We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dark, gloomy, boxed in”
Review of Kedawang Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kedawang Beach Inn
Ranked #74 of 153 Langkawi B&B and Inns
kuala lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dark, gloomy, boxed in”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We arrived at 8pm, checked in and the guy at the reception wanted us to pay upfront for all the nights. Of course we said no - we hadn't even seen the room. The management insisted on us confirming our stay. We decided not to stay even though we had no idea if there were any other place with available rooms.
The place looks cute with the overhanging vines but in reality it made the place claustrophobic and dark. At least 2 rooms were fitting 7 or 8 people and the noise they made at the crack of dawn!
Our room was cute at first impression because of the color scheme but once you spend time in it, it began to feel very boxed in. In the morning, the sun doesn't stream in. Kind of depressing.
The gazebo where we were supposed to hang out was a joke, we tried to have breakfast there but the place had just been hosed down and was soaking wet.
The cleaning lady was very sweet though. When we said she didn't have to clean our room, she offered to give us fresh towels at least.
The place is definitely not value for money.
For a little more, we're in a place not very far from Kedawang in a much larger room, with its own little patio -we can choose to sit inside the room or outside, internet access inside our room, a mini fridge, a large intact dresser with bedside lamps on either side of the king sized bed . Now that's value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfeet001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed for 3 days with a bunch of friends. The best things about this place would be the service and the price. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. They helped with arrangements for our snorkeling trip, booked taxis for us, helped shift beds at our requests etc. They acted upon all our requests immediately, unlike in big hotels where they put you on hold & never get anything done. One of the little charms of a backpacker's inn, I suppose.

The rooms itself were modest -- sparsely decorated with thin blankets, bad TV reception, mismatched furniture, etc etc. The sink was in the room itself, so that was kind of odd. Very simply furnished, but very clean I must say. You shouldn't expect much for the price! This place is teeming with life eg. full of plants, vines, bugs, geckos, mosquitoes, etc. Definitely not for the prissy..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at kedawang in Feb 2012, we chose this hotel just because of its location and indeed its location was very close to the beach but in terms of the rooms was not worth the price...the bearkfast they offer is not really available everyday..some mornings the bread would be in the kitchen by 11am..not really well looked after....the rooms aren't very clean...furnitures quite old...we paid about $42 per night...if you are looking for reasonably good hotel with good location ...i won't recommend kedawang to you..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We booked upfront because of the good rating for five days to relax a bit, but this was not relaxing at all. The place was really overrated, and we did not understand how people can like this place at all! the room was more of a closet, the aircondinioning was leeking, the toilet flushed over, and it wasn't even straight on the beach, ect. As we shopped around for another place, we found this new hostel for less on the beach. We also heard of other people moving over the same experience.
(note: The google maps location is not accurat, as the place is in Chenang close to the airport)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutchonworldtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

this set of rooms at the south end of the main strip at Chenng beach has its qttractions.its quiet and secluded and meters from the beach., rooms have en suite bathrooms with fridge , tv and air con. basic rooms as you would expect for the price. there is a beach bar between the rooms and the beach, but its prices are far higher than other beach bars of a similar calibre along the beach and the staff are less than friendly and seem only interested in maximising your spend. This was the main reason we moved out after 2 nights.nothing to do with Kadewang itself. the other main consideration is that, being at the south end, everything else on the strip is north, sometimes a long way north. we moved to mid way along the beach and found this much more convenient. but if you like secluded and quiet Kedawang could be for you !

Room Tip: the nearer the beach, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISHKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Kedawang Beach Inn is in a very quiet location, almost on the beach, but is just off the main road of the Pentai Cenang resort. All the restaurants and bars are very nearby but there is no noise from them. The rooms are in a small chalet-style block, which is shaded and cool. We didn't hear any noise from other residents. Rooms are a little small but are very clean. They are simply furnished but have ensuite bathrooms and air conditioning. There is a shared kitchen for use of residents which we found useful. We arrived early but there was no problem with checking in early - indeed, staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. There is a restaurant/bar on the beach by the hotel (which I think is an associated business, but with its own staff) but we found other bars and restaurants significantly cheaper so I would recommend trying other places to eat/drink, which are all close by. I would strongly recommend the accommodation at the Kedawang Beach Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedhopper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

There is nothing bad I would like to write about this hotel. I booked this because it was one of the budget hotels available in the week of LIMA (the busiest for Langkawi from what I heard) and situated at stone throw distance from both Pantai Cenang and Pantai Tengah.

Very friendly staff and the surroundings too close to nature. A kitchen provided for you to cook on your own or have a coffee.

Rooms ordinary but equipped with everything you would need on a budget beach holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KunalM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Easy Crystal Hotel
Easy Crystal Hotel
#49 of 104 in Langkawi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cenang Valley Inn
Cenang Valley Inn
#13 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedawang Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedawang Beach Inn

Property: Kedawang Beach Inn
Address: No 7 | Jalan Pantai Chenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Pantai Cenang which is on the North West coast of Langkawi. We are 23km away from Kuah/jetty, 12 km to the airport and underwater world is only a 5 minute walk away. Our location in Pantai Cenang is such that we are only 50yds away from the sea with only 5 rooms. There are 3 double and 2 twin rooms all with air/con, TV, hot bath, safe box and breakfast is optional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kedawang Beach Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing