We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kondo Istana Langkawi
Ranked #82 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
385 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

very good condo apartments. close to amenities. nice pool. ok gym. no restaurant. spacious room with basic kitchen facility. ltd reception. cleaning could be better.

Room Tip: higher floor for gud views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Just back recently from a 6 nites trip to Langkawi so I think I shared my experiences here. Stay all nites here. My initial impression of this condominium is a very run down place and obviously it has not been maintained for a long time by looking at its exterior.

The reception area is one of the worse I seen so far and the furniture is something the management really have to change fast.

Surprisingly the inside is good. We booked 2 apartments. The apartment is just like a 100 sqm 4 room HDB flat in S'pore(3 rooms and 2 bathrooms) with workable air-conditioning and heater.

It has a small swimming pool and a gym but the gym is closed at all times. The coffee house on the first floor is also closed down. It only has 2 lifts to serve all the pp so it does get crowded at certain times

The location is at Kuah Town and it is easily accessible to shopping centres and food stalls.

So this condo is actually for big groups of pp and value for money.

It really helps that u rent a car to travel around Langkawi.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pagodalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I booked an apartment at Kondo Istana for a holiday earlier this month. When we arrived, we found the premises in a terrible state.

1. THERE IS A PERMANENT INJUNCTION OBTAINED IN THE ALOR SETAR HIGH COURT BARRING THE OPERATION OF SERVICED APARTMENTS FROM THE CONDOMINIUM.
2. The lobby, lift and common areas are dirty and poorly maintained. The lift furnishings were torn and scratched.
3. The flat smelled like it was fumigated not long before we arrived.
4. The cushion covers in the living room had terrible stains on them.
5. There was hair on the sink and a dirty sponge in an old bowl.
6. Only plates, bowls and cups and kettle were available, no cooking utensils.
7. The sheets were old and worn, looked like they hadn't been used for a long time.
8. The air conditioning units weren't working and in the bedroom, the air conditioning control was missing.
9. In the bathroom, there was a crack in the bathtub, the toilet bowl was dirty and dirt on the bathroom floor.
10. The staff were not bothered about us. We had to look for them when we arrived. They weren't bothered and showed us an alternative flat in an equally bad state.

The injunction meant people could not use the units without the risk of being in contempt of court themselves. We left immediately.

ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mw1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

my rate for this hotel: the most worst and terrible hotel in kuah town i guess.it is a serviced apartment and terribly managed by a management corporation.the entrance was so dull with some rotten chairs in the lobby, the lobby floor are dirty and the reception was incharged by some security guards..highly recommended to avoid this hotel....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vanan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This apartment is only suitable for family size travellers. It has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a small kitchen and living room. The lobby of the apartment is not fantasy which look dirty with old furniture. The view from the apartment is also not fantasy. However, the room is basically acceptable with basic furniture. The location is very convenient for those who would like to go shopping in duty free shop or eating in nearby restaurant. There are gym centre, a small swimming pool and restaurant in the apartment but nobdy is using the facilties. So, as a conclusion, good location and reasonable price for family or friends but would not recommend it to couples or solo.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teikhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Taking a taxi from the harbor, driving up to a magnificent looking building. The first room we saw was not yet cleaned from the previous tenants. There was water coming from the roof in the bathroom from the room upstairs. We asked to see another room and we got the keys to a bigger room. Spacious. With a view of the mountain. Green and at night with a cloud hanging on top. Nice living room. Two bathrooms. Nice kitchen with fridge. Living room also large with dining table. Aircon.
The gym was old and delapidated and the carpet had not been cleaned in years. The equipment had also not been used in years because it didn't work. The swimming pool was small and the water was dirty. Screaming children the whole time in the pool so you could not swim.

The breakfast area was nice but the staff didn't care if there was any food or not. They just said finished and pointed to some old toasters so you get put some margarine on some sweet tasting bread and the put some marmelade on top.

All we wanted was some rice. But that seemed to be too much of a problem. The front desk cared very little about anything except their computer screens behind the counter. They were not exactly rude but they were not polite either.

Still for the price and the spacious room with a view. And the close proximity to the town of Kuah where you could eat well and buy things to put in the fridge. Yes, we would go back.

Room Tip: Look at the room and if you don't like it, ask to see another. Keep asking until you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RalSan1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Kondo Istana location is very near to Kuah. If you want to go for shopping duty fee product like Choc, Kitchenware, Booze, Ciggs, this apartment is the best place. It is very near to Haji Ismail Group (HIG), Langkawi Saga, and also Idaman Suri. Very ideal for families since there are 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and also kitchen...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank azrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#60 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort
1.5 mi away
Simfoni Resort
Simfoni Resort
#84 of 137 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
HIG Hotel
HIG Hotel
#1 of 30 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondo Istana Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondo Istana Langkawi

Property: Kondo Istana Langkawi
Address: Lot 575 Jalan Penarak | Kampung Padang Lalang, Mukin Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kondo Istana Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Kondo Istana Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondo Istana Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing