We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resorts World Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I had read mixed reviews about the hotel and so was quite anxious to find out how it really was. We were relieved the minute we saw it. The hotel was quite nicely maintained and the view was amazingly beautiful. the room was clean and luxurious and the bed very comfortable. However the bathroom was something from a comedy show. the sink was in the room. there were two separate bathrooms, one had the shower and the second one had the commode. I mean whoever thought of that design! however they were clean and as the view from our room was amazing we decided against changing it. The hotel offers a private beach(which is on an island 5min away using a ferry). the hotel provides a to and fro ferry ride free of cost after every 30 minutes. However the beach was not as cool as it sounds as there was only a small stretch of beach and the remaining area is covered with rocks. We had a good time anyway as the beach was completely private and me and my husband were the only people there.
The breakfast was very good and offered a large variety for all sorts of people.
The hotel lies away from the main market so you would have to take a cab to go there everytime. The ride costs around 10 ringitts. the hotel provides free shuttle service three times in a day to pentai chenang.
We had a very pleasant trip there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    372
    258
    93
    53
See reviews for
255
334
27
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Peaceful location on the tip of Langkawi. Value for money Hotel.
Need a taxi to get to the market/ Cenang Beach or else it is a 20-30 min walk. Taxis at standard rates are easily available at the hotel and is not a problem.
Take care if booking online- Getting a room with balcony required some convincing with the hotel staff.
Food: Breakfasts were good. Dining was mostly local fare and was well made. Desserts can be improved.
Can get boat tours/ cruises water sports from the jetty alongside the hotel.

Room Tip: VFM deals available online
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ode_to_Joy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were four couples and had a prior booking but even a single room was not given as early check in in spite of request and we had to put our luggage in the lobby and go out. After return we were shocked to hear that the agent has not paid them and they will not give us rooms. When we got angry they called their security person and were ready to throw us out. After we spoke to our agent, they realised their mistake and rooms were given to us at 6pm.
Except this every thing about the resort was very good. The location was superb and rooms were nicely done. The property is well maintained and is huge facing the sea.The food wasn't too good for vegetarians although breakfast has good choices.Tour guide was very helpful.Swimming pool was also well maintained.
The dinner service need improvement as we had to call them twice to warm up our cold pizza but nobody arrived and we had to keep the pizza on table and return back hungry to go out for dinner. They need to have some more choices for vegetarians.
I would recommend travelers to cross check their reservation before arrival and request for early check in before hand as that might help them to be preplanned.
I would like to have special mention of their waterfront where one can spend lot of time on sunrise amidst quiet sea and beautiful settings.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bajrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Me and my family(Wife and my couple of children)was on our holidays to Langkawi and were staying at this Hotel Awana from 17th May 2011 to 22 May 2011,it is breaktaking sea view from our room balcony.There is lot of a water adventure games activities which is real hit among the children and even with elders.There is also cruise departing from the hotel yard for sunset for candle light dinner at the sea.Islant hopping is facilitated from the hotel which is also a real adventure.There is live band going on the lobby Restanraunt and have night karoke at Eagle Rock.This hotel is great to stay with all the amenities big swimming pool,Wonderful Spa,two super market and also have cars and motor bikes to hire temporaily at the reasonable price to go around langkawi city.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sairituus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

A great place to stay with your family and excellent place for corporate function - I stay in the hotel with group of 100 persons from Indonesia

Room Tip: Beach view will be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

It was a great experience staying in Awana, the room was huge and comfortable and it was really worth going for a sea view room as we were able to get some good shots of the sunset and enjoy the view of speed boats passing by. Though most staff was friendly, however a couple of them were rude. Good complimentary breakfast.

The island hopping tours start just outside the hotel. The Cenang beach is also quite close to the hotel. Getting a car on rent will be a good idea and you can get it on your way to Cenang beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruwais, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Good Things:
-Beautiful beautiful beautiful location.
-It has its own small dock space. Very beautiful early morning views and sunsets. Wooden flooring at the docking gives a very interesting feel to all that experience.
-Breakfasts were very good.
-Rooms were clean.
Area of improvement:
-Its huge and we got the room at the farthest end. So we had to walk a lot to reach our room, when we were already tired.
- Rooms were not spacious.
- Washrooms were OK. No hot water at first, leakages at bath tub, but they responded well to our complaints and it got fixed
- We got garden view room, but beach view are the best.
- Inhouse entertainment (shopping places, eating, etc) was much missed out.

Room Tip: Get the beach view side rooms, near entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
1.1 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#29 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.4 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#78 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Property: Resorts World Langkawi
Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 15 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing