We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun.”
Review of Zackry Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zackry Guest House
Ranked #4 of 145 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great fun.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Clean guesthouse, friendly staff and good location, close to the beach, restaurants, exchange shops and rent a car places. If the weather is not the best, you can always hang out in the dinning room and chat with other travellers or Sam ;)

Deffinitely a good place to stay in Langkawi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeylaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    83
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
8
103
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I'm not sure how many other true hostels there are on Langkawi - but Zackry's emulates your traditional hostel. Typically filled up with 20-30 year olds, trying to see the world on a budget; A fun common room, with more than enough cheap beer to make it through the night; close to some 'attractions' (Beach, Bar, Club); the staff - namely Sam - is friendly (I found his humor hilarious, though I could see how some may find it a bit .... inappropriate and/or crude); the place even has a "swimming" pool ;) ;) !!
I had an absolute blast here, and will definitely be staying here my next time in Langkawi :)

I highly highly recommend making some friends at the hostel, and going on a day cruise (offered by many different places, but there's an agent literally 30 seconds walk from the hostel that you can book through). This is what we did and it absolutely made the trip. We booked through tropical ... adventures (?), and the boat staff were just as amped to party as we were.

Oh - and don't let Sam talk you into bamboo pole fishing behind the hostel .... :)

Room Tip: If available, get an aircon room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Comfy place with a family-friendly atmosphere. I really enjoyed the laid-back bar area. Also, they provide you with lots of helpful hints on the activities you can do in the island and around. I was travelling with a group but I guess this the kind of a place that you can very much enjoy as a single backpacker.

Room Tip: We had two 2-pax rooms with own bathrooms and I can recommed them to anyone who values privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

To all backpackers: This is an example hostel. Freedom, good vibes, friendly staff, everything you need is here! Enjoy fishing with Sam or just hang out at the common room with all the guests. Everything is possible here if you stick to a few (very normal) rules. Please book this guesthouse when you visit Langkawi. You will not regret it. (Oh and go Barracuda fishing ;))

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I couldn't recommend Zackry's more! They have everything that is basic in place and more...From the common area, to the free tea/coffee, to a refrigerator to store your food and drinks, to left-over butter from other fellow travellers....and the left-over mosquito spray...Hahahaha...Basically Zackry is saying COME STAY WITH US !
Its in the more up-market side of town and a walk to the town centre and the beach. So for the price, it is a steal... The owner is a fabulous lady and she invited me for breakfast one of the days...They have a lot of activities which we didnt get to participate it in sadly....
I loved Zackry's! I would recommend it wholeheartedly despite the rather ineffective air-conditioning in our 2 bed room.
My only reservation was that the manager Sam was not very welcoming initially and was a bit offensive to us 3 girls...some of his jokes were inappropriate...and while it didnt bother me too much, have to say it didn't feel great...And thats the only reason I am not giving it a 5/5.

But we met some really nice fellow travellers there so all in all it was a great stay.

We extended our stay here by a day, so that should tell you the story!

Room Tip: Doesnt matter what room you stay in really, but if its towards the road, its likely to be slightly w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSuperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice place to stay.rooms are clean.
The staff is very friendly.
A big problem was the laundry service.my shirt was after the laundry service more dirty! That's really bad. I just realized this problem 4 days after the stay.So thank you for the present.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigory91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
About the laundry, we clearly put notice on laundry section that pax needs to separate the laundry itself as we are not responsible for color run, wear and tear, etc. We even always ask again to reconfirm that pax needs to separate the color and white.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were three ladies staying at Zackry's hence we got out own room with three beds. Air conditioning was not sufficient for the entire room but on the plus side we did get our own bathroom with hot water.

The place is extremely clean and the room was spacious. They do not serve food but you can get your own supplies and keep them in the common refrigerator. They had free coffee and tea and clean water (hot and cold) to drink.

Alcohol from outside is not allowed and if you do get it, they charge you for corkage. They have beers for a good price though.

All in all an amazing place to stay and I would definitely go back here!

Room Tip: Book in advance as not all the rooms have air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zackry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zackry Guest House

Property: Zackry Guest House
Address: Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zackry Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house located on the same street of 3 to 4 star resorts. The white sandy 500meters beach is just 200 meters away. It has a common kitchen for light cooking, bar/lounge, satellite TV, internet services. Many choices of restaurants next door and along the same road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Zackry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zackry Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing