We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM, Clean and spacious”
Review of Zackry Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zackry Guest House
Ranked #4 of 159 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were three ladies staying at Zackry's hence we got out own room with three beds. Air conditioning was not sufficient for the entire room but on the plus side we did get our own bathroom with hot water.

The place is extremely clean and the room was spacious. They do not serve food but you can get your own supplies and keep them in the common refrigerator. They had free coffee and tea and clean water (hot and cold) to drink.

Alcohol from outside is not allowed and if you do get it, they charge you for corkage. They have beers for a good price though.

All in all an amazing place to stay and I would definitely go back here!

Room Tip: Book in advance as not all the rooms have air con.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Zackry Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

It was a really nice hostel, near to the beach. They have swimming pool, a lovely common room, and many animals (dogs, ducks, geccos...) We liked to be there, it was a piece of paradise, and it was really cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Staff was very friendly but should decide if they want to run a music venue or a hostel. Live band started playing around 12am about 10 feet from our window after we had been biking all day. Our double bed had only two single sheets, that is two sheets that cover only one person. Other than that it was pretty standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unconomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

We are youth hostel and it clearly shown in all our booking websites.
That night one of the guest had a birthday party and most of our guests (obviously except pax) had thrown out birthday party for her and invited a band to come.
The sheet we use is standard size for one person hence 2 persons in double room get 2 single sheets - as mention by pax. The size is standard size for travel sheet that you get from the shop in your country. Mind you, this is a hostel. Obviously we will endeavor to make all guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We wish we could provide all our guests with high thread-count bed linens, over-sized, plush bath towels and feather beads, but please remember we are offer basic place at an affordable cost, which is why you chose to spend your money here at the first place. a budget hostel. Five-star service comes with a five-star price. Price does not lie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you want to meet other back packers and have a good party time then this is the place for you. Good trips organised by owners. Rooms a bit basic and main bar area could do with a good clean up. Beach and restaurants nearby but main resort 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian_kuyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent value on Langkawi with small, yet functional rooms - we had a.c. which helped a lot! The best part of staying at Zackry is the common area in which you can meet, socialise, cook or drain the cheap bar. Encouraged by their resident social secretary, Sam, we certainly got to meet our fellow guests and enjoy a few late evenings. The beach is a short walk away and Cenang is a longer 20 minute walk but not too far that you feel that you are missing out. The wifi here has been one of the fastest and most reliable we've had in any hotel in our eight months travelling so far.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stufnotstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for about a week and didn't have too many complaints. Our double room was comfortable. The bathroom wasn't completely clean, but it was absolutely fine for a hostel. The atmosphere was pretty solid, with a big common room and plenty of travelers swapping stories and enjoying each other's company. The dogs running around the property are a nice touch, too. The fellow who basically runs the place, Sam, is welcoming and likes to make everyone feel like family. A bunch of us helped make dinner one night, which was wonderful.

One thing we did not particularly enjoy was a fishing trip organized by Sam. He was the only one with an actual rod, while the rest of us had hand reels. There was a cooler of beer on the boat, but we found out after the trip that the beers were not included in our initial fee. He's a friendly enough guy, but occasionally a bit shady.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjcgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

The fishing boat trip was so cheap as guests shared the cost of rental boat and petrol. We do realize that reviewer of course did not have any fishing experience to that hence he did not realize the cost of a proper fishing rod that well much more than what he paid for the trip. Learning from the lesson of the number amateur fishermen joining this trip we cannot afford to provide certain expensive items to be used. About the beer, it is common sense that with that price the alcoholic beverage will not inclusive in the price. We are running a trip to make the cost of the guests as cheap as possible but does not mean we are going to subsidize the beer consumption of guests aka doing charity. Mind you, the petrol is cheaper by half than the beer. Even the boat trip (by other operators) that costs 4 times than this fishing trip does not include alcoholic consumption.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great place! Good rooms if you dont expect to much. The shower and ac work. Theres a small bar within the hostel where you can grab beers and other drinks for 3 ringit, and there is wifi. The owner is a nice guy, he likes joining you conversations, but should mind his own business more. The location is good, although there are placez closer to the main street whereall the beach clubs, bars, shops, and restaurants are. We were there with 10 people and had a great time.

There a scooter rental nearby, definitely recommend renting some scooters and cruize across the whole island.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rutger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
0.1 mi away
T Star Cottage
T Star Cottage
#15 of 161 in Langkawi
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zackry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zackry Guest House

Address: Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £10 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zackry Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house located on the same street of 3 to 4 star resorts. The white sandy 500meters beach is just 200 meters away. It has a common kitchen for light cooking, bar/lounge, satellite TV, internet services. Many choices of restaurants next door and along the same road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zackry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zackry Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing