We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #24 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Only came here for breakfast as we were catching a trip from the dock. Food was cold, tough and atmosphere not enjoyable. Fairly expensive at 45 RM each. A fair amount of choice but not well done or well maintained. Coffee machines both not working.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clayton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

checking in around 12pm at 12th august, staff at reception was very rude! when at there check in, one of the staff fourcing the arabian check out or else take the premier sea view for extension. the staff who check in just issue ypu the key and didnt talk too much! feel like she just want you faster go away. asked for paid top up to upgrade room, just telling they are full house. so? how about next to me the arabian? offer premier sea view? we are at here honeymoon, room decoration for honeymoon guest -NON!!! hopeless and regret to stay here!
room - stay room 5116, unsafety room! lousy room! all furniture, everything are old! my room bathroom was unsafety! hand basin spoilt!floor after bath will wet, if once not careful felt down from bathtab, head will bleeding!
safe box- first time set the pin cant set due to error 5! maybe previous stay the person already set wrong 5times password! call to reception, first time, NO answer! second time, receptionist mention manager will come over to room to reset password! WAITED 20min, still HAVEN COME! call 3rd, 4, 5 times... NO ANSWER! 6th times, staff mention manager not at desk, and asked me is it possible we not at room manager came in to reset the pin ? i allowed them! BUT, after 3hours came back to room STILL HAVEN COME! call again no answer, 2nd time staff at there mention WOULD YOU MIND CALL BACK LATER? MY MANAGER NOT AT HERE! what? wait again? what a bad service! if a guest faint down need medical assistent, call reception always no answer, i think guest might be in dangerous condition! dont they even think before!
this hotel need to improve their management or else i strongly not suggest to stay here!
i will not stay here again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Espressokit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Went there for my honeymoon and stayed for 2 days. The property is situated at the west-south corner of langkawi island at the end of tengah beach road. It is easily accessible from airport with taxi fare of 24-30RM.

We selected a garden view room which was decent having most of the standard 4 star facilities. The room was neat and clean. However, the way from lobby to our room was a bit too long because of the hotel architecture. The staff was friendly but most of them couldn't speak English. The breakfast had a lot of options for non vegetarians and I being a vegetarian had to rely on bread butter, fruits and juices. There were 1-2 vegetarian options as well but it was not worth tasting. The property has a nice swimming pool with a separate pool for kids. The view on the other side of the hotel is amazing.

Overall it was a satisfactory stay. Nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Parin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Old hotel needs renovation .An average room,no wifi only in the lounge.Breakfast buffet crowded.View and location good ,surrounded by sea but no beach ! Make sure hire a car if staying here as taxi fare is dear.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Family M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Luckily i just stay for 1 night. Such a bad service.the bell boy didnt do anything and just walked away when customer came.we get the trolley & do everything on ourselves. The staff at the counter are busy chit chatting and complaining about their colleagues. Didnt smile at all. Room is still not ready even at 3 pm. Will never come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maurashahira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Old, in desperate need of a renovation. The reception staff are excellent, as are the bell staff but unfortunately the resort itself feels like a relic of the early 90s. The room was quite dirty, the carpet felt like it hadn't been replaced in 20 years.

The breakfast is pretty good.

There are many noisy families staying at the resort so I wouldn't recommend it as a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Seaview is beautiful. Not all of them have a balcony, but if they do, you're pretty much sharing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sushiandshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Grand reception hall. Great customer service. Massive Seaview room right above restaurant. Some with balcony. Some don't. Swimming pool is great.

Make sure hire a car if staying here as the taxi fare is dear. Massive free car park here.

Most punters of the hotel is local family with kids. Not a hotel for your honeymoon. Very noisy at restaurant (breakfast and BBQ buffet dinner). Initially plan to try BBQ dinner, saw kids running around the restaurant. So, we drove to Mangoes (Aussie family owned restaurant), Little Mexico (Chenang beach) and FatCupid (closer to the hotel - pantai tengah). We were spoiled for choices for good food.

Breakfast has good variety. Instant Coffee and tea served from the machine though. We drive to Chenang Mall for Starbucks after breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Daymondyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.2 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
65 reviews
8.4 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
6.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 105 in Langkawi
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#17 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £33 - £655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 20 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. We are also 24KM away from Kuah Town and 16KM from the nearest hospital. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. Live band performance is available daily except Monday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing