We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good resort with a simple concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Langkasuka Resort
Ranked #79 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Penang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good resort with a simple concept”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I've just checked out from the Four Points Resort and the place is not as bad as mentioned in some of the reviews.

The room was clean and quite spacious for the price paid. HUGE swimming pool for a four star resort. Staffs are very friendly and accomodating.

Tips:

If you're travelling during busy holiday period, you might not get your room before 3pm! So rather than wasting your time and wait at the lobby, you can go to the Cable Car which is only 10 minutes away or to the Underwater World which is only 15 minutes away.

Close your balcony door in the evening to minimize mosquitoes issue. You can even request them to spray your room while you're out for dinner.

Car rental is cheaper at the airport which is just 2 km away.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seaview or Lanai rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QDynamicM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkasuka Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear QDynamicM,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

You have surely planned your time well and I trust our future guests will benefit from your recommendations (tips).

Nice to know that our uncomplicated and friendly service did make you feel special.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    136
    163
    89
    109
See reviews for
173
178
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were at first worried after reading some bad reviews about the hotel, so we actually set our expectations low so as not to ruin our little honeymoon. You can tell the hotel has just been renovated, to the point that you can still see some markings as well as paint dusts in the room, although little. It would have been perfect if the room is properly polished. But, it didn't bother us at all. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We love the fact there's wifi in the room --although we don't use it much. Front desk was quite helpful to give us a better room for us.. There's not much going on at the pool area except the fact that it has a HUGE infinity pool facing a private beach. Perhaps it would also be a great idea to offer water activities at the beach, otherwise it could be a little boring. The next happening beach is only 10 minutes drive. There's no room service, because i think Four Points is listed as Bed & Breakfast. You have to go to the cafe if you'd like to eat in the room --but why would you??

My only grudge is when the waiter took our plates during breakfast without first asking whether we're done with the meal (some leftovers still). I found it rude and unprofessional. Honestly speaking I don't find them very friendly.

all in all, still a decent hotel to stay for the budget, but not much to offer if you're looking for real service that sits at a prime beach location.

Room Tip: there was a construction in front of the left wing that can be annoying if you need a nap. towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denokis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkasuka Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear denokis,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this review.

It is nice to know that you like the comfort of our guestroom despite some minor issues.

Thank you for your suggestion to have some water sports activities at the beach which I will take note for future planning.

The unprofessional approach of our waiter while you were having breakfast at Eatery is not the typical service we offer. Please accept my apologies on this and rest assured that our Food & Beverage Manager conducts regular training to improve the service for better guest experience.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I must admit we were extremely apprehensive about the Four Points having read some very bad reviews prior to our visit. We really were prepared for Fawlty Towers but alas, were pleasantly suprised. This is not a luxury property by any means, but it will serve nicely for a functional and comfortable stay on a truly magnificent island.

The room was very clean (we didn't leave doors open so did our best to keep the mozzies at bay) and the hotel as a whole probably feels more like a seaside chalet resort than a hotel chain property. The infinity pool looks out onto a small beach and beyond to a stunning horizon, so no regrets about choosing the Four Points in this regard, we got exactly what we came for. I would strongly recommend hiring a car and doing your own driving, there's nothing in the immediate vicinity whereas a 10-15min drive will take you into Pentai Cenang where there are a number of coastal restaurants, bars, shops etc etc. We spent our evenings here and loved it, some nice meals to be had overlooking the beach.

In the opposite direction you can drive to the Cable Car in around 20mins (a must-see on Langkawi). Breakfast at the Four Points was fine, a little for all taste buds and they do make an effort to keep things stocked up. If the hotel is busy then be prepared for a bit of a hustle due to the sheer number of guests ( alot of tour groups in coaches while we were here).

So in summary, Four Points Langkawi will serve the purpose if you set your expectations accordingly, if you want a fancier resort look elsewhere but remember that this is a very small island and choice is limited (the other Starwood properties are/were very pricey). The issues with Four Points can be overcome, staff are friendly and helpful. Just make sure you PULL your room door when leaving, the doors don't close properly (design flaw IMHO) and use the in room security deposit...just because you are on holiday doesn't mean you leave your senses at home.

Enjoy Langkawi!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_savman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkasuka Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear the_savman,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy that your recent experience at our resort had gained your trust in us and that the simple, uncomplicated and friendly service my team offered did make your stay comfortable.

Trust you have learned some tips from our previous guest and agree that our guests should hire a car to explore more on Langkawi island as many places of interest are reachable in a short distance from the Resort although taxi is available.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I've stayed at the newly opened FourPoints in January for 4 nights and after knowing Langkawi for a bit, I must say that this hotel is one of the new great places to stay on this lovely Island. Infinity pool and a long sandy beach right in front of it, restaurant with great local & western food (sometimes even dinner buffets) and a very spacious room and bathroom with comfortable beds. I even met the Resort Manager Tasriff who always followed up on us if everything was going along with our expectations which makes you feel very welcome and well taken care of. So a big plus is definitely also the friendliness of the staff! Thanks for everything and I will certainly come back again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenzwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkasuka Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Wenzwei,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Resort in this review.

It is our pleasure to provide comfort to our guest during their stay and great to know that our effort is appreciated.

Your kind words certainly motivate the team in providing better service for guest experience.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed for five nights in Four Points by Sheraton Langkawi in January as part of a trip in Malaysia/Thailand/Singapore. Our impressions/feelings afterwards are mixed.

We found a good rate even before the hotel opened on an internet travel site where we occasionally book. We decided to take the risk because all of the other resorts that came into consideration are much more expensive. So our rating is based on the fact that we didn't pay the "western" prices that a previous reviewer referred to. Otherwise our rating would have been much worse.

First the good points:

- The bathroom is spacious and modern, with bath tub, rain shower and modern looking sink.
- The infinitiy pool is really big and lovely, overlooking the beach and the sea.
- There are enough pool chairs at the pool. We always easily found a place to get comfortable.
- The fitness is small but the cardio equipment works, providing a lovely view of the beach while working out.
- The wifi-internet is free
- Some of the rooms have a lovely view. We had a Lanai room overlooking the pool.
- Staff at the front desk is friendly and do anything to please.
- 2 bottles of daily complimentary water provided and fully stocked minibar with acceptable prices
- Location is good - 2 km from the airport and centrally located - ideal as a base for trips with a rental car

Now the bad points:

- Room was dirty when we checked in: hairs found in the corner, on the sheets, in the cupboards. The tiles on the floor were not clean and sticky when walking over them.
- Never had completely clean sheets, even after changing. There were always some stains on them. Dear hotel:iIf you cannot get them clean anymore, just dispose of them!
- Many of the towels had yellow or brown spots: the hotel should replace them and not give these to customers.
- One of the bathrobes (two were provided by the hotel) smelled of woman deodorant - so these were apparently not replaced before we checked in.
- Mosquitos were a major problem. We killed about 20 on the first day. We noticed they come through the lower door opening. So we put a towel on the floor to prevent them from coming in from the corridor and then we occasionally had one in the room.
- Smashed mosquitos on the bathroom mirror were not removed by the cleaning lady
- Airconditioning was loud and not working properly. We never got the room temperature below 25°C.
- Closet was easy to be dislocked, making it very annoying to move the doors
- Breakfast spread was large, but we felt it isn't the high quality food offered. We think it is better to offer less variety of higher quality.
- Staff at breakfast not friendly. One day we came at 6:05 am in the morning and we were the only guests in the room but not greeted by any staff walking past us.

The room was especially dirty the first day, but by tipping the cleaning lady every day and writing a note we managed to get the cleanliness to an acceptable level.

Overall: for getting to know the island with a rental car and spending as little time in the room as absolutely necessary this hotel is an acceptable option. If you want more luxury and cleanliness we suggest you to look for another hotel.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fimsternchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkasuka Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Fimsternchen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review.

As you may know, we take concern on our guest feedback and can assure that necessary actions are taken to improve especially on the room cleanliness. I have addressed your concern with my Housekeeping Team; rest assured that they are looking into improving their cleaning process and conduct thorough room check for better guest experience.

Our Executive Chef has taken note and shared your comments on the quality of our buffet breakfast at Eatery with his Culinary team. Please rest assured that he and his team consistently monitor the quality of food served.

The attitude of our staff that you encountered at Eatery during breakfast is unacceptable, their performance is now being monitored and guided by our Food & Beverage Manager for improvement.

On the mosquitoes issue, pest control exercise is being carried out regularly both in our guestrooms as well as the surrounding area.

Despite other shortfalls, I am glad you did enjoy your time at our pool and services provided by staff at Front Desk.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and if there is an opportunity for us to provide you with a more comfortable stay in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I am now in Four Points Langkawi. For those who are familiar with Langkawi, this is not a new hotel.. it is actually a newly bought over and refurbished. This hotel was known as Langkasuka Hotel.
I've stayed here during Langkasuka days so basically the structures are almost the same - they have changed the furnitures, revamped the pool area - it is an infinite pool now overlooking the beach - spectacular sunset could be observed while you're in the pool. The reception and lobby are still very bare, rooms and bathrooms are spacious, rooms are with tiles - no carpeting - which makes sense for a beach hotel. my bathroom has no overhead rain shower but my kids room has it. the lift is still the old lift. the bed is very comfortable. There is a sign on the table - free bottled water daily - but there was none. when I enquired with the staff - all they said was no stock at the moment. it's not a big deal but if it would be better if the signs were to be removed since you are unable to provide that. internet connection is complimentary in room.
Bottomline is.. it should have waited a bit longer, don't rush the opening for LIMA 2011 and complete the whole place first - these shortcomings reflected somewhat not so good image to Sheraton group. Ahh one last point - it would be good if there is someone picks up the phone when calls come in.
On the day of my check in, I called the hotel to inform that I would arrive 2 hrs late than the normal check in date.. but none of my calls within the 1 hour span is answered.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fazlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkasuka Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Fazlin,

Thank you for the time taken to provide us with this review.

One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

On the phone answering issue, we can assure that our Guest Services is available 24 hours to provide necessary assistance for our guests comfort. Meanwhile, we are resolving some technical issue with telecom on the telephone line connection. I apologize for the inconvenience caused.

I appreciate your kind understanding and glad that you like our comfort bed. Your comments have been shared with our Room Attendants and rest assured that they conduct thorough room check for future guest experience.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

it;s a brand new hotel but not ready for opening. a lot of things to do. reception and lobby bar is a big empty space. in the room i found hundreds of mosquitoes...

Room Tip: upper floor and close to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primuldak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkasuka Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear primuldak,

Thank you for the time taken to provide us with this review.

As the hotel is new, there are rooms for improvement on some minor details. I appreciate your kind understanding on this.

On the mosquitoes issue, rest assured that pest control exercise is being carried out regularly both in our guestrooms as well as the surrounding areas.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
4.6 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#46 of 103 in Langkawi
362 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
946 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.0 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#29 of 103 in Langkawi
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkasuka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkasuka Resort

Property: Century Langkasuka Resort
Address: Jalan Kuala Muda | Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Langkasuka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Century Langkasuka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
4 Points By Sheraton Langkawi Resort
Langkasuka Beach Hotel
Langkasuka Hotel
Langkasuka Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing