We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go to such kind of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go to such kind of hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

It was our mistake that we didn't check out from the hotel once check in. If you want to have rest in a such nice island and don't share you room with lots of ants don't even go to this hotel. The room was so old , the room was smelly, the furniture just not even okey. The territory is large but not enough trees and greens. If you want to use swimming pool with nice view you need to pay 28 myr, why??? I'm in house guest !!! I can't recommend the hotel better to pay more but find better hotel , it's not 3 star hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bimochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    147
    98
    54
    33
See reviews for
103
122
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We booked online based on others reviews on this site. We were really happy with the location right on the beach. We booked a 2 bedroom unit in the older Federal Villas section ofHoliday Villas. It was clean and the beds were comfy, although the unit was very outdated and need of full renovation. Pay the aud$8 to use the facility of the new infinity pool area..it is quieter than the main pool and very modern and clean facilities with a fabulous restaurant for lunch and dinner. We had breakfast the first morning in the main restaurant..it was overpriced and quite frankly horrible we eventually found the English tearoom opposite maccas that did a nice brekky and toasted sarnies. We would not recommend the main restaurant at all it is more suited to asian customers.
taxi fares around Langkowi are really cheap and they all seem to abide by the set rates! Looking for something to do....ask your taxi driver....rather than going on tours with heaps of others...many of them will take you on a private tour...for about aud$40 we had a great trip out which included private boat rides and many other tours.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've booked a room here for August for four nights.

I'm a single Mum with two children aged 12 and 9. Obviously they are not old enough to have a room of their own and they are too old to share beds!

I requested a roll out or trundle bed be placed in the room (I was prepared to pay the extra $10 a night or whatever for this) but have been told numerous times that the hotel does not provide this service, even if specially requested. It seems one of my children will have to sleep on the floor!

What sort of a resort can't accommodate families in this situation and is unwilling to even try ... IT DOES NOT BODE WELL FOR THE CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE AT THIS HOTEL.
LET THIS BE A WARNING TO ANYONE ELSE NEEDING TO ACCOMMODATE THREE IN ONE ROOM!

Room Tip: Hotel cannot and will not accommodate three in one room - no extra beds available. Problematic for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Britscribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Federal Villa is a distant cousin to Holiday Villa next door. We stayed in a standard room at the far end, the nearest to the road.

Positive:
1. All the facilities at Holiday Villa could be enjoyed by Federal Villa's guests
2. Room is spacious
3. Location: Among the best in terms of privacy and other facilities (food outlets, convenience store, car rental, spa)

Negative:
A) Physical condition of the room:
i. old-fashioned, dated and rundown
ii. One of the beds gave a creaking sound when I moved. It disturbed my sleep. However, the pillows were ok.
iii. position of the day bed blocks the exit to the balcony
vi. location of air conditioner's compressor: the worst, on top of the door. When go out from or into the room, the dirty water from the compressor would drop on your head
v. the extractor fan in the toilet faces directly to the room pathway. I exudes uncomfortable smell every time you walk by
B) Room's facilities:
i. Bathroom: one bottle of shampoo, bath gel, and 2 soaps, different from Holiday Villa which gave 2 bottles of shampoo, 2 bath gel, and 2 soaps and cotton buds.
ii. Complimentary coffee and tea and bottled water were provided only on the first day. When I asked, they said it's to cut cost (How much does it cost that you want to deprive your guests of a cup of coffee or tea. This is not service. Too cheap-skate and calculative management).
C) Paid internet service: In which world and time does this hotel exist??? It's also not cheap RM8 for 30 minutes
D) Ironing facilities:
It's not provided in the room and it's not even provided when requested. Instead you have to walk nearly 80-100 feet to the next building to iron. Just imagine a woman of two kids and a husband; It'll not be a holiday for her to do this another basic chore at a resort on the beach. Pity your guests. Langkawi is a duty free island and I think you can buy and provide an iron and board in each room. Thus, you can solve both, the lack of man power and dissatisfied guests.

Overall, I think the management is lacking in will power and too calculative in providing decent service to the guests. The management's lackadaisical attitude towards Federal Villa (In reality it's government owned) should stop. A tweak here and there can improve the hotel a lot. Just depending on 'God' given nice beach is not a fair trade with your guests.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room nearer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NOR AISAH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This place is value for money, rooms are dated but the resort facilities are brilliant. There is a new executive pool area, there is an additional cost to use it but worth it if you your wanting a relaxing day by the pool. The main pool is brilliant but can get busy with families. The beach area is great as well. Minor complaint is the wifi, high cost and poor accessibility. Have stayed a number of times over the years and still like this place. The staff are brilliant!! Across the road there a number of good eating places (catus bar and boat restaurant) cheap food and drinks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Davo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

WE stayed for 2 nights, wish we could have stayed longer. Right on the beach front. Fantastic beach. Dining room ,very impressed and great food.Staff are very attentive. Some rooms are very dated, but they said they are working on upgrading.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

During out 15 days tour to Malaysia in Jan'14, Langkawi was our 2nd last destination and we stayed at this resort for three nights . We arrived at hotel reception and noticed that holiday villa and federal villa shares common reception. Infact except rooms all other facilities remain common. As I have already found out from other TA posts that federal mainly offers twin bed joined together, we requested for a room with king double bed as we were on our honeymoon and our request was immediately considered. We were very surprised to see that we were given with a cottage which was right next to the beach and the interiors of the cottage was very well maintained. The only drawback was lack of wi-fi which was offered free of cost by all other hotels but can easily be discarded because of the low price that i paid to stay on a private beach resort. We rented a scooter from a shop which was right opp to the resort for three days and explored the city(Indian Driving Licence accepted here) . Another advantage of this resort was the location which was the most popular area in langkawi. everything was near by right from pub, restaurant, dutyfree shopping, underwater world, water sports.... We were very happy of what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a cottage as they are just few meters away from the beach. If you are on honeymoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smitadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
945 reviews
0.9 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Property: Federal Villa Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#19 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing