We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you stay in the new wing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good if you stay in the new wing”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

As already told in other reviews, our experience was exactly the same. The check-in took around 45 minutes, which is much more than expected even when we had already informed them about the expected time of arrival. The rooms in the new wing were clean but could have been cleaner. The food was good. View was excellent. No point staying in this hotel if you don't book a room with a sea view. The evening singing performance at the deck was nice. All the major tours and cruises start from this hotel only. The hotel can arrange for taxis almost immediately if you wish to go to cenang beach or some other place. All in all good hotel to stay if you ask for the room in new wing, but not according to the price you pay. And yes, no wi-fi in room for that price, we got free wi-fi in a hotel in KL at half the price.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    388
    269
    94
    57
See reviews for
267
349
28
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Would be great for a family. Pretty views and location across a harbour. A few kms from Cenang, but we knew that when booking. It would be a long walk, but doable (not at night). Wifi only in reception/lounge. Nice pool, nice place for an afternoon drink at the bar, clean good sized room with a great balcony (stay on the water side, definitely). Good value for money. Has a beauty spa, bar, restaurant and bar snacks as well as a cafe/alternative restaurant. We liked the place.

Room Tip: Seaside room, definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We got a room here on a discount from Groupon. Half of me expected a disaster of a hotel, but the room was clean and airy and the decor was lovely. The bathroom was a little dated but clean. On the first day we noticed a small colony of ants had taken residence on one of our beds. Even though it was the middle of the fasting month and we phoned just at the time where all Muslims break their fasts, our replacement room was ready in 20 minutes or so.

Our room was the garden view, which to be fair is simply facing the road at the front of the hotel. But for the price we paid it wasn't a big deal. Not when a 30 second walk could take you to the water side harbour with its great views.

Breakfast was fantastic. The choice was immense, suiting just about every nationality. Some people would bemoan the lack of bacon or pork, but as a vegetarian I could care less about that and just enjoyed the dozens of things that I could eat.

The staff were extremely polite and hospitable. The hotel itself is a short cab ride away from Pantai Cenang. The advantage of not being walking distance is that the back packers (and otherwise noisy guests) stay a lot closer to the beach. This means that the hotel is much quieter and more relaxed than the ones closer to the beach.

All in all, it's been an amazingly relaxed few days for my family.

Room Tip: Agoda has incorrectly stated on its page that this hotel has free wifi in all rooms. The cost is MYR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyMadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Day one, we'd booked a "garden view" but it was a view of the paring lot and a concrete ceiling. I'm not sure there is a garden there. I paid an extra 50rm a day for a new room facing the sea. This one was close to the lounge, and while it had gorgeous views it also had loud music keeping us up until 2 am despite there being no guests I could see. Beware staying near the bar. Also, the music selection includes such classics like "Feelings" and "Piña Colada Song" and when there is no band Muzak plays continually.
Day 2, returning from island hopping (which I later learned was badly marked up) we found a large green snake on the small patio. They removed it, and offered another room, which I turned down ... Even though it was listed as a "upgrade" it was smaller and darker. It had a large patio, but there was no point as it only held a small broken chair and an end table, though it could have easily fit a table for four. They then insisted on upgrading us to a new room again, and we moved to a small suite (I was starting to wonder if the snakes had friends they knew about) This was also worn and small with decor from the seventies, but it was sunny and my daughter seemed excited to have a suite. The suite has a fridge and a sink, but no way to heat anything except via an electric kettle, so don't think you can cook here. As well, it had a broken lock I have to shake just right to get on the balcony and the kitchen light was broken. As well, it's generally worn down, rugs stained with the edges coming up.
Finally, they woke us at 11pm with a ohone call to ask if they could drop off a fruit basket. I sleepily agreed, and they brought a bowl of two apples and an orange. Here in the land of gorgeous exotic fruits. Oy. I'd rather have wifi.
Pros: amazing sunrises, decent breakfast buffet. One very smart lady at the front desk who fixed things like the bad room move to a shuttle that was almost cancelled to patai cenang (the only life nearby) ... She hustled a driver from another part of the hotel and got it to run. She should be made manger, sadly no one else showed any understanding of hospitality,
Cons: as well as being shabby and run down, wifi covers only reception and part of the longe/bar, not the restaraunts or pool. Wifi in rooms is 24rm. Food is pricey and not tasty. There is no beach here, you have to take the shuttle or a long walk to the town. It's a rocky outcropping.
Laundry is the usual overpriced per piece hotel laundry.

We are making it work, and having a good time anyhow, mostly by coming into town to book day trips and eat, and enjoying the gorgeous setting. But you can do better.

Room Tip: Get sea view. Some sea views officially without balconies have small balconies, so ask to see someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed there for two nights. The location is fabulous and the view spectacular! The rooms are somehow out of date. Neat, but a small toilet and separate bathroom where you hardly can enter because the doors open to the inside... The noise (of the generator or cooling motor?) was 24/7, even at the pool the noise is constant. A pity!
The distance to the center of Langkawi is too far to walk and you have to go by taxi or free hotel shuttle. We were disappointed by the downtown city, it was not much alive. Our second night we had dinner at the hotel and I must say that was superb. With candlelight outside on the shore with nice live music.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Room: One word to describe the hotel: OLD. We stayed in a seaview block 4 level 2 superior room (highest level). Block 5 was too close to the nightclub and get really noisy till wee hours in the morning. Furnitures comparable to that of a Motel, old and old fashioned, the toilet floor wasn't levelled and was flooded the whole time. Felt really dirty. Poorly maintained toilets. Pantry was decent with a sink, but mugs provided were stained. The kettle also leaks on the sides. Couch was dirty and stained too. Had to cover with bedsheets before we dare to sit on it. Wooden table is 'decorated' with cigarette burn marks. Balcony door need to be oiled, hard to push open. Room doesn't even have basics like bathrobes and bedroom slippers. Feels dirty to walk on carpet barefooted.

Room Service: Housekeeping was prompt when we asked for extra towels, pillows and bedsheets. But they forgotten to refill the toilet rolls and complimentary mineral water bottles, not once, but twice. We waited so long to check in and be assigned with our rooms even when we arrived at 2.30pm.

Surroundings: The swimming pool is nice though. The beach chair cushion was soft and we could just fall asleep on it after awhile. The seaview was breath-taking and you could see the beautiful sunrise every morning. Near the breakfast area, u could bring along some bread to feed the abundant fishes in the clear seawater. The children would enjoy that activity. There was an island tour operator just situated conveniently outside the resort world entrance. Amenities like supermart is not within walking distance, so u need to have some form of transport if you are staying at resort world.

F&B : We didn't try any of the restaurants except the breakfast which comes with hotel booking. I would say they provide the best breakfast I ever had in the hotels that I've stayed in. Good variety, wide mouthwatering selections and the spread changes throughout the 4 nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda_Sahan_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Rooms are great. I stayed at a deluxe room and I could easily access the nearby sea by just opening the balcony door. However, the restraunts there have have egregious customer service. It took unusually long for my family's food to arrive and it was cold and bland when it came. I suspect that my food was set on the counter for a long time and the waiters there totally forgot about my order. Who knows how many flies interacted with my food? The waiter there also mistook an order for guava juice for orange juice. Extremely annoying and egregious customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.6 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
487 reviews
8.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
6.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#25 of 104 in Langkawi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Property: Resorts World Langkawi
Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 20 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. We are also 24KM away from Kuah Town and 16KM from the nearest hospital. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. Live band performance is available daily except Monday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing