We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that I wanted on my honeymoon!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“All that I wanted on my honeymoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

Totally awesome place!Great staff!Amazing for vegetarian Indians!Dont miss the romantic dinner on the beach!Unbeatable location and world class service!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AratiRaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this review, 9 February 2010
Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your Honeymoon at Rebak Island. We have shared your compliments with our Chef. Look forward to seeing you for your anniversary at Rebak Island. Best wishes. Samir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    527
    179
    77
    68
See reviews for
605
870
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore;india
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

taj as always delighted me and my wife with amasing servcie quality. every person you meet here displays the unparallel servcice sytandrads. rebak taj is located in beautiful pvt island REbak. the movment u reach Taj u will understand this place is quite famous with sailors.

i stayed i delux sea facing room, must say rooms are spacious and luxurious. activites advised by the hotel are worth trying as they are best in town ..... we went for water sports, magroove tour, and snorkekking tour,,, taj outsourced this activites to local tour operators must say they where through proffesional and made sure our money is worth spending...

what makes taj different from others is thier service standards. every one make sure u have a memorable time. though i know it wont be fair to thank any one in particular but i must mention following people whom we thought we must mention as they where better than best.
lobby mgr Mr lopez, our friend in bar Adi, chef micheal, or house keeping man cant recolloect his name....,,,, al the interns they where really sweet and highly motivated.......

while breakfast offered can be better, in house spa is not recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

Lovely island and spacious accomodation but lack of activites on the isalnd so u have to take the free ferry back to the main island (where you then had to take a taxi as the jetty is the in the middle of no-where) The last service to get back was around 7pm.

We had a few problems with the room, mainly as it seemed there was a limited number of electrical devices that could be used at any one time, so we had to keep calling the electrician to swtich between the TV and kettle. Room service for ice was also very slow.

They had free cycles for use but most were in poor cponditions, the brakes were dodgy and they only had a single gear, the seats also dodn't adjust but as the resort is so small, you could cycle around in 10 mins.

The swimming pool was large, but it was nenxt to ehbeatiful sand beach ... so spoilt for choice. The staff was very helpful and freindly. A romanitic getaway for couples but too quite if travelling alone.

The only other gripe is the restaurant food was at best, average but the prices were extremely high, esp for malaysia. All itmes were 5-10 times the price the local price on the mainland. That was the onloy place you could eat so book HB otherwise you'll be stung at the end of your stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbandivaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

this is a great hotel the staff are friendly and the room we had was big, comfortable and had sea views . the breakfast was one of the best i have had at any resort, lots of options and all fresh and hot . the one problem i had with the resort is having to plan ur day around the ferry service to the mainland it goes at irregular times and we found ourselves waiting for the ferry quite a lot which wasted our time. if you just want to relax on the island at the resort this would be great but all the nice restaurants and things to do are on the mainland . you can book your activities from the resort but everything is 2 to 3 times the price. the resort offered us the island hopping tour they charge $75 per person we paid $25 on the mainland and we were on the same tour as other people at the resort. it was the same with food , it was a very nice restaurant at the resort but there were lots of awesome restaurants on the mainland that were 2 to 3 times cheaper . if you were to stay at the resort i would recommend hiring a car on the mainland and parking it at the marina as the taxi charge you 20r for a lift in to town and a car only costed 75r ($20aud) a day . we would have been better off staying at the pelangi beach resort where i stayed a few years back it is a much better position and just as good resort if not better

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micklance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Rebak Resort with my partner. Overall the stay was excellent. I had booked a deluxe sea view room which was ideal; very large and roomy with a great bathroom and magnificent views, everything was perfect. The food at the resort was excellent, not cheap by Malay standards for lunch and dinner but of very high quality. The executive chef Kumar ensured of this and kudos to him. The cleanliness of the resort was very good and such an idyllic and romantic setting and ideal for some well earned rest and recuperation.

Apart from Kumar, I would like to mention how friendly the other staff were, Reggie, Michael and Lopez stood out for their friendliness, attentiveness and professionalism, the Rebak management should be very proud of these 4 and I look forward to spending more time with them in the future.

Andi & Nichola

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Dear Nichola and Andi, Thank you for the review.It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the stay at Rebak Island. I have shared your compliments with Chef Kumar, Lopez, Michael and Reggie.They are our stars of Rebak Island. Best wishes. Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

This hotel on an island is perfect for honeymooners. I was there with a friend and we got a lot of strange looks and questions about are we a couple. Everyone - and I mean everyone - there is a couple in love or at honeymoon. Romantic activities, great rooms, over-friendly staff and romantic dinners at the beach.

I don't know if they gave us a poor room because we were young and usually people think they can treat young people however they want, but the first room we got was full of insects, our towels and bedclothes were dirty and the roof was leaking! After complaining we got another room.

The free boat between Rebak Island and the main island of Langkawi travels a 15-minute trip every 2 hours. The last boat leaves Langkawi at 10:30 pm so if you want to experience any nightlife, Rebak Island isn't for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatarinaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this review, 24 January 2010
Thank you for your recommendation and review. Our House Keeping Team has been briefed about your feedback and we will look into taking corrective actions at our end. Best wishes. Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydrebad
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

It was an awsum experience to stay at Taj , the rooms are spacious and look really beutiful main thing which i want to mention is the hospitality is just too gud.

  • Liked — the scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachin571109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this review, 24 January 2010
Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the Hospitality offered during your stay with us. Best wishes. Samir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.2 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.7 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems and Odigeo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing