We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best stay in Langkawi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pondok Keladi Guest House
Ranked #7 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limbach-Oberfrohna
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best stay in Langkawi”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

stayed here with my husband for about 2 weeks in July 2013.
Great locaction, great rooms & most friendly hosts ever!
would definetly recommend it to my friends and got there again if I ever get a chance ....

*maxi*

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    36
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
124
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pondok Keladi was brilliant. We stayed there for 6 nights all in all and were so glad that we did.

You're a 15-20 minute walk from Cenang, which has lots of great places to eat and beach bars with sunset views and cheap beers. Arguably the best part of Langkawi to spend your evenings. You can get a taxi back to Pondok Keladi for around 10RM at night, or walk back down a short dirt road which is perfectly safe. Once you know how to find the place it's very easy.

The rooms were regularly cleaned and free of the usual bugs that you expect in that part of the world. Having the kitchen on hand was great and the outdoor seating area is a perfect spot in the hot afternoons to relax. There's a lot of wildlife around - monkeys in the trees (not the annoying type), lizards here and there and three friendly dogs.

Dee and Mark were excellent hosts, showing us around the local area, renting us their spare car and generally giving us tips on where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner Dee. I was originally booked in for three nights but within half an hour had decided to stay as long as I could which was 5 nights. The room was just lovely as was the outside kitchen fully stocked with eggs, bread, tea, coffee, all available 24/7.
I hired a scooter and had a great time but the beach is only a ten minute walk away if you don't have transport. Wherever you stay I would suggest you do though as the island has lots to see.
I came here as a solo traveller and made friends from France, NYC and Malaysia. All of this because Dee works hard to make this a very laid back friendly environment, he is also a font of information. I will be returning without doubt, but with many friends in tow. Thank you Dee.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank krush69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Lovely place, very quiet and relaxed and backed onto the jungle so there were great opportunities for walks and wildlife spotting. Facilities are basic but good and Di the owner was very friendly and welcoming. The location great, off the beaten track but also a short drive from the beach and restaurants at Pantai Cenang. All in all a lovely place and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our way to Koh Lipe. The place itself is absolutely in perfect condition, it is clean, fresh and quiet. Simply rent a motorbike and you are in the center of the action within 5 minutes. The owners are super friendly and we enjoyed the "open kitchen" concept very much. Coming back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Pondok Keladi for three nights. The owner was friendly and helpfull. We had some mixed feelings about the location, on one hand it is very quiet and secluded, far away from the commercial cenang beach. There is a lot of space to hang around in the evening and read a book, very relaxing. On the other hand, it is quite a walk from the beach and most of the restaurants. The room and bathroom were basic but OK. What I think could have been better, is the open kitchen, it is well equiped but really too dirty.
Overall, a good and quiet stay in Langkawi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lautrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our family of four (with two teenage boys) stayed for three nights on our way to the UK from NZ. Once we found the guesthouse down an unmarked track, it was the perfect place to stay. As another reviewer noted, it's not the place to stay if you want a pool, beach and party atmosphere. Similarly, it's not a place for young families. But, if you need somewhere to stop and pause for a while, then this is the place.

The rooms are spacious and airconditioned. I didn't mind sharing the bathroom with our resident frog or the kitchen with the geckos (check out the big gecko that hides behind the fridge!). Fo those that like a lie-in, the call to prayer from the local mosque at 6am is an early alarm call, but part of the local atmosphere.

Di is a great host and does those little things that turn a nice place to stay into a homely experience that makes you want to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
418 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Keladi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Keladi Guest House

Property: Pondok Keladi Guest House
Address: Lot 1011 | Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pondok Keladi Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing