We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
US$294
TheDanna.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$207
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$219
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$212
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$752
US$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
US$421
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
12
65
53
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
65
53
21
16
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Lanai was a very relaxed and low key place to be. Although the room smelled a bit musty when we first arrived, (as did one of the blankets) we soon settled in and were comfortable. The two bedroom villa we had was adequate for a four day stay. It was a shame the room had no information in about what the resort offered: where the restaurant was, what time they served breakfast, local attractions or facilities etc. We didn't use the Coca Cola and Lemonade in the mini fridge as we assumed we would be charged - we were only told it was complimentary when we checked out. We appreciated the free bottles of water each day. There was also no T-Towel to dry dishes or dishwash liquid and only 3 glasses for 4 people. Yes - the decor and buildings are a bit tired but you can forgive this for the relaxed atmosphere at the resort. The pool is excellent and it was nice to have pool towels readily available - although why we needed to sign for them, in and out, in a book - I am not sure. It was nice to be down the quiet end of a quiet beach and away from the more frenetic tourist spots. However, it was also the end where most of the rubbish washed up. We enjoyed the slightly smaller, quieter aspect of the resort - but it might need a bit of a facelift soon, both physically and in it's customer PR.
Restaurant Tip: Cactus restaurant - walk up the Lanai resort road and turn left on to the main road. Cactus is the first restaurant on the right. Reasonable prices and very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast choices and good service. Although you will have to find somewhere else for lunch because they close until 4pm.

Room Tip: Two bedroom villa great for family
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here for a week in late November, and I am a little late in leaving my review! Overall the hotel is good value for money, but this depends what you are looking for in your hotel.

Rooms – If a nice room is your main priority this hotel is not for you. They are quite small and basic, and the bathroom door was a funky concertina invention which felt as though it should be in a caravan. The beds aren’t the best and the tv is about the size of an ipad!

Hotel – The lobby is a nice size, a bit like a conservatory, with TV’s, pool tables and sofas. Staff are friendly and helpful but the breakfast was average at best. Some days were better than others depending on what they were rotating, but don’t be expecting much variety of western food. The pool area is great and the resort is facing a lovely secluded beach which makes for beautiful postcard style photos. The beach bar restaurant is quite good, we ate there a lot as we were disappointed in the restaurants on the main strip.

Location – You are on the edge away from the action, which we were quite happy with, but if you want to be in the middle of everything straight away you might want to look into something more central.

Overall for the price we paid we were reasonably happy with our stay here. If we were returning on the same budget we would stay again, although the hotel next door looked quite a bit nicer so we would be more likely to pay a bit extra and stay there!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Good Things: Private Beach is Good. Swimming Pool is Great. Good for a relaxing place
Bad Things: Room furnitures are shabby. Breakfast option very limited and cleanliness is an issue

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RabiulH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The Lanai Langkawi is a good place to stay if u want basic comforts at reasonable rates. The rooms are lean and functional but there is no elevator and porters and no room service. The breakfast spread is good and repeated every 3 days in case you are planning to stay long.
The beach is private but not very clean but offers good water sports. The best part of our experience was the travel agent who has a shop in the hotel premises who gave us good discounts on all local tours and a cheap car rental. We compared rates with other shops in along the Pantai Cenang stretch but this was thebest value for money. The agent Normah is also very honest and on our last day when the car was returned at 9pm and she did not have the money to return the deposit, she actually went to Kuah to get the cash and return it to us late at night. Really appreciated the honesty as we were about to write off the money. Would highly recommend her services if you are staying the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalSahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Well.... I can say the beds were clean and comfortable, and towels were clean thank goodness.

BUT......the hotel website shows a swim up pool bar.

I live in Singapore and my son and his girlfriend had travelled from Australia to visit me and go on holiday together. The girlfriend had never experienced a swim up bar, so was excited. We arrived to find the bar had been closed for at least 6 months.

I went to my room and had a shower. The shower doors fell off when I tried to slide them open.
The air-conditioning was not efficient at all.
My son/girlfriend's room air -conditioning worked LESS efficiently than mine.

We actually wanted to cancel our booking made through Agoda. Silly me I'd made a booking with a no-cancellation policy. A good lesson learnt

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyroberts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews