We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay'ish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay'ish”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this based on reviews that gave lots of praise for the views and the room and the service...
If you get a room with a view, great. We didn't get one.
Walked to the outdoor restaurant/bar was about to lean on the rail to admire said wonderful view and found a snake on the rail which slithered down and onto the flooring close to the restaurant. Informed people working on the bar who seemed surprised but went about their buisness as normal. The hotel is not close to anything, you will definitely need a taxi every time u want to go anywhere near anything good or just civilisation.
Wifi is free in the lobby but chargeable at 25 RM for 24 hours which I thought at a push was okay and was about to purchase before discovering it was 25 RM PER DEVICE, not even per room which was beyond ridiculous and down right extortionate. I've stayed in 3 hotels in 3 separate cities on this trip and this rule was only applied here.
Only redeeming things about this hotel was the smiley staff which tried to be helpful even when they didnt understand what you said, and the breakfast buffet which had a lot of variety.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Noora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    388
    271
    94
    57
See reviews for
267
350
28
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is located just near where the cruise are, so if you intend to join the day or evening cruise it's good but if I'm not wrong, the 2 cruises provide free pickup and drop off anyway. Other than that, it is pretty far from everything else.

The breakfast in the hotel on our first day was horrendous, they allowed many people in the restaurant and it was difficult to find seats. There was various generic selection of food, (chinese, indians, fruits, pastries) but the food was just average.

We had to switch our room as the room we stayed in had some weird noise coming from the toilet (we are unsure where it is from, it sounds like it was from the wall)
However for both the rooms we stayed in, when you switch the bathtub's tap there would be brownish water coming out from the tap.

There will be a rooster that would crow early in the morning for at least an hour. (However we didn't hear it on the 4th day we stayed)
My bf also saw a cockroach in the toilet.

We had a garden view room but the room is actually just facing the carpark.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed in superior sea view room for 3 days. As mentioned by other travelers the room are old. However every thing just fine to stay. Breakfast was good and included in the booking. Though it is located far from a few places I enjoyed it because I rented a bike.

Infact, It would be better better to rent a bike/Car to roam around and it costs RM 30-40 per day. Cost of the petrol is around RM 2.30.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raja r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is located about 10 min (by car) from Cenang Beach and it's a very quiet area so you wont feel noisy during night time. We had a seaview room where the view from the room is nice but the hotel is bit old hope that they can refurbish the room. Not much of choice for breakfast but their staffs are so friendly and willing to give a hand if you ask for help.

Room Tip: Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutumnJING113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I would recomend this hotel if you are looking for budget stay with decent facilities & if you are not looking to travel much to the popular tourist spots in Langkawi. Apart from this the property is very old and carries a vintage look from outside which is splendid to look. Service I would rate on a lower side with the staff not very pleasing with the guest.

All in all, don't choose this hotel is its your honeymoon trip.

Room Tip: Prefer Sea facing room, you will get excellent view of the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks in a deluxe ocean view room. The room itself was spacious, with great views out on to the ocean, but the furnishing was somewhat dated as with the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was basic but clean and functional.

As for the rest of the hotel, the chairs in the lobby area were very dirty, I doubt they have ever been cleaned. Service on reception was pretty good most of the time. Disappointed by the lack of free Wi-Fi in the hotel.

Breakfast and dining in the hotel was not enjoyable, worst part of our experience. The breakfast buffet was like a shoulder shuffle for food at peak times, international food selection was quite poor. Service when ordering food from the hotel was also poor with long waiting times.

Swimming pool is pretty good, garden nicely manicured. Hotel grounds need maintenance, decking is badly worn.

Whilst the hotel is in a secluded spot with excellent sea views, it is some way from Cenung (local shopping area) so relying on a taxi for transport each day proves expensive.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Location was amazing and waking up to look at that view I could not get sick of it was so beautiful!
However the rooms weren't the cleanest! The beds were massive which was good but the first set of bedding I had was covered in mud.
The balcony door didn't open and the fridge smelt like something had died in it! The furniture was really old and rickety and is the sort you would find in a skip back home. Could def do with a refresh.
The breakfast was okay, but was in too much of an enclosed space so being an English girl and seeing the words chicken porridge and smelling a mixture of all sorts of international food early in the morning in an enclosed and cramped environment was enough to put you off your brekky! However, you can eat outdoors and once we discovered this it was fine!
Hotel staff were okay! I think they could do of a review of there customer service!
It was no shangri-la but it's not the worst place I've stayed.
To get in to town costs about 12r in a taxi but we just hired mopeds about 30r a day whist staying in langkowi which was a great way to see the island! And head to the yellow beach cafe for sunset on the main strip! Good food, drink and live music and perfect place to watch the sun go down!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaFay90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.6 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
488 reviews
8.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
6.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#25 of 104 in Langkawi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Property: Resorts World Langkawi
Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 20 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. We are also 24KM away from Kuah Town and 16KM from the nearest hospital. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. Live band performance is available daily except Monday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing