We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Federal Villa is part of Holiday Villa. It's a very nice resort! Beautiful beach (although the water is a bit murky and has jellyfish), pool, gardens, good variety of food at a reasonable price, and most staff are friendly.

It's located in Pentai Tengah, which is pretty much just a strip of restaurants and shops. So there's plenty of places to eat. The next town, Pentai Cenang, is larger. You can walk to it in about 30 minutes, or simply take a cab.

I got a deluxe room - the setting was cute, but the room itself isn't much to be desired. It was like a motel room. The bathroom was pretty basic and the towels were musty. The AC was really powerful, so you'll have no problem cooling off from the heat. The TV had plenty of channels.

Given the price, this hotel is great value!!! I recommend it!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are a little more private as they motel-style cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tzbodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    146
    97
    51
    32
See reviews for
101
118
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We booked and stayed at federal villa for 7nights while visiting Langkawi. It is basically holiday villa the only difference being the room are located further from the reception/pool area.
Room was very clean I expected little after reading reviews but can really say it was clean. sheets and towels were changed daily and I can be fussy about that but I found it very comfortable here.
Pool area and reception area very spacious and clean also but were surprisingly quiet especially the restaurants. We ate in the Italian and other restaurant and enjoyed both meals. However Drinks during day are way over priced but we learnt our lesson very quickly. The beach area is also lovely and relaxing.
The only thing that tainted my opinion of here was the noise at night I barely slept for my entire stay due to about 5in room next door so after the 7nights we didn't extend our stay but we're happy to move.
Staff are very friendly and helpful with always a smile and hello.
No internet here unless want to pay ridiculous prices that u could get a taxi to and from town and use restaurants free wifi. I didn't think this was really fair on guests as even hostels provide wifi to guests. But on holiday we didn't mind so much being without it.
Good place for kids and families too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller1986882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Federal Villa is a three star property and under the management of Holiday Villa which is a five star property. Guests who are staying in Federal Villa have same access to common area and facilities offered to Holiday Villa. There a bit walk between both properties and at the night it feels little scary as no one is around.

Room were normal (pay what you get) and we spend most of the time in resort and there were no lifts to upper floor. Below our wing was a big children play area with swings.

Pool was huge, kids enjoyed here and more interesting to see a Karaoke at the poolside. One bar is at pool side and another at the beach front. First time witnesses an indoor pool for ladies.

There is a kids play areas and I have spent lot of time here with my kids. Near the restaurants there was a huge chess set and kids loved lifting darts while I was playing against my hubby.

Just across the resort there is a car/bike renting place and a daily need shop, we took taxi for sightseeing.

Unless you walk towards beach you will not realize how amazing is the beach view. I felt the view was very similar to phi phi island (not the water). We took a long walk on the beach and saw adjacent properties from outside.

At half the cost we got full access to 5 star facilities (not room), great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PallaviMyPackageTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Very basic accommodation and not very clean,particularly the bath room.Room very dark with well worn furniture. The lounge was a retro 50's coffee bar, very uncomfortable and with the worst band I have ever heard in Malaysia. The pool at the shallow end is too deep for non swimmers, even for adults so be careful with children. The staff very friendly and helpful. Would never stay here again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Travelled with four kids, all under 6 y.o. Stayed 3 nights at the Perdana Suite. Very clean, neat furniture arrangements, very close to the beach. However, there was no hot water in the ensuite bathroom. They forget to provide the complimentary coffee and tea. Reception was excellent, friendly and courteous. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaPPyMe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed 10 days in Federal villa. I booked deluxe room but it wasn't deluxe at all, old furniture, old bathroom, not very tidy. The door from the balcony was broken. No safe in the room.
But the beach and pool was nice, there were not many people so it was very relaxing and quiet. The new infinity pool is not finished yet, it will be in December. Overall it was nice stay, but I would pick Holiday villa next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andysek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My family spent a 5-day-night at the resort. Overall speaking, it is a quiet place to stay, having a private beach and a swimming pool, sharing the same backyard garden with holiday villa.
The property itself provides basic 3-star hotel facilities but the staff service was not very professional and efficient.
No staff guidance after we checked in and parked the car. It was not good for the guests visited the place for the first time. The safe was out of service due low batteries, it hadn't been checked before the guests checked in. We made the calls twice as it was not fixed on the 1st shift and the next shift staff was not aware. The bath lotions were not enoughly provided. The housekeeping staff wrongly sent shampoos instead of bath lotions upon several requests. The cashier staff over took the cash payment carelessly upon checkout. It was found by myself and made several calls to justify. The hotel only answered calls instead of taking positive actions to make up their mistake. I checked out in the morning and they didn't realise the error until I called in the evening. They admitted the mistake later but had to wait to the next day duty manager to find a solution. When I reached their duty manager and she just said she would take more time to clarify the issue with no gurantee. They made an apology when they were questioned in later email correspondence. It seemed it was the staff's mistake only and nothing to do with the hotel itself. I received the money finally and paid the extra remittance cost of course.The hotel remitted money while their assistant accounting manager didn't provided the remittance cost in details, just saying I should refer to the bank myself when I questioned the charging fee details for overseas remittance.

In general, I would say it was a quiet place when you spend time quietly there and nothing to expect. It would be still quiet when you have questions or problems. They need a push if Holiday Villa logo is present.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#80 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.9 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Property: Federal Villa Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#19 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing