We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort, Fantastic Staff and Beautiful Location. Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Rebak Resort with my partner. Overall the stay was excellent. I had booked a deluxe sea view room which was ideal; very large and roomy with a great bathroom and magnificent views, everything was perfect. The food at the resort was excellent, not cheap by Malay standards for lunch and dinner but of very high quality. The executive chef Kumar ensured of this and kudos to him. The cleanliness of the resort was very good and such an idyllic and romantic setting and ideal for some well earned rest and recuperation.

Apart from Kumar, I would like to mention how friendly the other staff were, Reggie, Michael and Lopez stood out for their friendliness, attentiveness and professionalism, the Rebak management should be very proud of these 4 and I look forward to spending more time with them in the future.

Andi & Nichola

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndiHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2010

Dear Nichola and Andi, Thank you for the review.It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the stay at Rebak Island. I have shared your compliments with Chef Kumar, Lopez, Michael and Reggie.They are our stars of Rebak Island. Best wishes. Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2010

This hotel on an island is perfect for honeymooners. I was there with a friend and we got a lot of strange looks and questions about are we a couple. Everyone - and I mean everyone - there is a couple in love or at honeymoon. Romantic activities, great rooms, over-friendly staff and romantic dinners at the beach.

I don't know if they gave us a poor room because we were young and usually people think they can treat young people however they want, but the first room we got was full of insects, our towels and bedclothes were dirty and the roof was leaking! After complaining we got another room.

The free boat between Rebak Island and the main island of Langkawi travels a 15-minute trip every 2 hours. The last boat leaves Langkawi at 10:30 pm so if you want to experience any nightlife, Rebak Island isn't for you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatarinaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2010

Thank you for your recommendation and review. Our House Keeping Team has been briefed about your feedback and we will look into taking corrective actions at our end. Best wishes. Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

It was an awsum experience to stay at Taj , the rooms are spacious and look really beutiful main thing which i want to mention is the hospitality is just too gud.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachin571109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2010

Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the Hospitality offered during your stay with us. Best wishes. Samir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We stayed one night as i was celebrating my 40th Birthday, we were staying for one month on langkawi so rebak island made my day special.
Anyway...
from arriving at the port we were treated like royalty, we arrived on the island with a warm welcome and taken to our room, the room was all decorated with a cake, balloons and flowers.All the staff are friendly, pool is excellent. There is a small beach.
I agree with some reviews saying the resort just needs a little polish here and there. We were delighted with our stay and would reccommend a stay there, yes it is quiet but that is a plus point, its exclusive.
money...
we booked 4 months in advance on expedia and paid 64.00 a night for 2 with breakfast, the hotel wanted 130.00 a night. for the same.
We took munchies and drinks from the mainland, glad we did because the island is expensive, they do have the monopoly after all.
We ate in the restaurant which was excellent, 5 star food and service, again expensive but very good. Would hghly reccomend a trip to rebak, stay the night though. They have lots of free things to do, tennis, pool table, cycle,kayak. And for 64.00 a night t was worth every penny. We pay more than that for bed and breakfast in Wales!
A great stay

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2010

Thank you for the review. We loved the title of your review. We hope you will return to the Paradise one day. Best wishes, Samir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Perfect, wonderful, super!!! We did not want to leave if it was possible to prolong the vacation. We would come back here again and again. The hotel is located on the island 10 min by jetty from main island which appeared even better than we expected. On the big island it was feeling noisy and dirty. Rebak island is the ideal place for relaxation. There is a good restaurant – for a breakfast and a supper inexpensive and rather hearty buffets. With transfers on the big island we also had no big problems. It is possible to play volleyball, tennis, squash. There is one minus – a beach. The main beach opposite to a lobby and restaurant is small and during outflow represents a pity show. But even this gives the chance for new impressions. It is possible to wander on a shallow and to observe of a life of crabs or to watch huge sea cucumbers. It is possible to take a kayak. In addition, we celebrated new year eve at the hotel. There was a party on a beach with a disco, competitions, gifts and of course with a magnificent banquet. As a result – I recommend this resort for 100 percent. This is ideal vacation spot for the big family and for a honeymoon.
P.S. we would like to pass our best regards to our housekeeping gentleman – Hasan, he was always helpful and made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuprasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2010

Thank you for your compliments. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the New Year eve with us. Your appreciations have been shared with Chef and Hassan. Wish you a prosperous 2010. Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We loved the relaxing atmosphere, the staff service was wonderful and my 8 year old loved the pool. There were other kids around as well for him to play with. We easily, when we wanted to, did day trips to Langkawi but were always happy to return to life at Rebak. The posted ferry service runs throughout the day/early evening however there are unposted times you can return from langkawi later in the evening if you just ask. We didn't find it limiting to have to take the ferry to Langkawi. The beach was exactly what I was looking for-not many people, clean and very peaceful. The room was a seaview villa (highly recommend the seaview) and was lovely. The bathroom was huge/modern etc.... If you are looking for a relaxing peaceful experience away from it all this is the place. We debated staying on Langkawi or go to Rebak and were so glad we chose to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2010

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to learn that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you will keep us in mind for your future holidays to Langkawi. Best wishes. Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This is the ideal place to go if you want a quiet, peaceful and pampered holiday. The rooms are simply fabulous they have all the modern amenities. I would highly recommend a beach facing room. You can relax by the pool or on the beach all day. The staff makes sure you are well looked after and of course the food and drink is great. The bar is lovely in the evenings. The buffet breakfast is sumptuous and every evening there is also a buffet dinner available apart from the ala-carte menu. There is a lovely walk around the island for exercise freaks. Langkawi is a duty free island so remember the booze, chocolates and cigarettes are much cheaper.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi33India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2010

Thank you for your review. We are hoping that you are planning your next visit to Rebak Island. Best wishes. Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,265 reviews
14 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
2.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: £93 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing