We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice resort and enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice resort and enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you are one of the persons who like privacy and having to spend quality time with your loved ones, this is the place to be in.there is a ferry that is available to reach out to the place.this is available only once in 1hour.so if you want to go out and venture out langakwi,this is is not the hotel for you.the rooms are very spacious and very relaxing.the spa is very relaxing. The food available is great.there is plenty of things that can be done inside the resort without going out.over all I had a nice honeymoon trip in this resort.one other downside is there will be flight landing and take off sounds headed if you stay anywhere in this resort.

Our hotel room was decorated with flowers as we were pleasently suprised

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing rooms in 1000 series where you will get more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visusankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    541
    183
    81
    70
See reviews for
633
895
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here initially because we had trouble finding decent accommodation at an affordable price on Langkawi Island. While we were waiting for the free 10 min shuttle over to Rebak Island we told someone, also waiting for the shuttle, that we were heading to Rebak as we could not find something we liked at a price we could afford on Langkawi. This person replied "sometimes misfortune turns out to be good fortune" Which for us was totally true. We booked 2 nights initially without seeing the place but once we got there and saw how nice it was we increased our booking to 4 nights. On the main island a lot of the resorts were in busy dusty areas, so what a relief to find that this resort island has virtually no roads, venders or taxis. Our accommodation was garden view, included a free buffet breakfast and as we were staying more than 3 nights we got one night free! The beach and pool area were clean and the grounds were beautiful. The only downside was that you had to take the shuttle to the main island if you wanted to go touring around Langkawi. However the resort will arrange to have a cab there waiting for you when you arrive on Langkawi. The shuttle is free and runs every hour up to about 7:00. If you wanted a quiet relaxing day this was the place (and if you want a more action packed day hop, the shuttle).

Room Tip: Go directly to the hotels web site and look at the booking options. They have quite a few different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizbeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkhobar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

beautiful island but bad reception, the rooms are excellent especially the family chalet pool view, but don't take the floor one , get the second floor because you will not be able to sleep.
Food there is testy but expensive anyway it worth the money you pay.

Room Tip: Go to the resorts on main Langkawi island they are much better in location & service and food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feras H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Having read the many glowing reports on this website, we arrived with high hopes but after a week's stay, I'm not sure that we've been to the same place.

Don't get me wrong, we've had a good time and a relaxing break in the sun, but the claim of being a 5 star resport is well short of the mark given the standard of facilities and service. And how reports can write using adjectives like peaceful and paradise when there are very regular flights right above your head on the final approach going in and our of Langkawi airport, I'm just not sure.

There are some good points, but the lack of consistency across the whole resort and holiday experience leaves me a little disappointed, and certainly I feel that the hotel falls well short of it's billing.

To try and sum up the whole experience from start to finish :-

- Booking was easily done directly with the hotel's website. Do make sure however that you check your booking confirmation. Ours was about 10% higher than the rate quoted and I didn't pick this up so had no choice but to pay.
- Pick up from the airport was spot on. Polite and friendly and a quick journey to the pier.
- Boat transfer to the hotel was good and took around 15 mins.
- Check in was OK. Nice welcome drink and quickly taken to our room but not the most lively welcome we've ever had.
- Room quality was average at best. We had the deluxe sea view room. Great position right on the beach and a great view. Internally however everything was very tired. Cracks in the toliet and bath. Peeling paintwork. Rather grubby sofa and chairs. Really needs to be refreshed.
- Daily housekeeping was prompt and reliable. Plentiful supply of free bottled water and a really nice flower display on the bed on our last night.
- Beach is beautiful. Very clean and a plentiful supply of sun beds. Pool is likewise.
- Special mention to Anowar who seems to have to do everything from cleaning the pool to laying out the towels, but he does so with a smile on his face at all times.
- Gardens were very well maintained and there really is a feeling of space and no overcrowding that so often features at some resports.
- The only downside about the pool/beach area is the frequent interruption from the overhead flights. Best to have a look at Google Earth and look to the right of the island and you can see how close the runway is and that the direction of it means that every flight has to go over Rebak.
- Pool bar was good. We only had drinks but they did serve a few small snacks as well.
- Beach bar was supposed to be open 12-8 but never was. If you went and asked then they would send staff over for happy hour at 6-7 but that's all. And with no stocks actually at the bar the poor staff then had to run back and forth to the main bar to get the drinks.
- Restaurant was mixed. Food at every meal was good, and on occasion, exceptional. But this was let down by the service. With the exception of Rahim many of the staff struggled to raise a smile. Service for the most part was very slow. And any resort claiming to be 5 star should have more than just one dining option. The menu had a very familiar look after 7 days of seeing it at lunch and dinner.
- The main bar was OK. The good staff (thanks to Vivek in particular) made up for a rather drab place and the only option available given that the beach bar was never open when it should be.
- Interestingly there is another restaurant at the marina. Run by the hotel and with a very similar menu at half the price. But hotel guests are not allowed to use it. Boat owners only.
- We didn't try any of the trips or the boat shuttle service.
- Transfer back to the airport was prompt and efficient.
- Overall value for money was acceptable. Prices for food and drinks were relatively cheap for an island hotel.

At best I'd say that this place is OK. We got a quick week away in the sun at a reasonable price. It could however be so much better with some attention to detail across the quality of the rooms and the service on offer. And to claim even a 4 star rating there needs to be some better options available on the food and drink front. In saying this, unless they manage to get the planes to fly into Langkawi a different way, this can simply never become the paradise location that the hotel's website portrays.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Meet and Greet service was prompt .
Five minutes drive from the airport to the exclusive Taj Rebak Jetty .
We had a 20 minutes wait for the next boat service which gave us ample time to grab a cold beer from the open bar opposite the Jetty .
The journey by the speed boat was approximately 15 minutes filled with sun & fun .
On arrival we were checked in promptly with a glass of fresh Guava juice .

Rooms were big and kept very clean at all times .
We stayed for 3 nights and experienced zero problems none at all to be honest .
Our room was facing the sea which I requested at the time of booking directly from the hotel and this was given complimentary .
Malaysia is a tropical country and you may come across insects and mosquitoes however having said that we did not experience much of a problem as each room has mosquito coils .

Breakfast was included with the price we paid and it was brilliant .
Lots of choices from western /Malay/Chinese and Indian if you require anything special they kitchen will happily do it for you .

Please see my travel tips for this wonderful resort

Book directly with the Hotel via email you will get a good deal and additional discounts for food /drinks /Spa plus comp airport transfers
Request for a sea view upstairs room .
Book a Bike at the reception free of charge deposit of 20RM you get it back after returning the cycle back do a trip around the island .
Take the comp boat service they provide to the main land of Langkawi to experience the local culture /food and beach .
The month of Feb is the best time to visit as you will experience good sunshine and no rain
Check for happy hour in the pool bar for half price cocktails , the cocktails are very good here .
Stay for a maximum of 3 -4 Days otherwise you will get bored as this is a private island with the beach in front and the lush jungle at the back
Beautiful scenery and very quiet .

We stayed for 3 nights at the Rebak and moved on to the main land Langkawi for another 3 days to experience local food & activities .
There are plenty of hotels to choose from for any budget .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea view first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinz006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Fantastic place for a honeymoon along with the monsoon showers which was totally unexpected, service at the hotel was beyond satisfaction, staff were very friendly and courteous all the time. The room was comfortable, spacious and cozy with a beach and garden view. The free shuttle service between the resort and Langkawi town was helpful throughout our 6 days stay. The food at the resort was also delicious and had many vegetarian options for Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner. The hotel staff also helped us arrange our local island tours for us to enjoy the most despite the rains. We did spend a day in the resort itself, and it was quite a refreshing experience while we were exploring the whole resort area. The resort also provides bikes to bike around if you are too tired to walk all the way. My husband and I were glad we stayed at this resort and we look forward to making another visit sometime in future... maybe for our anniversary!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden or beach are very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailu383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Everything was perfect ! Specially the staff... very nice comfortable rooms, nice private baech and overall great property for honeymooneers Everything was perfect !
the pool viewing the sea is great, our surprising upgrade to seaview was so perfect, but the best: wild Hornbills flying around in the garden and around the pool!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarun_181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing