We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a few nights”
Review of Kedawang Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kedawang Beach Inn
Ranked #77 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

I booked this little place before arriving in Langkawi from Penang since it had half decent reviews. Firstly, it's pretty cheap given the month of December and lack of accommodation on Langkawi due to the time of year. However, that said, the major downfall for the rooms is the lack of light, it has one window covered by a curtain that even when open lets in limited light for two reasons 1. Tinted windows 2. Overgrowth of outside plants causing canopy of shadow which creates limited light and lots of bugs.
We stayed 6 nights cause they were pure poked but we decided in staying a further 6 nights on Langkawi but booked into White lodge Chalets which were more expensive but sheer luxury compared to the room we had. As I said in my title, this Accomodation would be adequate for a few nights at most given the location to both pantai cenang and Tengah since its slap bang in the middle and you have best of both but any longer than 3 nights I'd think you'd struggle. Good points = location, beach bar beside with excellent sunset view
Bad points = dark, lack of towel change,
Noisy guests, no balcony/private outside space

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coollager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

My wife and myself booked an upfront deposit because of the good rating on Trip Adviser, we thought we would take a look at the rooms before we paid any more than our deposit, my wife took one look and decided it was not for us, I do not understand how people can like this place at all! Maybe OK for backpackers but even so there are nicer places also it is not that cheap we found a much better place to stay for only a few Ringets more, it was worth losing our deposit for.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Backtacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We arrived at 8pm, checked in and the guy at the reception wanted us to pay upfront for all the nights. Of course we said no - we hadn't even seen the room. The management insisted on us confirming our stay. We decided not to stay even though we had no idea if there were any other place with available rooms.
The place looks cute with the overhanging vines but in reality it made the place claustrophobic and dark. At least 2 rooms were fitting 7 or 8 people and the noise they made at the crack of dawn!
Our room was cute at first impression because of the color scheme but once you spend time in it, it began to feel very boxed in. In the morning, the sun doesn't stream in. Kind of depressing.
The gazebo where we were supposed to hang out was a joke, we tried to have breakfast there but the place had just been hosed down and was soaking wet.
The cleaning lady was very sweet though. When we said she didn't have to clean our room, she offered to give us fresh towels at least.
The place is definitely not value for money.
For a little more, we're in a place not very far from Kedawang in a much larger room, with its own little patio -we can choose to sit inside the room or outside, internet access inside our room, a mini fridge, a large intact dresser with bedside lamps on either side of the king sized bed . Now that's value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyfeet001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed for 3 days with a bunch of friends. The best things about this place would be the service and the price. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. They helped with arrangements for our snorkeling trip, booked taxis for us, helped shift beds at our requests etc. They acted upon all our requests immediately, unlike in big hotels where they put you on hold & never get anything done. One of the little charms of a backpacker's inn, I suppose.

The rooms itself were modest -- sparsely decorated with thin blankets, bad TV reception, mismatched furniture, etc etc. The sink was in the room itself, so that was kind of odd. Very simply furnished, but very clean I must say. You shouldn't expect much for the price! This place is teeming with life eg. full of plants, vines, bugs, geckos, mosquitoes, etc. Definitely not for the prissy..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at kedawang in Feb 2012, we chose this hotel just because of its location and indeed its location was very close to the beach but in terms of the rooms was not worth the price...the bearkfast they offer is not really available everyday..some mornings the bread would be in the kitchen by 11am..not really well looked after....the rooms aren't very clean...furnitures quite old...we paid about $42 per night...if you are looking for reasonably good hotel with good location ...i won't recommend kedawang to you..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We booked upfront because of the good rating for five days to relax a bit, but this was not relaxing at all. The place was really overrated, and we did not understand how people can like this place at all! the room was more of a closet, the aircondinioning was leeking, the toilet flushed over, and it wasn't even straight on the beach, ect. As we shopped around for another place, we found this new hostel for less on the beach. We also heard of other people moving over the same experience.
(note: The google maps location is not accurat, as the place is in Chenang close to the airport)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dutchonworldtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

this set of rooms at the south end of the main strip at Chenng beach has its qttractions.its quiet and secluded and meters from the beach., rooms have en suite bathrooms with fridge , tv and air con. basic rooms as you would expect for the price. there is a beach bar between the rooms and the beach, but its prices are far higher than other beach bars of a similar calibre along the beach and the staff are less than friendly and seem only interested in maximising your spend. This was the main reason we moved out after 2 nights.nothing to do with Kadewang itself. the other main consideration is that, being at the south end, everything else on the strip is north, sometimes a long way north. we moved to mid way along the beach and found this much more convenient. but if you like secluded and quiet Kedawang could be for you !

Room Tip: the nearer the beach, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISHKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedawang Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedawang Beach Inn

Address: No 7 | Jalan Pantai Chenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £13 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Pantai Cenang which is on the North West coast of Langkawi. We are 23km away from Kuah/jetty, 12 km to the airport and underwater world is only a 5 minute walk away. Our location in Pantai Cenang is such that we are only 50yds away from the sea with only 5 rooms. There are 3 double and 2 twin rooms all with air/con, TV, hot bath, safe box and breakfast is optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kedawang Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedawang Beach Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing