We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pondok Keladi Guest House
Ranked #7 of 159 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stay in July 2013 on Pondok Keladi for 10 Nights, and it was so beatyfull. Rosidi and Marc are very good hosts. Pantai Cenang an Tengah are not so far, so you can walk. The rooms are very clean, and the fridge is a big bonus. When its raining in the night, the frogs on the trees are a litle bit noizy, but thats the sound of jungle, we like it. It was our honeymoon, and it was very great :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Our fourth visit in April to Langkawi doe the past 3 years. We usually stay 2 weeks at a time but last April was only for one. Dined at all our fav restaurants namely Coco's Bistro ( which I gather will move to a new premises soon), Red Tomato for its superb salads, Indian treats at Tulsi Gardens and splendid local fare at Sheela's. We stayed at Pondok Keladi yet again. Dee and Marc have become good friends since our first visit. The delightful duo are always there to help you making your stay a memorable one. We love Pondok and its canine family and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weatherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for just under two weeks and loved every minute. It is very close to Pantai Cenang, but far enough to be very peaceful. The owner was very friendly and helpful especially when we needed to book excursions and activities. The location is very rural with stunning scenery and wildlife.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Bock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I travelled in 2011 and forgot to review Pondok Keladi, to which it thoroughly deserves all the credit possible.
The two gents who run this place are in my opinion, the nicest of any people. In particular Rosidi was extra helpful and you can appreciate that he takes pride in the place.
Some may feel initially overwhelmed when they rock up and have such a personal introduction 'Help yourself to last night's food, there was just too much!!!' but this was just an honest reflection of Rosidi's character.
If you expect to be left alone like a usual hotel - this simply will not happen! The rooms front on to an open seating area and you can expect to socialise with guests or the property owners about your travels while you sit down to relax. I found this a very unique, humbling experience.
I thoroughly recommend you stay here for your stay in Langkawi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC_0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had been travelling for a month with our two kids of 2 & 1/2y & 6m and were really looking forward to getting here, specially knowing we could finally cook what our child likes. As soon as we got there we felt very unwelcome by the owner who told us we should have said we had children. We never do as we sleep altogether and never had any problems. He even started saying that it wasn't safe for our children because their dogs bark at children and also at night if they hear crying... (I have read in other reviews that they bark all night long without the help of crying babies...) There were a couple of dogs around that didn't bark at all at the children... But it looks like tha bad ones were out. He started looking for other places for us and the best he could do was splitted nights at two different places more expensive. Not a chance to our family and even putting excuses saying he worried for our children and said he really liked children!! Far away, I would add to that. We booked through their web directly where it doesn't say that children are not allowed. This is something you should advertise on the web to prevent other families.

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank tucomadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A great find, a rustic guest house set back in the jungle away from the noisy beach side commercial strip, yet close enough to be a 10 minute walk away from beach, bars and cafes of Pantai Cenang. Pondok Keladi is a comfortable retreat suitable for couples, backpackers and families. There is plenty to see and do in the surrounding area including offshore islands, water sports and jungle treks, or you can visit the towns anx resorts on the island, or just relax and read a book in the common area or tropical gardens. Di is a marvellous host and encourages his guests to socialise, but it's up to you. He has lots of contacts and can arrange tours and hire, bikes, cars etc. My wife and l had a great stay at Pondok Keladi and highly recommend it, we will go back there again.

Room Tip: A choice of only 6 biju but comfortable rooms. No swimming pool. May be included in future plans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roy_manchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Best decision I made on my short trip to Malaysia with my partner. It's perfect if you want a quiet place to get away from it all and to be surrounded by nature. The rooms are simple but clean and spacious, and it won't burn a hole in your wallet. Rosidi, the owner, was very helpful and kind and the atmosphere was very comfortable. There was no pressure or stress, and time slowed down and we could put up our feet, relax and listen to the monkeys play in the trees. I definitely recommend this place. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnitzelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
6.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#2 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Keladi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Keladi Guest House

Address: Lot 1011 | Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £19 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pondok Keladi Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing