We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
kuala lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and pool”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Room is okay and we choose ground floor room infront of the pool for easy access to the pool. Pool is perfect and even have some shades from the building so you can still swim during the afternoon. Very quiet location and great view of the beach. Breakfast is okay and they rotate the menu with mix of local and western. Breakfast is serve until 10.30am and they replenish the food. Aircond in the room have a bit noisy sound, but it didnt bother us. Our room has another door to a verandah with table and chairs facing the garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    65
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
53
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Position position position. The Lanai is right on the beach at the end of Pantai Tengue, So there is only jungle on one side of the hotel. The rooms are old and a bit tired but the pool is perfect. You can be relaxed and feel comfortable moving around the hotel - all you need for a low key beach holiday. We were staying here at the end of the monsoon season. Hardly anyone here and had the pool to ourselves. The reception staff are lovely and if you take the time to talk to them, they are very helpful and friendly. Restaurants just across the road were great. Fat Mums and Cactus being our favourite.

Room Tip: There are beach bungalows available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazbah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Rooms where not very comfortable.. Could have been better.. Service was ok.. Breakfast is ok..
Best part was location.. It is right on the beach and the hotel has a bar on the beach.. So it was great to just walk on the beach..
Overall not bad place for stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun_Negi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We booked two double rooms in this hotel in June 2012. The rooms are good, but the bathrooms are not very good. The staffs are not very friendly and there's no porter to carry the luggage to the rooms. Breakfast is fine. The pool is excellent.

The excellent thing about this hotel is the beach in front. You can walk in the beach at night also. Though the hotel is in a corner of the Tengah beach area but Taxi is available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I am still here at lanai at the moment. Before arriving, the reviews worried me and i thought perhaps i booked a wrong place. My boyfriend and i are from penang and we just wanted a couple of quiet days by the sea.. and that is exactly wat we have here. the beach is perfect and quiet. its jz us and another couple enjoying the breeze last night. very clean. my boyfriend thinks the room is small but nevertheless cosy and comfy and clean. so is the toilet. will definitely come again. im going to explore the pool now..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minalosani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Everytime we visit Langkawi, this is definitely the hotel that we'll pick. This is not the most romantic hotel around Langkawi but both me and my hubby love the private beach that's located at the very far end of Pantai Cenang. The staff are friendly and the pool is really huge and nice. If you're stuck in the hotel on a rainy day, try out the beach cafe 'Tg Jaya' and you'll be surprised that the food is quite good. All in all, we recommend this hotel for people to appreciate the beach. We'll be back soon : )

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Lanai was a very relaxed and low key place to be. Although the room smelled a bit musty when we first arrived, (as did one of the blankets) we soon settled in and were comfortable. The two bedroom villa we had was adequate for a four day stay. It was a shame the room had no information in about what the resort offered: where the restaurant was, what time they served breakfast, local attractions or facilities etc. We didn't use the Coca Cola and Lemonade in the mini fridge as we assumed we would be charged - we were only told it was complimentary when we checked out. We appreciated the free bottles of water each day. There was also no T-Towel to dry dishes or dishwash liquid and only 3 glasses for 4 people. Yes - the decor and buildings are a bit tired but you can forgive this for the relaxed atmosphere at the resort. The pool is excellent and it was nice to have pool towels readily available - although why we needed to sign for them, in and out, in a book - I am not sure. It was nice to be down the quiet end of a quiet beach and away from the more frenetic tourist spots. However, it was also the end where most of the rubbish washed up. We enjoyed the slightly smaller, quieter aspect of the resort - but it might need a bit of a facelift soon, both physically and in it's customer PR.
Restaurant Tip: Cactus restaurant - walk up the Lanai resort road and turn left on to the main road. Cactus is the first restaurant on the right. Reasonable prices and very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast choices and good service. Although you will have to find somewhere else for lunch because they close until 4pm.

Room Tip: Two bedroom villa great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#48 of 104 in Langkawi
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 104 in Langkawi
556 reviews
5.6 mi away
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
#72 of 104 in Langkawi
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cactus Inn
Cactus Inn
#3 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing