really cheap so catching one from the airport costs about AU$4.00. Complete with a swim up bar, this was a welcome refuge from the heat of Langkawi. its cheap cocktails were very welcome too! I actually looked at a room in the Holiday Villa. It may have been marginally bigger and newer, but I was not prepared to pay a 50% premium to stay there. I will mention the Cactus Restaurant over the road. It has the best value breakfast available. It looks like a tumbled down old garage, but the food was good, cheap and of generous proportions. Many people from the Villas wander over for breakfast, so try to get there before 8:30.

Room Tip: I asked for the best room available, and I think I got it with "glimpses" of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrisHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

right on the beach, the room was huge with lots of room to move around, but the air-con drove me mad there was 4 just outside my door, also it was right at the end, so its quite a long walk from the main entrance and if its raining there is no umbrella in the room, the front provide them so just ask.
the sliding door did lock, but there is no handle when you want to come back in.
we used all the facilities at the holiday villa, but we chose to eat across the road at Cactus for breakfast and visited the The Turkish Delight restaurant for real Turkish food many times.
Its not far from the airport its only 20 mins and its only 24myr for one way.

Room Tip: check your room first and ask for a ground floor and away from the air-conditioners
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This area is gorgeous sandy beaches and largest swimming pool I have ever seen!

Rooms are clean but nothing special and free use of facilities of the Holiday Villa Hotel.

A long way from the airport and even longer from Kuah harbour; consider nego for a small car as you step out of the arrivals exit door. Rental counters are expensive, do it privately.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed at federal villa which is part of holiday villa, rooms are big and fairly clean but old, its not too far from the reception as other members said, lituraly on the beach even though it was a garden view room and I LOVED the beach very nice and clean. The big negative point was the bugs in the room they were every where. Food and breakfast very expensive at the hotel, but the beef burger at the pool bar worth a try very very nice. If you want nice breakfast try Cactus Rest just across the road its amazing and the atmosphere is brilliant. One last thing the pool area was very very good. Over all the hotel was good 3 stars I just felt like things were not as organised and the staff at the reception could have been a bit more friendly.

Room Tip: Stay at holiday villa may be more cleaner and less bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ultim8holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.3 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#76 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Property: Federal Villa Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#19 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing