We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average rooms but great pool, beach and food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
England
Level Contributor
425 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Average rooms but great pool, beach and food!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here for a week in late November, and I am a little late in leaving my review! Overall the hotel is good value for money, but this depends what you are looking for in your hotel.

Rooms – If a nice room is your main priority this hotel is not for you. They are quite small and basic, and the bathroom door was a funky concertina invention which felt as though it should be in a caravan. The beds aren’t the best and the tv is about the size of an ipad!

Hotel – The lobby is a nice size, a bit like a conservatory, with TV’s, pool tables and sofas. Staff are friendly and helpful but the breakfast was average at best. Some days were better than others depending on what they were rotating, but don’t be expecting much variety of western food. The pool area is great and the resort is facing a lovely secluded beach which makes for beautiful postcard style photos. The beach bar restaurant is quite good, we ate there a lot as we were disappointed in the restaurants on the main strip.

Location – You are on the edge away from the action, which we were quite happy with, but if you want to be in the middle of everything straight away you might want to look into something more central.

Overall for the price we paid we were reasonably happy with our stay here. If we were returning on the same budget we would stay again, although the hotel next door looked quite a bit nicer so we would be more likely to pay a bit extra and stay there!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    65
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
53
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Good Things: Private Beach is Good. Swimming Pool is Great. Good for a relaxing place
Bad Things: Room furnitures are shabby. Breakfast option very limited and cleanliness is an issue

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabiulH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The Lanai Langkawi is a good place to stay if u want basic comforts at reasonable rates. The rooms are lean and functional but there is no elevator and porters and no room service. The breakfast spread is good and repeated every 3 days in case you are planning to stay long.
The beach is private but not very clean but offers good water sports. The best part of our experience was the travel agent who has a shop in the hotel premises who gave us good discounts on all local tours and a cheap car rental. We compared rates with other shops in along the Pantai Cenang stretch but this was thebest value for money. The agent Normah is also very honest and on our last day when the car was returned at 9pm and she did not have the money to return the deposit, she actually went to Kuah to get the cash and return it to us late at night. Really appreciated the honesty as we were about to write off the money. Would highly recommend her services if you are staying the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalSahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Well.... I can say the beds were clean and comfortable, and towels were clean thank goodness.

BUT......the hotel website shows a swim up pool bar.

I live in Singapore and my son and his girlfriend had travelled from Australia to visit me and go on holiday together. The girlfriend had never experienced a swim up bar, so was excited. We arrived to find the bar had been closed for at least 6 months.

I went to my room and had a shower. The shower doors fell off when I tried to slide them open.
The air-conditioning was not efficient at all.
My son/girlfriend's room air -conditioning worked LESS efficiently than mine.

We actually wanted to cancel our booking made through Agoda. Silly me I'd made a booking with a no-cancellation policy. A good lesson learnt

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyroberts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It was an all girls trip to the island, back in 1999 and we had the pleasure to stay in the 2-bedroom private villa, just few meters away from the beach.

The villa was beautiful, with Malay architecture design. It was also clean and comfortable. The room service wasnt bad as well. We thoroughly and truly enjoyed our little vacation there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeLoveBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Lanai after 1 terrible night at a dingy place on Pantai Cenai. We hated the street smell and jet skis of Pantai Cenai and were looking for something quieter and more relaxing.

Although we had read that The Lanai was an older hotel, a bit farther from the action, we decided to try it. And we weren't disappointed!

Pros:
-Gorgeous beach
-Large and well-maintained pool
-Very fast wi-fi in reception area
-Good breakfast buffet
-Clean rooms (no bugs!)
-Comfy beds
-Quiet rooms and hallways
-Well-functioning AC
-Beautiful gardens
-Pool tables and balls for guests to use
-Happy hour half-priced drinks everyday
-Good luggage locker and secure safe at reception
-Free, cold potable water

Cons:
-Bathroom outdated (weirdly, had hardwood floors in the shower!)
-Location too far to walk to Pantai Cenai so must take taxis to go most places
-Jellyfish can sometimes be found in the ocean, but the whole island suffers from that
-Swim-up bar at poolside was closed
-No wi-fi in rooms; only at reception area
-Big gap between room and balcony door that could allow mosquitos to come in (but we stuffed a towel under it and problem solved)

All in all, we found that the pros outweighed the minor cons. Taxi drivers on Langkawi proved to be super nice and we discovered a good Turkish restaurant near the hotel called Turkish Delight.

Definitely give The Lanai a chance if you're looking for a reasonably priced resort with great beach access and a pool.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelFiend5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

After reading some of the recent reviews, we have wondered if we were actually staying in the same hotel! We have just returned from a fabulous, laid back holiday at the Lanai Beach. We decided to stay there as three years previously, we had been at the hotel next door but found ourselves, most evenings, wandering to the Lanai beach bar and enjoying the beautiful sunsets on a more private and secluded beach, the monkeys playing on the rocks and drinking their much more reasonably priced cocktails.
We had a beachfront, 2 bedroomed apartment, which was spacious, true it was a bit dated, but extremely clean and certainly better than we expected as we certainly weren't paying 5 star prices. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfasts were not gourmet but there was certainly enough of a selection, with an omelette station, fresh fruit, toasts etc. As we were only expecting a continental style breakfast, again it exceeded our perhaps lower expectations and certainly on a price comparison with the hotel next door, which we had stayed at on a room only basis, it was more than a welcome bonus! Freshly ground coffee would have been nice but this was available cheaply enough from the beach bar. The Lanai Beach Hotel is within a short walking distance of a good range of eateries, coffee shops and spas and it really is not too far to the larger and busier Cenang strip . Plenty of taxis are available and at 6 ringgits for a ride to the far end of Cenang, (less than £1.50) we really had no complaints! We would certainly love to return again, one day!

Room Tip: Based on other reviews about rooms that we did not see, maybe it is best to book a beach front villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynnJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#57 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing