We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene - luxurious getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene - luxurious getaway!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our 4 day holiday at Rebak was fantastic. It was the first holiday we planned with a baby so we were a bit worried. But staff were so thoughtful, personalised in their approach right thru our stay and the two bedroom suite was perfect with lots of room for her to run around without crashing into things!
The best part of the property is of course the private beach,(far better than chenang, tengah beaches) fantastic view of the nearby islands, mountains and mainland at the distance. The sea was not rough at all & you can wade thru the shallow water, great for swimming, kayaking and safe for the baby! The island also is home to lots of birds, early morning walk you can see lots of hornbills & other birds.
The location is great, 5 min drive from airport to Port langkasuka and a scenic boat ride to the island.There are regular boat transfers to the mainland. We had planned a lot of things in the mainland but we enjoyed the resort so much, we hardly made trips out (mainly for duty free and batik shopping).
GM Sandip Mukherjee really took care of us right through our stay. Thanks Sandip and team!
The Halloween bash was great and the next day resort was all decorated beautifully for Diwali.
Tip: Figure out the high tide timings at the activity desk at the start, so you can plan kayaking and maximise using the beach.
Overall had a relaxing stay and fantastic service even by Taj standards! If you want a calm, quiet break away from hustle bustle, close to nature yet very comfortable this a great choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivyaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    541
    183
    81
    70
See reviews for
633
895
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allerød
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The reviews on Tripadvisor sold me on this hotel. Reality can sometimes be far from the truth.
The place is as run down as a shanty town or a favela. Which is sad, because the people employed here are fantastic. I must assume that the GM here has been dealt a dead hand by the corporate office. There seems to be a genuine lack of interest in investing in maintaining the property. Green areas are not green, fish pools and other areas are dilapidated and left untended to, some resemble open sewers.
I can only question the favorable reviews here, but as a matter of value for money I would definitely have taken my business elsewhere had I known the facts beforehand. This just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

its superb 5 star property, I decided to celebare my younger son Birthday on 28th Feb 2013 and I think It was nice decission. Once we reached Langkawi airport the journey was awesome. we didn't had to worry about carrying luggage from pick up to drop off. we are vegetarian, I was worried about food for my wife and 2 kids but the Indian Chef Mahesh Rawat made the best dishes according to my family demand which made our stay wonderful. I will highly recommend for someone who wants completely cut-off from world in Private Island. The General Manager from Kolkatta was very down to earth and humble. I met different nationality staff here Indonesian, Malaysian, Indian and I must say all were Gem. The private sandy beach is good but only drawback is once you enter the water there are lot of stones and water is not clean(not maintained) so during low tide you need to monitor your kids apart of that pool was awesome

Room Tip: There is no need for spending extra on garden view as the resort is surrounded by garden :-) you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jignesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Separated from the main island this property is clam quiet and peaceful...good for family get togethers... the airport is closeby. the villas are inspired from the local architecture and are extremly comfortable. the restaurants are good one can get amazing seafood.

Room Tip: For relaxation; yes its a amazing property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpv28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were pampered from the minute we land till the day we left! The resort arranged for pick up at the airport and were taken to the jetty that was about 10 minutes drive away. Soon after, we were on the boat to the private island. Greeted by friendly staff and light refreshments, we were checked in within 15 minutes! By far the most efficient check in I've experienced.

Stepping into our room was a bliss as the A/C was turned on and the room was splendid! Breakfast was great but could add a little more variety. Service was excellent from the reception desk to the pool service and restaurant staff were quick to attend to our needs.

The in-house activities was tons of fun as we went kayaking, played a little table tennis, Jenga and even the traditional game of Congkak.

Though I would choose a different beach given a choice, the service at Rebak Island Resort will keep me coming back!

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rent a car at the island upon landing at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekypinkmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The resort lived up to its Taj lineage. The place was impeccable, service was outstanding and location was simply great.

The resort is about 15 min boat ride from special jetty, which itself is about 5 min drive from airport. Boats leave for resort at defined schedule and there is decent open lounge with some arrangements for some drinks to cool you off. The last boat to the island leaves around 7:30 PM. You pay for the trip if you are miss the boat. (~150 MYR)

Once you reach the resort, you are in a totally different place, a place where nature, forest and the hotel blend well.

The check in process were smooth & seamless. The rooms were very well fitted, with a large dressing area. separate shower and bath tub and all the usual bells and whistles expected from a place like this.

The pool is good, the beach is nice calm and serene, though the water is not the best in terms of clarity. Free kayaks are available for use and so are bikes, which for sure come handy since the area around the resort can be fun exploring on bike.

Food overall was good with around 55 MYR for breakfast and 85 MYR for buffet dinner (Taxes extra). The dinner theme changes based on the day of the week.

The two top things which stand out in the resort are the peace & serenity of the place and the service. All the staff members were well trained, efficient and provided the service with smile and warmth.

The head of resort, Mr. Sandeep could be seen chatting with the guests, telling things to do and how to make best of the place. We met him several times in a given day, at different location, checking every piece off the property ensuring that everything was ship shape.

Highly recommended if you are heading for Langkawi.

Room Tip: Nice place to spend time with family. There is a lot to do in the resort. Do give enough time to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerraBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous week spent at the Taj Rebak island resort. Getting there by pre arranged boat conveying you at high speed was a treat indeed.
Check in smooth and efficient. As a family of four we stayed in a garden view deluxe two bedroomed room. Very clean and well appointed. Restaurant service, pool bar service, beach/life guard attendants service was all first class and attentive.
The island is truly tropical and would not hesitate to return.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NGER14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing