We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 nights August 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“4 nights August 2012”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this resort and found the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the rooms over the water which we found very clean and comfortable. However check when booking your room if you plan to stay 2012, as our room faced a new Hotel construction site. We asked to be moved to a room that overlooked the sea as soon as one was available which was much better. Please also note that the restaurant area is Halal, so you are only able to consume alcohol
outside of the restaurant and lobby area. We also found the choice of alcohol very limited - didn't even have Tonic for a G&T, which was a little frustrating. The exterior & interior of the lobby etc is in need of an upgrade soon as looking a little tired.Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the water facing out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    175
    112
    80
    70
See reviews for
119
229
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had stayed there for a couple of days last week and had a wonderful experience at this resort. It is along the Langkawi Lagoon, a <10 min drive from the airport. The resort looks scenic during the high tides, especially the sea village. The low tides however spoil its entire look and makes the beach inaccessible for any activities.

The resort has 2 types of accommodations - Beach Front Rooms and Sea Village Rooms. We went for the sea village rooms, which were a little expensive, but were well worth the money. For both the accommodations, make sure you get the ones facing the sea. The room was spacious and comfortable, and gave us a picturesque view of the lagoon. On the cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms, even though the rooms were cleaned everyday and was something we could live with, we felt them not upto the standards. There were doors, curtains, taps not working or outdated.

The service was pretty good as well, with all of the staff polite and courteous. The breakfast at the Anjung Brasserie restaurant was excellent and we loved it. And the dinner at the Layalie Al-Syam Arabic Restaurant was a total let down for us.

If you are taking a morning flight to Langkawi, one thing you might want to watchout for is that the hotel's checkin time is 3PM, which wouldn't be comfortable.

Overall, I would say, if you just want to relax sitting in your balcony with a drink in your hand, get a sea village room with a good view. Its well worth it.

Room Tip: Sea Village Rooms are good. Make sure you get the ones with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Stay there 2 night in August with my mother, I book the hotel 3-4 months in advance for a TWIN ROOM and ask for early check in about 12pm as we arrived at Langkawi at 11am, got to the hotel waited 20 mins at the reception and to be told the room wont be ready until 3pm despite asking for early check in couple time! When I got the room key went upstairs to see a big double bed, went back down reception and tell them I booked a Twin room the girl at reception goes " your agent didn't ask us for twin room" what agent? I booked direct with the hotel, I showed her my booking paper and it's clearly show twin room on it. She said she will send someone to fix it, after 1 hours lady come up with bed cloths, and she was about to set the sofa in the corner as a bed for me , rang reception same girl answer and goes " oh sir you want another bed" hello I paid 120€ a night am not gonna sleep on a sofa! Else everything is great, lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vimal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This was our first time in Langkawi and we stayed at this resort for 11 nights. The location is very good and we rented a car for the duration our our stay which I highly recommend since it is very easy to get around and works out cheaper in the end than taking a taxi if you intend to visit most of the area on your own. The resort is very nice although it is beginning to show signs of aging and could use a bit more upkeeping but that is not uncommon with resorts in such a humid climate. I have seen worse elsewhere. We had a sea view room in the main building and apart from some water than came in when there was heavy rain and an old 19 inch TV, it met our expectations. We had the breakfast buffet everyday and the choice is excellent. We also had the dinner buffet on a couple of occasions and it was also very good. The only letdown is the beach but Cenang beach is only 10 minutes away so it is not a huge issue but the advertising should give a better description of the beach. The staff is super nice and certainly deserve 5 stars. We visited other hotels during our stay and this one came up on top every time. Good value for money and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay for the extra for a view room. It os worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinPowers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Arrived late and was welcomed with a refreshing cocktail.
You will need a 200 riggits as a security.
The room was spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast is a mixture of western and halal foods(beef bacon and chicken sausages). Made to order omelettes were great.
We had a great time there.

Room Tip: The resort is a long way from the towns but car rentals are cheap (250 rgs for 4 days) and easy to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevebargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Boldon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

stayed at this hotel last week and it was everything you would expect from a beachside property on Langkawi. We actually stayed in the Sea Village (wooden houses on stilts in the sea).
The property was more like an apartment with crisp white linen, traditional wooden furniure and a fully marbled bathroom and huge walk in shower.
Around the vicinity of the property there was very little going on, but a taxi to Patai Cenang only cost 18 Ringgits (£3.60) and it took approx 10 mins to get to all the restaurants of which there was loads to suit every taste possible. Prices range from £3.50 per head for a pizza and beer was approx £1.25 and soft drinks less than £1.00.
The choice of breakfast at the hotel was very good, but the bread and butter pudding and pasta for breakast was a new one on me, but there was everything else you would expect, cereal, fruit, toast, pancakes, waffles, eggs, omlettes, beef bacon and chicken sausages (no pork as halal only).
The restaurant is also nice and serves a la carte rather than buffet style evening meals, these were certainly alot more expensive than in town, but for a nice meal for two with desserts it would cost c£25, no alcohol in the restaurant, but there is a separate lounge bar whcih serves it at the hotel.
Trips and car hire more expensive through the hotel, but every trip you can imagine can be booked at the numerous travel agents in Patai Cenang at about 60% of the hotel price.
Cars can be hired at the airport which again is a 5 minute taxi ride and costs 12 Ringitts (£2.50). Although, hotel very near airport, you wouldn't notice as hardly any flights go from there or land.
Overall, i would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate going back. Staff very helpful and friendly and the setting is just idyllic for the price you pay.
We paid £68 per night through Agoda for a studio at the Sea Village part of the hotel. There are of course rooms in the main hotel buiding, but for something a bit different and amazing views of the sunset opt for the Sea Village.

Room Tip: Ask for room 571 in the Sea Village, its at the end of the jetty and offers unobstructed sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatieLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

this hotel was recommended by many on the internet, but when we arrived we found out the following:
very nice rooms, luxurious and nicely designed.
very nice breakfast that suits all tastes.
very nice look for the entire hotel, colored blocks.
the cottages on the sea looked wonderful, its a village by it self, but did not stay in one.
pool is small and not deep,no air conditioning anywhere although the weather was too hot and that made us feel so bad, high humidity there in September.
the biggest Shock was the beach! it looked very nice, when we entered the water we just started to sink in the sands!! we couldn't swim in the beach at all it was terrible they should notify people about this!!! can't imagine they don't!!!
if you are looking to swim in a private beach, this is not an option.
not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FreeSyrianLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.5 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.0 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.9 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
3.7 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langkawi Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Property: Langkawi Lagoon Resort
Address: Lot 78 Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#20 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langkawi Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langkawi Lagoon Resort, conveniently located just 3 km or approximately 5 minutes drive from the Langkawi International Airport and Mahsuri International Exhibition Centre, offers remarkable views of the ocean and the rolling hills nearby. The resort features two types of accommodations: beach front hotel suites and sea village. Beach front hotel suites consist of 86 units of sea and hill view rooms/suites. Spacious rooms ranging from 36 sqm to 63 sqm with full room amenities, chaise lounge (pangkin) and kitchenette facilities are available. The 76 units of our Sea Village are built on stilts with typical Malay architectural design consisting of studio suites, family sea duplex and a presidential suite. Each unit comes with private balcony, kitchenette facilities and full room amenities. They are built within a sanctuary of calm waters protected from the open sea by a breakwater. The resort offers luxurious facilities such as beachfront swimming pool with Jacuzzi and sunken bar, gymnasium, sauna and steam rooms, meeting and function rooms, guest service centre and an Embun Spa. Full range of land and sea activities can be arranged for all guests. For your dining and entertainment, the resort offers a choice of meal selections from local and international cuisines and beverages at the Anjung Brasserie, Layalie Al-Syam Restaurant (Arabic specialty restaurant) and Mentari Lounge. There is always a little something for everyone to take home as a souvenir from our duty free gift corner. All in all, this premier international resort offers a serene environment and a totally different holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langkawi Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Lagoon Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing