We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have stayed in many Taj properties in the past but the stay at this hotel has definitely trumped any other past experience. This is the best stay that I had and beats any other experience due to the hospitality, location and ambience!

The personal interaction, the politeness and exemplary service displayed at the resort made this a really memorable visit. A visit that would be remembered with very fond memories.

The rooms are exquisitely done and are very spacious. If you have a sea facing room, then you can be caught in a conundrum deciding whether you want to spend time in your well appointed room or do you want to bask in quaint balcony outside and take in the view!

The resort is located on Rebak Island and resort has boats plying between the resort and the main island. It is a 10 minute boat ride.

The resort offers a private beach which is an amazing setting for both relaxing and solitude. If you are looking for romance or a quite getaway, then this is definitely the resort to pick!

The pool has bar in it and is well appointed giving you a view of the sea. The facilities at resort involve cycling, kayaking, jet skiing, lazing around on the private beach, fishing etc.

Apart from that the hotel can help organize activities like a romantic sunset cruise, a sightseeing cruise etc. Just approach the travel desk at the lobby for more information.

In short, this is a really beautiful resort for spending some quiet time and lazing around. This definitely is on my places-to-visit-again-list!

Room Tip: Take up a room facing the sea. The view is breathtaking.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,032)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had requested for room on the ground floor because I was recuperating from knee operation. We got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite close to everything..the pool, the restaurant. The suite was large and nicely furnished with large and cosy bed. The food voucher helped with the restaurant bills as we had no choice but to eat at the restaurant. It's a private island with marina and very private beach. Breakfast was good with Indian touch. The staff was very attentive and helpful cause I needed extra help to move around and lots of ice to treat my operated knee. They arranged a private island hoping trip (inclusive in package) for my 3 children, complete with towels and drinks...very exclusive. My total rest and relax mission for this holiday was truly met here at Taj.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myzatul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We just had 7 days of great rest and relaxation enhanced by the atmosphere at the Taj...all staff were attentive but not intrusive, the surroundings were meticulously maintained, food was excellent with a constant change of menu. Bedroom was kept spotlessly clean by the room attendant. The beach was not overcrowded. We were made to feel valued from the moment we arrived until we checked out. As close to 5 Star as possible for the price. Brilliant...highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe double room which was perfect for our needs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianKielland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We've just arrived back after a whistle stop tour of KL, Sabah and Langkawi.

The Rebak Island Resort was our final hotel staying here for five nights in total. Set on a lovely island surrounded by loads of different trees, and excellent garden. We booked a one bedroom garden room but were lucky to get one near to the pool. The room was excellent, the only issue was the noise of our neighbour upstairs banging about and shouting late at night. Luckily they departed after our first night. This though is not the hotels fault, you get these people everywhere.
What sets this hotel apart for us is the service from the staff. Bayu, Adam, Neo, Shalabul( our room attendant( sorry if I spelt it incorrectly) and Hamid to name but a few deserve a mention. So friendly and always a smile, as did everyone else to be honest.

The beach was so quiet, peaceful and relaxing. We did venture out onto the main island, visiting Pantai Cenang, the cable car ( worth a visit ) and Kuah (not worth a visit), and although we found the last boat, 19:45 restrictive, it didn't obstruct. We were told though by the yachting fraternity that there are other boats, which adds to some confusion. Perhaps this could be publicised even if there is a charge for later boats, with pre-booking essential.

Should we return to Langkawi, this is definitely the hotel we would choose to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Micky8hoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Taj Groups Rebak Island Resort is a wonderful resort with great amenities and serene atmosphere. The natural beauty is breath taking.
With regards to the facilities they are excellent, the staff great the overall experience was super.

Room Tip: It does not really matter whether you have a sea facing room or not, unless you dont want to get out...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jitendra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is amazing. It is on a tiny island that is super easy to get to from Langkawi island and the port is close to the hotel. The shuttle boat is also free during the day but can be hired at 45 minutes notice 24/7. The rooms are huge. In fact the rooms are suites. They also have huge balconies. There is a nice swim up bar in the pool but the beach is right next to it and the water was warm and wonderful so we only went in the pool once. The staff are courteous and very helpful. The buffet style food in the evening was delicious. We ate ourselves silly. And during the day we always had a chicken kati roll as it was so tasty that there was no need to eat anything else. We usually skipped breakfast but our friend eat breakfast and really enjoyed the dosas (types of thin Indian pancakes). The only downside was the accommodation is wood and you could hear the people moving around above us and they were coming into their room at all hours. I would suggest asking for the upstairs and not the ground floor of the 2 storey accommodation. We were two couples so I wish they had put us in the upstairs and downstairs of the same building instead of two ground floor rooms as we all had issues with the upstairs neighbours! However, otherwise it was a heavenly stay. And also make sure you check out Rafii's bar on the main Langkawi island. Once we found this bar, we never went anywhere else. Also Crystal Tours for the supper cruise. We had such a wonderful holiday that there is no way we will not come back. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Make sure it is an upstairs and not a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigittelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed for 2 nights with my family. It was our little escape from our vacation in Kuala Lumpur. The hotel itself is very nice. We were met at the airport and transported to the island after a short wait. The driver let us sit in the car with the air running at my children's request. We were welcomed with a delicious, refreshing tea. I wish that I would have asked what it was so I could bring some back with me. Then, I was hit with a request for a deposit. After having paid for the room in advance, this surprised me and I don't like surprises that have to do with money. It was uncomfortable because I wasn't sure how much additional cash or credit I had ,but we worked it out.

The staff was very friendly. I never got the impression that anyone expected a tip. They would pick us up and give us rides.

The room had one of the largest bathrooms that I've seen-compartmentalized into the dressing area, shower, and bath. It was beautiful but not functional for my family. First, the slight glazing for the toilet area wasn't sufficient cover. You felt exposed. And it would have been nice if there was a partition for the dressing area.

The restaurant was expensive and just okay. We ordered a la carte for most meals. Honestly, this is the main thing that would stop me from returning to this resort. I felt trapped and I didn't want to use their restaurant. We spent one day in the town at the beach and the food prices were so much more reasonable.

The pool is very nice and the chairs are very comfortable. My kids loved the bikes but I do think that they are prone to breaking down. The beach area was sufficient, but without waves. We didn't do any of the other activities involved.

So, it was a great trip and I have no regrets but I probably would not do this again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,381 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: £96 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing