We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location is very good, but beware its a self service no frills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The location is very good, but beware its a self service no frills hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The first shock we got is the when we had to carry our luggages to the room from the car without any help.... there were no elevators... so you have to carry your luggage through the stair cases...
The location of the hotel is very good, the beach is almost like a private beach, since its at the one end of the beach... the view is breath taking from the beach.. but they don't have any sea view rooms...
The pool is very good, though they have a bar inside the pool, but it is non functional... the food is not great in the beach shack, which is a part of the hotel...
Cleanliness is an issue, its a budget hotel with a high price tag... may be for the location you will not mind paying that price... but expect no service... communication is a big issue with the hotel staff including the front office.
They have a nice breakfast lounge, but food is little sad...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    65
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
53
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sale Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Friendly reception staff and good sized rooms. Hotel could do with a face lift as it is getting on. Breakfast was good in terms of choice. Good pool. Beach bar excellent to watch the sunset. A good no-frills hotel set in a pretty part of Langkawi.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaleAussietiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

At first, we were not very satisfied with the room, quite simple, even though you have everything in the family villa (2 rooms and a living room). The service is not great (don't forget you are in Malaysia - you always have the feeling that you are disturbing people...) but the pool is great and the beach is right there. By the way, this is one of the best beach in Langkawi and also the best area for restaurants and bars. There is no restaurant in the hotel, only e beach restaurant where the food is actually very good (and cheap). Happy hour only for beers (1 US$ equivalent for a draft beer).
We stayed there at the start of the low season so not much people around and they started to renovate the pool area.
Breakfast is not fantastic but price of our family room included it so not much to say.
You can rent from there bicycles or a car or scooter at a very reasonable price (try the basic Peruoda which can take on 2 adults and 3 kids) at 22€ per day... Very fun.
Also free wireless in the hotel, in the room and at the pool.
From the beach you can rent 1100cc jetski (35€ for 30mn) and many other watersports games.
Finally a good compromise and a relatively cheap stay. We would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Booked this hotel for 2 nights through asiarooms.com. Our check in was a breeze. Our rooms (#211,213) with interconnecting doors had a great pool view. The huge windows more than made up for the lack of a balcony. The air con in the room was a welcome respite from the hot and humid langkawi weather. The room was very clean. The room had a comfortable bed with comfy pillows. The old fashioned TV had english channels with movies, cartoon, sports, and discovery. The included breakfast was sumptuous. Mostly western menu. The daytime lady staff were very courteous, smiled and greeted us whenever we crossed the lobby. The night time male staff was a bit grumpy, watching tv, oblivious to the hotel guests entering/leaving the hotel. The free form pool with abundant supply of fresh towels was a huge hit with my children. There was also a shaded bar area within the pool. The Tengah beach had water sports for hire like jet ski and parasailing. The hotel staff (Ms.Mas) booked tickets at discounted rates to Pulau Payar Marine park for snorkelling.

The downside to our stay at Lanai were :

1. Bathroom - They definatele need to be refurbished. I couldnt close the sliding glass door to the shower cubicle. There was no bar soap and the provided shower gel was substandard.

2. No lifts/bell boy - I had to carry my luggages to the room upstairs. My advice - pack lightly.

My family and I had a pleasant experience staying at Lanai and wouldnt hesitate to stay here if my travel plans brings me to Langkawi again.

Sundar.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianfreqflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The place has good villas, spacious two bed room with a large living room. Villas are clean and quite well maintained. The problem with the place is the bad breakfast, even the local dishes are bad quality leave alone the wester dishes. They have a beach bar that is great for sunset and a beer but you shouldnt eat there. It is expensive (for Malaysia - not for Europe) and the food is disgusting. Even worse is the service. Slow at best but they do not clean up (our half eaten dish at the pool stayed there for three full days until another guest (!) felt sorry and took it back to the kitchen...). Staff at reception is in particular incompetent. Wrong information and we had a problem at check in (booked room was not available) they needed 1.5 hours to sort this out and negotiated with the agency about who would take which share on the upgraded room... Pretty unprofessional.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Chengdu
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very warmly and friendly staff. The facilities are family style, so it's wonderful place for family and lovers. The beach is clean and quite, not crowd of people. The location of the hotel is quite OK, not so noisy, and with a short distance to the busy street and shop. The pool is extremely clean and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spidertg2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

At RM268/night, this hotel is worth more than the rate we paid for! Although the room was average (no fancy decors, fancy lighting or anything of that sort), it was good enough for us. It was clean, everything of importance was in working order (eg aircond, fridge, tv, kettle etc) and we were never short of clean towels.

The breakfast spread was modest, but enough variety of food to choose from. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast every morning. Mind you, they serve fresh mango and orange juices! Not some cheap orange or mango flavored cordial.

The pool is big and clean and they have a kiddy pool too. There is only 1 restaurant (apart from the cafe that only opens for breakfast) at the hotel, located on the beach that serves reasonably good food. I like the fact that the beach is just about 50-70 meters from the pool. Our children had a whale of a time dipping in the pool for a while, then off to play sand on the beach and then back to the pool to cool down.

Here's what I like best about the hotel - the location! It occupies the last stretch of Cenang Beach which means the beach is pretty much exclusive for hotel guests only. It's quieter, less human traffic and certainly much safer for children since there are no water sports activities going on here. Water sports activities are however available at the neighbouring resorts all within short walking distance.

Another thing I love about this hotel is that it faces the sunset and if you were to walk (using the road, not the beach) further down south of the island for about a kilometer or so from the hotel, you will find another beach that faces the sunrise =) There's a jetty here that takes tourists for island hopping trips.

The staff at Lanai are ever friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel for those looking for reasonably nice accommodation without burning a hole in the pocket =)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#56 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing