We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family and I spent two nights here. The pluses - the hotel is nice, rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast was very good, and the hotel is on the beach. What was disappointing - we booked a garden-view room on Agoda, and ended up with a view of the roof and parking lot! Also, Wi-Fi was not provided free of charge, despite being paying guests at the hotel (it costs RM10 for an hour or RM25 for a day, or you have to buy a drink at the bar to be given a login). Not sure if this is the norm in Langkawi, but as someone who travels extensively, this is the first time I've been told that I would have to pay extra for Wi-Fi. You can understand my disappointment.

Room Tip: Garden-view rooms, do not have a garden view! Be prepared to pay extra for Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahhayati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was a short trip my husband and me decided to take. We had arrived at the hotel an hour before our check in time so we had to wait. Now after a long and turbulent flight from Dubai to KL and then KL to Langkawi, I was just glad to be on ground but i did tell the lady at the reception desk to speed up the process as i really needed to lie down, we still waited for about 45 mins and then we were escorted to our room. Our room was located in the far end of the hotel as we had requested for a smoking room (I thought we would get one with a balcony, but it was just a room where we could smoke in). So this was quite the walk...
But over all the location of the hotel was just amazing very very very close to pentai cenang where we would be every day. We rented a car for those few days that we were there which I strongly recommend if you are visiting Langkawi as its the most easiest way to travel and the roads there are very easy to navigate, you can get one at the airport. The breakfast had a big spread but not much to my liking. Over all the room was just okay, the rooms are moisty owing to the humid climate in Langkawi but clean which is very important for me . But over all it was a good experience. Oh yes and i did use the spa at the hotel, which was just splendid no complains there!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that face the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asha1835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Amazing location. Had booked a superior sea view room. It had some issues, they immediately upgraded us to Premier Sea View, no questions asked. Breakfast spread was good. The swimming pool was nice. Wifi was complimentary. Service wasn't exactly lightning fast, but ok. Candle light dinner on board walk was the best part.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Me and a friend stayed there for three nights. The rooms offer plenty of space, cable TV, big bathrooms, coffee/tea maker, and a good cleaning staff. They have a breakfast buffet that caters western and oriental breakfast. The pool is not very attractive, but it's ok if you want to relax. The location is good as it is close enough to Cenang Beach and the main road with lots of restaurants and bars. The only downside was the spa. At the time we stayed there (October 2013) the price they were offering at the lobby was not respected, although that was on the promotional ads and brochures. The staff told us they changed prices, but haven't changed the ads :/
Other than that, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabyrd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is close to Cenang but at another private end.
Rooms are OK internally including beds and beddings. Good to have bathroom and toilet separately but they are really basic like budget hotel style.
My room had balcony but it was too close so when nextdoor occupants talked in their balcony, you can hear them clearly. Close the glass door to avoid disturbance. At the balcony, your stuffs (my children's bubble wand) can fall onto the balcony below.

Buffet breakfast was just fairly OK but it was very crowded during breakfast time. You may not get a table unless early.
Car parking lots were plenty but unshaded. Luckily the drop-off point was shaded.

It was very convenient to have doors to connecting room nextdoor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Located on the southern tip of the island few kms off cenang the resort offers an unbelievable view of the sea and scattered islands. We had a deluxe sea view room. The view outside the window was majestic especially just before dawn. The room was cosy but the bathroom was little dirty. No wi fi in room. Had a hard time opening the lock which got jammed somehow. The breakfast buffet spread was awesome with all kinds of stuff ranging from bread and muffin to parathas and chana. Baked egg was excellent. Ample parking space in the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustafa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights, I immediately paid to upgrade to a sea view balcony room and it was good value! The view was excellent, you can see the yachts, boats and islands from the room. The two queen beds were comfortable but the bathroom were too small. Breakfast was decent and mostly catered to Indian and Muslim guest. My 2 boys loved the kids pool and swam everyday. You can do island hopping right outside the hotel and its never too noisy or crowded day and night.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank nlaugc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.4 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
511 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#24 of 104 in Langkawi
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
6.2 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
44 reviews
8.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £38 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 20 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. We are also 24KM away from Kuah Town and 16KM from the nearest hospital. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. Live band performance is available daily except Monday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing