We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The REAL TAJ experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The REAL TAJ experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Rebak resort by TAJ group occupies an entire island which can be reached from mainland by jetty.
PROS : A nice place isolated and separated from the mainland.
Clean rooms, smiling people who make you feel special, nice spa and good food.
The property has many activities which happen every evening so that you don't feel bored.
Perfect place for those who prefer calm environment.
CONS : Might be disappointing for party people.
You have to take jetty (15min ride) to reach mainland so for those who want to visit mainland often this trip will b tiring.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SathiyaVelavan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    559
    193
    84
    72
See reviews for
693
919
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Too good - a true 'Taj' experience.

When we arrived at the jetty to be transferred to the hotel, we weren't very sure about the choice we made due to TA reviews :) but when we reached the island - everything was too good.

The hotel/resort occupies the whole of the rebak island. Consider yourself blessed if you are staying in one of the rooms facing the sea view... and we got one of those.

Wonderful staff - each one of the staff is smiling and jolly when interacting with you. You will be greeted whenever you see them. RARE hospitality in Malaysia.

Hotel has got many activities. You can wither enjoy the beach, or their wonderful swimming pool, or just chill out during the happy hours at one or the other bar or go for a nature's walk or just laze around the beach. Food is really authentic, whether malay or Indian or western plus its delicious. a bit expensive though, but you won't mind when you are in this scenic property.

Full marks to the people managing property - its clean, well maintained and refreshing. Its surrounded by the rain forest on the island. Bugs and mosquitoes will be there with such flora and fauna, so just carry a lot of bug repellent.

Rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The ones with the sea view are exceptional. Just open the curtains from the master bedroom or from the bath tub, you will feel extraordinary.

Finally, a big thanks to each one of the staff for showing such warmth and being wonderful host.

Room Tip: With a clear sea view, no doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Lokesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights in a sea view room. The rooms were big and comfortable. It had a great bath and lovely views if the ocean and trees. The pool and beach were very nice. At the beach we could only swim in the morning as by the afternoon the tide was out and it was too shallow. The views while in the beach were lovely and the beach was very quiet and peaceful. Some of the rooms were a fair distance from the pool, beach and restaurants but the resorts has buggy that are very quick to escort you if ended and the kids found it really fun! As others have mentioned it's on a flight path and planes fly over quite low regularly. I didn't mind and my kids loved it but may not suit everyone. The reason I couldn't give it 5 stars is the food. If you stayed on the island ,which we did you only have one restaurant option and the food wasn't great. Just ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Awesome resort with outstanding location. Evening and morning views by the Marina are beautiful.
Poolside bar has great selection. Above all Indian food is just out of the ordinary for any place in South-East asia. Special thanks to Executive Chef Jose and his boys!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohit_Wad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We found this one on the net by chance. They do not advertise as they have only 94 rooms. We were upgraded to premium temptation suite.
Located on a private island west of Langkawi. Transportation by speed boats on regular schedule. The property is 70 acres with a private marina.
Staff was very courteous and helpful. One can book all water activities from the resort and they provide water bottles, towels etc. every time.
Bars have happy hours between 6-8 and 10-12 pm and food quality is very good.
I would recommend this resort for privacy, serenity and quality vacation.
We would like to repeat this vacation again in future.

Room Tip: All rooms are in separate cottages. There are travel carts to move around. Room deal must ensure fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLM551022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madaba, Jordan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The people are very friendly, service is good the hotel is little bit old but the place is gorgeous. the sea is breathtaking and the daily activities in the hotel is nice and reasonably priced but no activities in the night. the food is bad only indian.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Riyadnajada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Though their service levels are not good, the location more than makes up for this. Imagine a room in such a hotel not having a "bottle opener". I asked for it on the 1st evening, I could not get this during my stay.

Rooms are ok-dokie, much like any 3* hotel. The rooms are not very Modern, yet very well laid out with all amenities to have a relaxing rest. Most rooms are beach front & this is very scenic which ever way you look at it.

Their Pasta, Pizza & Indian breads were top notch. However, the Indian breakfast menu on the buffet was a huge disappointment. None of the dishes were remotely close to the originals we eat in Singapore or Malaysia. This was a let down since its an Indian Hotel.

Could see some racism on a couple of occasions. Hotel should understand that if some one could afford this hotel, they can pretty much afford a competition on the main Island as well.

I liked the Gym, Cycling & the small library. Private Beach with a swimming pool near by is a pleasure. We got to see a Comodo Dragon as well, creature was free roaming. :)

Advice :
1. Carry mosquito repellents like body lotions etc.
2. Satellite TV is very grainy & Wifi is not strong in the rooms.
3. Your night life is more or less over by 6pm as the last boat from Lakasuka jetty on the main Island to Rebak is around 7pm. After that you will need to pay 200MYR to hire a private boat.

Room Tip: Ones near the main reception or sea facing superior with a sit out/balcony is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 347Karthik77347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing