We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not upto Taj Standards! Service leaves a lot to be desired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Made a trip recently with some friends who were travelling with infants. Couldn't have started off on a worse note, despite getting there right at the check-in time of 2PM were made to wait for 2 hours to get our rooms! The lady at the reception was downright rude, rather than sounding apologetic, it seemed as if she was doing us a favour! The rest of the service staff is helpful, but service is generally slow.

The rooms are decent and very large, but certainly you would come to expect better standards from Taj.

Food is decent but not great, though the Indian food is actually quite good.

The property is massive and beautiful, you can go biking or jogging along a trail along the coast. This is highly recommended.

Overall quite a mixed experience, I would certainly think twice before recommending this hotel to someone else. Go there for the novelty of being the only resort on the Island, certainly don't expect Taj standards.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaustubh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

Secluded property built on an separate island. Staff is efficient and very helping. Regular ferrys make you stay connected with the main land. Availablity of good Indian food in that part of Malaysia is a big plus.
Had gr8 time and would love to go back again.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Puneet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Couldn't fault the Rebak resort. Service was efficient and friendly, and its a wonderful place to be away from the crowd. Whilst some areas are showing signs of ware and tear, the renovations are in full swing and I have no doubt this will only improve what is otherwise a wonderful holiday destination. The boat trip to the main island is quick and enjoyable, doesn't matter how many times you do it. Food is definitely worth mentioning. Excellent quality local produce, and the size of the menu will surprise. Staff were more than helpfull and the pool and garden areas are in tip top clean condition. I would rate it a quality 4 star at present and showing signs of improving.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter-teresa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The rabak resort is a nice isolated place for people who do not want to be in the main city and away from all the night life parties and happening market areas.
Though it is a Taj property it does not meet all standards of a Taj hotel.
We had booked 2 rooms and were given only 1 when we checked in the other room took an hour to get ready.which was very irritating after such a long flight.
The House keeping of the rooms is very bad. 3 nights and no bed linen was changed had the call house keeping the last day to get the sheets changed.
The toilet too was not cleaned on a daily basis the the towel coats were worn out with holes them.The flush had a problem in both rooms and there was no inroom safe provided in 1 of the rooms.
The Gm and housekeeping incharge seem to be on a vacation.
The breakfast buffet was amazing and upto 5 star standards.
Pool, Bar area and private beach excellent.
However we had booked 2 rooms at the same time and were charged extra for 1 of the rooms for no reason.
Also donot take the hotel transfer from the airport u will get many taxis for 10 ringets.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Right from the time I booked, I had a feeling that this would be a disaster. You know, that gut feeling you get before doing something, that voice in your head telling you that something is not right! I too had a song playing in my head like Mr. Shetty of “Hera Pheri”. Yet, emboldened by the brand Taj I decided to go ahead and plan the holiday with my in laws at the Taj Rebak Island resort in Langkawi!
I booked the rooms through a aggregator website and was pleased to see that it was #5 of 79 resorts in Langkawi! I got a good deal, not knowing that a lot of the brand was wiped off with those extra dollar discounts I got. When I reached the jetty, I was shocked to see that they did not have a boat plying on demand between the hotel island and the port. This made me mad with myself and with the hotel. Myself, for not having researched properly and the hotel for not having mentioned it on their website! So having missed the 12:30 pm boat by a whisker, we had to wait for an hour to get on to the next one.
Lopez a charming duty manager told us all about the hotel and about the people and what kind of service to expect. He told us about his lineage to India and about the fact that now he is 1/8 Indian. In his rant about the Pantai Cenang area, he forgot to offer us (especially the mother to be) even a glass of water. I would have thought that the best in hospitality hotel would have at least managed to train their staff with the basics of Indian manners. Atithi Devi Bhava! Aamir, where are you?!
So then finally at 2 pm we reached the shores of the hotel. Only again surprised to see that they had only two golf carts for 16 people about to check in. Hmmm.
At the reception we waited for about 10 minutes before someone came to check us in. Despite having a confirmed room upgrade to the beach front suites, we were left to the banal partial sea view rooms with an explanation that they had not received any intimation from Bombay.
After a night flight, a 3 hour halt and then another flight, I needed to cleanse myself! A shower was in order. While my dutiful AND angry wife harped on the phone at the front desk manager, I snuck in to take a shower. A picture speaks a thousand words, please see the uploaded images to witness the upkeep of the hotel. The shower pissed on me, the soap holder was corroded and about to fall off, the door was stained and the mirror light was not working.
Finally after having convinced him and having forwarded him an email from Bombay, we were shifted to our rooms. Bigger yet not spectacular. The TCL television made a buzzing sound every time I switched it on reminding me of the airplane announcements to switch off all electronic devices which may cause interference! OMG! I turned off everything except the telephone (even the lights!) but it was to no avail.
The food is more Indian than international. The staff is substandard. I don’t know if they practice the shift policy as I kept bumping in to Om from morning till as late as 11 pm!
For the kind of money one is paying and for a private island experience, I was expecting a lot more. The health faucet in my in laws room was leaking. It was temporarily fixed and with that when my mum in law entered the bathroom, she slipped on the water which had started from the leakage yet again! She just managed to avert a major disaster! The ceiling in my bathroom leaked on to the wash basin which made it permanently wet!
After a chlorine dip, one would want to have a decent fresh water bath and also treat the hair with some dignity and give it the deserving nutrients through a conditioner. Having asked them twice, they got it once! Imagine it not being there from the first place! A hand soap is essential for every basin in the john! Yet, for two basins, they had one hand soap. Bottles of water were also replenished only once daily! Two 500 ml bottles for two people seemed to me like being penny wise pound foolish!
At every meal, one had to ask for dirty dishes to be cleared, for ice water to be served, for hot food and alas for a chair for the fourth person.
Overall, I felt that they can do a lot more with the place if only Mr. Tata himself or Mr. Bickson emphasizes on the training and upkeep of the staff. They have leased this for 17 odd years and have completed about 4 years of the total. My personal feeling is that this is the step cousin of the group and is being treated thus so!
If you can, avoid coming here, better spend a lot more and go treat yourself to the Berjaya, or the Tanjung Rhu or even the Andaman.
I should have heeded my colleagues advice of staying at the Tanjung Rhu!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajiv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Getting there has been a bit of a challenge as our taxi driver had to find out himself during the ride where to go… so we were exhausted (and I was also scared) when arriving at a deserted pier where he dropped us with no explanation. The hotel speed boat arrived after a short while and took us to Rebok Island (we didn’t even know that it was on another little island but where happy to discovered the super-exclusivity of our stay haha) where the Resort is situated (the speed boat rides were the best part of the whole stay!). There a Fantasy Island feel overcame me when we were picked up at the pier by white golf carts and taken to the reception. Nice (creepy?) staff made the check-in, explained and took us to the room at the sea, again by golf cart (they love driving around with these things and you should use the free service as often as possible as it really seem to make them happy!).

All in all: nice rooms, nice island (we did not really explore but you can get bikes or walk around. We were too lazy and stayed only at the pool the three days we’ve been there).

Food ok, but rather expensive, diving excursion ok but very touristy, pool ok but too many children, French fries at the pool great but pricy, beach nice, monkeys and some other animals to spot, service & staff nice but the Fantasy Island feel is creepy, sorry can’t help it…

Again? Probably not (especially for that really crazy rate we paid as it was over Christmas) but for once it was nice… well maybe… but just for the speedboat ride!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Room26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had wonderful time at Taj Rebak, Hotel organised the airport pick up, check in was really easy, we chose sea view superior room which was awesome. Food was awesome, specially availability of Indian food in that part of Malaysia was a major benefit. Chef Dinesh took really good care of us, he asked us in advance what we wanted to eat in our next meal and he made sure that all our requests are fulfilled. Travel to and from the jetty to this island was not an issue and they had frequent boats going to the jetty. Room was spacious nothing fancy, bathroom was nice.Room service is ok. We were on holiday and just wanted to relax, Overall property is good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studentPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
2.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: £83 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing