We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the service and the peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved the service and the peace and quiet”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We've just arrived back after a whistle stop tour of KL, Sabah and Langkawi.

The Rebak Island Resort was our final hotel staying here for five nights in total. Set on a lovely island surrounded by loads of different trees, and excellent garden. We booked a one bedroom garden room but were lucky to get one near to the pool. The room was excellent, the only issue was the noise of our neighbour upstairs banging about and shouting late at night. Luckily they departed after our first night. This though is not the hotels fault, you get these people everywhere.
What sets this hotel apart for us is the service from the staff. Bayu, Adam, Neo, Shalabul( our room attendant( sorry if I spelt it incorrectly) and Hamid to name but a few deserve a mention. So friendly and always a smile, as did everyone else to be honest.

The beach was so quiet, peaceful and relaxing. We did venture out onto the main island, visiting Pantai Cenang, the cable car ( worth a visit ) and Kuah (not worth a visit), and although we found the last boat, 19:45 restrictive, it didn't obstruct. We were told though by the yachting fraternity that there are other boats, which adds to some confusion. Perhaps this could be publicised even if there is a charge for later boats, with pre-booking essential.

Should we return to Langkawi, this is definitely the hotel we would choose to return to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micky8hoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    561
    193
    84
    72
See reviews for
696
921
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Taj Groups Rebak Island Resort is a wonderful resort with great amenities and serene atmosphere. The natural beauty is breath taking.
With regards to the facilities they are excellent, the staff great the overall experience was super.

Room Tip: It does not really matter whether you have a sea facing room or not, unless you dont want to get out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitendra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is amazing. It is on a tiny island that is super easy to get to from Langkawi island and the port is close to the hotel. The shuttle boat is also free during the day but can be hired at 45 minutes notice 24/7. The rooms are huge. In fact the rooms are suites. They also have huge balconies. There is a nice swim up bar in the pool but the beach is right next to it and the water was warm and wonderful so we only went in the pool once. The staff are courteous and very helpful. The buffet style food in the evening was delicious. We ate ourselves silly. And during the day we always had a chicken kati roll as it was so tasty that there was no need to eat anything else. We usually skipped breakfast but our friend eat breakfast and really enjoyed the dosas (types of thin Indian pancakes). The only downside was the accommodation is wood and you could hear the people moving around above us and they were coming into their room at all hours. I would suggest asking for the upstairs and not the ground floor of the 2 storey accommodation. We were two couples so I wish they had put us in the upstairs and downstairs of the same building instead of two ground floor rooms as we all had issues with the upstairs neighbours! However, otherwise it was a heavenly stay. And also make sure you check out Rafii's bar on the main Langkawi island. Once we found this bar, we never went anywhere else. Also Crystal Tours for the supper cruise. We had such a wonderful holiday that there is no way we will not come back. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Make sure it is an upstairs and not a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigittelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed for 2 nights with my family. It was our little escape from our vacation in Kuala Lumpur. The hotel itself is very nice. We were met at the airport and transported to the island after a short wait. The driver let us sit in the car with the air running at my children's request. We were welcomed with a delicious, refreshing tea. I wish that I would have asked what it was so I could bring some back with me. Then, I was hit with a request for a deposit. After having paid for the room in advance, this surprised me and I don't like surprises that have to do with money. It was uncomfortable because I wasn't sure how much additional cash or credit I had ,but we worked it out.

The staff was very friendly. I never got the impression that anyone expected a tip. They would pick us up and give us rides.

The room had one of the largest bathrooms that I've seen-compartmentalized into the dressing area, shower, and bath. It was beautiful but not functional for my family. First, the slight glazing for the toilet area wasn't sufficient cover. You felt exposed. And it would have been nice if there was a partition for the dressing area.

The restaurant was expensive and just okay. We ordered a la carte for most meals. Honestly, this is the main thing that would stop me from returning to this resort. I felt trapped and I didn't want to use their restaurant. We spent one day in the town at the beach and the food prices were so much more reasonable.

The pool is very nice and the chairs are very comfortable. My kids loved the bikes but I do think that they are prone to breaking down. The beach area was sufficient, but without waves. We didn't do any of the other activities involved.

So, it was a great trip and I have no regrets but I probably would not do this again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our 4 day holiday at Rebak was fantastic. It was the first holiday we planned with a baby so we were a bit worried. But staff were so thoughtful, personalised in their approach right thru our stay and the two bedroom suite was perfect with lots of room for her to run around without crashing into things!
The best part of the property is of course the private beach,(far better than chenang, tengah beaches) fantastic view of the nearby islands, mountains and mainland at the distance. The sea was not rough at all & you can wade thru the shallow water, great for swimming, kayaking and safe for the baby! The island also is home to lots of birds, early morning walk you can see lots of hornbills & other birds.
The location is great, 5 min drive from airport to Port langkasuka and a scenic boat ride to the island.There are regular boat transfers to the mainland. We had planned a lot of things in the mainland but we enjoyed the resort so much, we hardly made trips out (mainly for duty free and batik shopping).
GM Sandip Mukherjee really took care of us right through our stay. Thanks Sandip and team!
The Halloween bash was great and the next day resort was all decorated beautifully for Diwali.
Tip: Figure out the high tide timings at the activity desk at the start, so you can plan kayaking and maximise using the beach.
Overall had a relaxing stay and fantastic service even by Taj standards! If you want a calm, quiet break away from hustle bustle, close to nature yet very comfortable this a great choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivyaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allerød
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The reviews on Tripadvisor sold me on this hotel. Reality can sometimes be far from the truth.
The place is as run down as a shanty town or a favela. Which is sad, because the people employed here are fantastic. I must assume that the GM here has been dealt a dead hand by the corporate office. There seems to be a genuine lack of interest in investing in maintaining the property. Green areas are not green, fish pools and other areas are dilapidated and left untended to, some resemble open sewers.
I can only question the favorable reviews here, but as a matter of value for money I would definitely have taken my business elsewhere had I known the facts beforehand. This just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

its superb 5 star property, I decided to celebare my younger son Birthday on 28th Feb 2013 and I think It was nice decission. Once we reached Langkawi airport the journey was awesome. we didn't had to worry about carrying luggage from pick up to drop off. we are vegetarian, I was worried about food for my wife and 2 kids but the Indian Chef Mahesh Rawat made the best dishes according to my family demand which made our stay wonderful. I will highly recommend for someone who wants completely cut-off from world in Private Island. The General Manager from Kolkatta was very down to earth and humble. I met different nationality staff here Indonesian, Malaysian, Indian and I must say all were Gem. The private sandy beach is good but only drawback is once you enter the water there are lot of stones and water is not clean(not maintained) so during low tide you need to monitor your kids apart of that pool was awesome

Room Tip: There is no need for spending extra on garden view as the resort is surrounded by garden :-) you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jignesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing