We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Best bargain..got more than what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 12 March 2014

During out 15 days tour to Malaysia in Jan'14, Langkawi was our 2nd last destination and we stayed at this resort for three nights . We arrived at hotel reception and noticed that holiday villa and federal villa shares common reception. Infact except rooms all other facilities remain common. As I have already found out from other TA posts that federal mainly offers twin bed joined together, we requested for a room with king double bed as we were on our honeymoon and our request was immediately considered. We were very surprised to see that we were given with a cottage which was right next to the beach and the interiors of the cottage was very well maintained. The only drawback was lack of wi-fi which was offered free of cost by all other hotels but can easily be discarded because of the low price that i paid to stay on a private beach resort. We rented a scooter from a shop which was right opp to the resort for three days and explored the city(Indian Driving Licence accepted here) . Another advantage of this resort was the location which was the most popular area in langkawi. everything was near by right from pub, restaurant, dutyfree shopping, underwater world, water sports.... We were very happy of what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a cottage as they are just few meters away from the beach. If you are on honeymoo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smitadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Federal Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Federal Villa Beach Resort is the 'budget' part of the Holiday Villa Beach Resort. The location is very good, near the beach, small restaurants and the spacious pool of the Holiday Villa. Since januari 2014 they opened an infinitypool. You need to pay a small fee, but it's worth it.
The rooms are worn out but ok, but the bathroom need to be renovated. The shower fell down, even after 'repair'. I had to use some wire to hold it in place. The aircon is extremely noisy. The Federal and Holiday Villa is probably the last hotel in Malaysia where you have to pay for the Wifi at the lobby as well as for some small bottles of mineralwater in your room. This should be part of the included service of any hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room at the Holiday Villa, they are more updated.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. Why we choose to stay here was there are 7 of us and we need a place with a walking distance to the beach. After survey a few places, we choose FV due to its location at Pantai Tengah. We heard hotels along Pantai Cenang are too overcrowded. We were given an apartment with 2 rooms, with a living + dining area. It's a basic unit, but enough for us. The unit is clean, that's important, and ours is the nearest to the beach. That's make the kids happy! Food is easy to get, there are many restaurants just outside the hotel, even at midnight. There's also a laundry operating outside, so don't bother to use the hotel's laundry service which will charge you 10x more. We did try the room service once, the service is quick, staffs are friendly. There are a few negative sides which I think the management should improve - low water pressure in the bathrooms and there are ants in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arbaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Room was in desperate need of renowation! There was a constant terrible smell of (apparently) insectiside, which was being dispersed inside the room every day during cleaning service. In the end, the smell turned so unbearable, that it made falling a sleep difficult. Electrical wirings looked at least dodgy and I was very disappointed. Wall were very thin, so all noice from neighbouring rooms was audible. Also, no safety locker inside the room. Location of Federal Villa is quite far away from the "main area" of Cenang. Unfortunately, I did not feel i was offered value for money spent.

Nice pool area though!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were a little worried about staying after recently reading some bad reviews regarding room availability and service. For those that don’t know this hotel, it shares the facilities of the Holiday Villa (HV). You check-in at the HV and all contact is from then on with these staff.
The Federal Villa (FV) is a group of rooms and apartments of about a 2 star standard in my opinion. We usually stay on the HV side and have never had a bad experience. We chose the FV this time as it was too expensive for us to have a 2 bed apartment or adjoining rooms at the HV. We paid AUS$200 per night for our 2 bedroom self-contained apartment; expensive by most standards, but when you are in Langkawi, this is a cheap option if you want the luxury of a large pool area and being right on the beach. We kind of knew what to expect in regards to the state of the rooms. Yes, there were chips, marks and cracks in the walls, mis-matched tiles etc...BUT everything, although run down, was clean and comfortable (except maybe the toilet which was in such a small room we had to sit sideways). These are old rooms but the beds were comfortable, the shower was hot (although you do have to switch on the heater and the pump...no big deal), it was serviced each day and we were pretty happy with that.
THE DOWNSIDE
- Having to sit sideways on the toilet as mentioned above, please see pictures attached.
- Mozzies were really bad; we asked for the industrial strength spray each day, this killed everything on contact. I suggest you buy some mozzie coils and spray.
- The noise from “Cactus” right across the road...OMG!! They have a disco and some backpacker type accommodation at the back of the restaurant now, and the disco runs from around midnight till 4:00am pumping out “doof doof” music. I know this isn’t the fault of the Hotel, but you need to be aware of this, it woke us each night.
THE UPSIDE
- Obviously the price.
- The service was fantastic, not sure what people were complaining about, but we found the staff exceptional. We had no problem with our booking (I booked with wotif).
- Check in and checkout were smooth and efficient and Eda offered us free late checkout which was very nice of her. They had the best rate for exchange of the AUS$ at about 2.84MYR.
- The pool area-great as usual, although no infinity pool yet. But I have heard a rumour that this area will be fairly exclusive and you will have to pay a fee to use it...no kids allowed. The pool area was about a 100m walk from our room.
- The grounds and gardens between the two lots of accommodation are pristine and you are able to find a shady spot under a tree without too much hassle. This is one of the things I like best about the HV/FV.
- The nearly full sized fridge in the apartment was great too, we were able to fit all our water and drinks in to keep cool, and this was a great bonus.

I would rate our stay a 3/10 for the accommodation, but overall because of the staff and facilities my overall score would be a 7/10. Keep up the great work, but please also put some investment into your rooms and do them up.

Room Tip: We had apartment 391 which was close to the pool area, but because of the noise from Cactus I would...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabriella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

we are family of three, with 2 years old toddler. Room condition was acceptable,except the bathroom. The shower is difficult to be put back into place. the bathroom floor is so slippery, my child fell twice! the bathroom is definitely not child proof.On the contrary, the environment is quite good.Swimming pool, that is shared with holiday villa is quite spacious, with big baby pool,even though it is quite far from room. I think the receptionist is not very friendly, i mean i know it doesnt really matters to others,but to me it will cause 1 point deduction for this hotel. Since I only stay 1night there is not much to complaint. Overall it is ok,but frankly i won't come back to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank SitiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After reading the reviews we weren't expect much but were positively surprised! Our room was clean, staff were friendly and location was nice! We really enjoyed the pool area and the beach! You can't find sunbeds easily in Langkawi so it was really nice to have ones provided by the hotel! We didn't eat anything (not even breakfast) at the hotel because of the high prices. Breakfast seemed popular though!

Only thing was the new year's gala dinner.. Food was cold and drinks were totally overpriced. Elsewhere we would've had the whole dinner with drinks at the same price that we paid only for the drinks there! And the gala dinner itself wasn't cheap either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElisaSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 104 in Langkawi
560 reviews
8.9 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#33 of 104 in Langkawi
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#19 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £39 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing