We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished we had of stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Wished we had of stayed longer”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spent 4 nights here in July before heading to stay on the mainland, but wished we had stayed longer. Lovely and quiet during Ramadam, room was a little dated but very quiet. Great breakfast and the restaurant food was very good as well. Even though it was on the flight path it didn't bother us at all, the planes were louder in Langkawi itself. Happy hour at the beach bar was very reasonable, with the staff being helpful. It's a place to blob so if you want to be kept busy and be entertained stay on Langkawi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    530
    183
    80
    70
See reviews for
616
882
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We went to this resort for honeymoon , and we are glad we picked this place. We had a late arrival to Langkawi, but a ferry was organized for us. The room was sea- facing , and it had a door opening directly to the beach. Room was extremely spacious and clean. Food was quite good too, though a little pricey. The only thing to keep in mind is the ferry service which connects it to the main island ( we had taken a photo of it on our phone). Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Pick a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maahi_prasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The worst thing about this hotel are the rooms (which is the most important aspect).

We took the 76 Sq. meter Deluxe Allure Suite on the ground floor.

We couldn't sleep well throughout our stay as the floors are made of Wood and you can hear people walking on the first floor, in our case the family above had kids and the sound was so high that we kept waking up during the night and early morning :(

All the ground floor rooms are like this so keep this in mind if you decide to stay here.

The quality of Towels is not very good, the property is old as well.

The location is amazing and the staff is friendly. The quality of food is very good as well.

This hotel is on an island and they provide a Boat service from the hotel to the port where you can find Taxis to go to the main city.

Room Tip: Do not select the ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel is situated on it's own island. Transfer from the airport to check-in was well organised. Staff are very friendly and the food is good. Room was a little dated but of a nice standard. Watch out for the mosquitoes though.......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCM1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Pick up from airport - Hotel representative met us at airport and transport to the boat jetty about 10mins away in a minivan satisfactory.
Boat to the island - choppy ride in a boat probably outsourced to third party. Baggage was stored in an uncovered area and got soaking wet in the rain. All our clothes got wet and no responsibility taken by staff. Just shrugged it off and blamed the weather.
Transfer to hotel in electric club car - courteous staff prompt service.
Check in - Room was not ready although we had booked a month in advance. Had to wait over an hour for check in. Staff helpful and polite.
Rooms - we stayed in a two bedroom suite which was spacious and well appointed. Clean. Housekeeping prompt and efficient. Mr Nasrul who was in charge of our house keeping very helpful and always ready to help.
Food - overpriced and very average. Polite and courteous staff at the restaurant.
Activity desk - very helpful. Very practical about what tours could be done as we went during monsoon season. Probably saved us a lot of money. Not trying to push tour packages.
Pool - good
Gym - poor
Beach - not all that great. Clean and well maintained but not as beautiful as the ones on the main island.
Stayed for 2 nights
Checkout - quick and efficient
Boat ride back - baggage got soaked again!!!!!! Waited over half an hour at the jetty as they misplaced our bags. Somebody had unloaded it off the boat and left it in the rain. Clothes got soaked again. Again no explanation.... Staff could not speak English also. Luckily we left early so didn't miss our flight.
Overall experience average
Overpriced
If your planning to stay for honeymoon and stick to resort and not experience local culture guess it's ok. Not suitable if wanting to explore main island and do lots of exploring.
The boat ferry experience and service terrible and needs looking into.
Booked this resort going by the reputation on Taj hotels in India. Sorry to say this place has a long way to go to meet those standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JacobMathewK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed in the taj property for 3 days in the premium temptation suite. Supposedly high end room was huge but the furniture n the room itself is very old to the extent that the room was smelling as though closed for a few years. The rooms are badly constructed and has wooden flooring which is giving way. So when someone walks in the room it feels like a minor tremor. We were in the ground floor n someone moved into the floor above. It was so disturbing when they walked that we requested for a change of room. The new room was better as it did not smell but the flooring leading to the bathroom had come off. Also we travelled with our 6 month old - if you have babies/toddlers avoid this resort. There are lots of insects. My baby woke up the first morning with about 20 bites on her face n hands. Still not completely gone. On request they provided a net for the baby cot n mosquito repellants (they should have provided at the beginning of out stay). Also we are dependent on the hotel ferry which is difficult with babies. The beach is not great either. On the positive side, the staff is very cordial n helpful, check in was a breeze. Food is quite good n lots of options for vegetarians like us. But we found it very easy to find vegetarian food on the mainland as well. So would recommend staying on the mainland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Have travelled, & stayed over 20 yrs in Malaysia. This remote hotel, under the flight path of the airport (with about 1 minute to land), appears at first to be good. But the "Premium Indulgence sea front" room i got certainly was not. Rooms very basic with one chair inside a bed and table, a tv on a cabinet, tiny overheated fridge with hotels drinks to buy inside (it is inside another cupboard) .
First night, with many items on the desk, I awoke finding Air Conditioner had dropped water over my in flight small case, clothes, electrical items, papers, completely soaked. It had run down the wall and a pool of water in the corner! Many rooms have the same problems i heard from others. This is why those walls are a different colour and peeling away, they came to just paint over it again!
Rooms service food OK, but trays rang to collect and left outside, are left mine up to 14 hrs before collection. Even housekeeping staff left the trays from night before.Often food was cold, or wrong orders, and check your bill, which is overcharged often or Communication with the basic staff very awkward as they are Indian, with little grasp of any other language.
I had to move rooms on 3/5 th day, same leaking Air con, and a stained bed, and no toilet roll, when the room had been prepared and checked by one of the Managers. Clearly, poorly run, and rooms are very basic even with e small sitting area looking out to sea with 2 plastic wicker chairs. Only 1 seat inside, No light over desk as no plugs that side at all!
Location appears great but when it rains for days as my trip, most people stay in the rooms, and get bored. Others i spoke to felt the same. Location means a boat out for anything on Langkawi. I would avoid this hotel completely, with sparse rooms , poor service and bad maintenance. Have a camera and some items ruined by this and hotel being very awkward about settling the matter.
Most rooms are away from main facilities, which means walking through the rain. This is the worst stay ever had in Malaysia, and cannot wait to leave, and would have done so.
I advise everyone to stay on The mainland, NOT here.
In Kuala Lumpur you can have a 5 star hotel for less than this price also.
Mosquitos are a problem, but as it rained for 14hrs a day when there, not much problem, but you would need repellents. However, best one is choose a hotel that has better hygiene, well run, not remote, and offers decent value for money. certainly, it is not this one!
Check the front left wall air cons, over the desks in the front left wall. Its peeling away, always flooded yellow, and painted over many times.
Avoid, and stay in far better hotels at a better value, and well run, less isolated, and don't come here, sad to say.

Room Tip: Best not to stay here, but sea front rooms if you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusGB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing