We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing boutique resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing boutique resort”
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We stayed 3 days at Rebak Island resort in Feb 2010. We had an upstairs beachfront room which was huge with king-size bed. Well worth paying the extra for the beachfront.

The service from all the staff was exceptional and the hotel seems to be well managed by the Taj group. We had previously stayed 3 days on the main Langkawi island and rented a car and did the island easily in that 3 days, so when we went to Rebak we were there to just relax and didn't leave the island during our stay. We thought this was a good way to organise our 6 days at Langkowi. There is a free boat to Langkawi, but when you get to the other side you need to have organised a taxi or other transport to get you to where you want to go.

The food at Rebak was well priced, well cooked and plenty of choice and we would see no reason to want to go off Rebak Island for meals.

We would love to return one day and highly recommend this small boutique resort on it's own private island.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wottoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    541
    183
    81
    70
See reviews for
633
895
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dehradun
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We went on our honeymoon for 14 days out of which we were in taj for 4 days the experience was excelent every thing was perfect
from the starting to the end thomas was there to recive us at the reception he helped us in all the ways the staff was the best i have ever seen .They greeted us whenever they saw saw us all were good but the few I remembered was charlie the cart driver All the nepali student who were there for there training the were beter than the profesinals in this trade. I also do remember chef Dinesh the man behind making our lankawi trip the best part of our honey moon. He cooked so well that we ate all our meals in the hotel it self we have never had such tastful food in india itself better than the bukhara . The only thing is that you have to tell the chief what is your taste being a vegitarian I enjoyed the food. one thing more dont see the menu the chief is so good that he is ready to make everything. The excursion trip organised by the hotel were beyond the mark. they were professionaly handled
I checked the prise the max diff was 10 % to 15% but you are assured for what you paying
Things not to be missed
Private romantic diner at Taj
Sunset dinner cruise organised by hotel
Mangrove tour organised by hotel
THE BEST HOLIDAY I EVER HAD

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — small beach
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunangadsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Me and my wife simply loved this place from the first view. It is a great location, our room was a king with the sea view, and it was wonderful. The resort has a great facilities, and we thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the bar at the beach. What made our trip truly memorable is the service and warmth of the staff. We were delighted with the vegetarian option throughout our stay, thank you guys!! can't wait to come back.

All in all a great place and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Great ambience and staff service
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AshKothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My partner and I had a great experience at Rebak Island Resort recently. We wanted to go somewhere nice to relax for a few days and had 3 days here. We booked a transfer from the airport and were greeted on time and with excellent customer service. We arrived at the resort at 9.30am (although check up isn't until 2pm), I had emailed in advance to see if we could store our bags and use the pool etc until we could check in, but they had arranged for us to get into our room early so we had it as soon as we arrived - and as we had just spent the whole night in KL airport with very little sleep - this was MUCH appreciated! We also got a welcome drink.
The customer service was probably the best I have ever had - they were just great, Lopez on the main desk was fantastic, and Leo the waiter wonderful. Staff greeted us by name constantly. The pool and beach were great and we managed to spot the resident HUGE monitor lizard! The food was really good and the buffet breakfast great.
I would strongly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to go somewhere to relax!
Also, if you want to get off the Island for more resturants, activities, beaches - this is easy to do and just a cheap boat ride then short taxi ride.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwigirlHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, responded to this review, 27 February 2010
Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes. Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My husband and me chose the Taj @ Rebak Island for our Honeymoon ... It was a mutual choice as we were floored simply by the pictures that we saw online ... !

http://www.tajhotels.com/Leisure/Rebak%20Island%20Resort%20Langkawi%20-%20A%20Taj%20Hotel,LANGKAWI/default.htm

From the port to the ferry to the hotel to the room, everything was super quick and perfect because of the hospital staff. We received an amazingly warm welcome at the reception by the manager (personally).

After our visit to KualaLumpur and Genting, prior to reaching Langkawi, we literally starved as we are hard core fan of Indian food and the Taj @ Rebak made us hog like crazy ... Do try out the paneer ... !

We had a sea view room and from morning till noon till eve till night, the sea kept changing and looked beautiful.

The manager (Raghu), the bar-tender (Zoe), the tuk-tuk rider, the live band performers --- they all made our stay as if we were home !

The entire hotel staff has a SMILE on their face and willing to help about anything n everything 24 x 7

The beach is simply not to be missed ... !!!

We simply are in LOVE with the Taj @ Rebak :-)

The stay there did make our Honeymoon special ... ;-)

Stayed April 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank UshaSenapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We were very fortunate to stay for 3 nights in August 2009 (Deluxe Sea View). It is probably to date the best we have stayed. The price per night is value for money. Through out our stay, we enjoyed the hospitality of the staff which was very parallel to Malaysian kindness in general. The breakfast was good and so was the lunch/dinner buffet.

They have several in resort activities such as kayak and other games. DVD library may come to help but to our experience it was all occupied the ones left were a bit tad boring. Maybe they could improve on movie library. The rooms lacked any Wifi. TV Channels are good for night time movies.

If any one is rethinking the resort due to its location on a private island, do not worry. It was one of my concern when I booked but I took the risk and I must say I was happy I did. The 15 mins boat ride was quite joyous. It was fun daily the out to Langkawi Island and in the evening back. Sometimes we had to go through the rough seas but it was fun. If you are an adventurous couple, GO FOR IT. They have car parking as well at the dock.

The staff from hotel pick up to front desk to room cleaning to restaurants to janitors - they all express quality... Good one Taj.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazmohad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Located on a small highland by Langkawi, teh Rebak hotel is ideal to relax. The hotel is charming and the staff cannot do enough for you. The villas are very well maintained and each appartment is huge. The rooms are being serviced twice a day.
You can either stay at the infinity pool facing the ocean or on their private beach. They offer loads of activities free or paying so you cannot get bored.
Regular ferries are provided to Langkawi if you need a bit of tourist attractions.
My husbad and I stayed there for 4 days and it was the best part of our stay!
Very good value for money, within this quality range.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing