We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good.”
Review of Kedawang Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kedawang Beach Inn
Ranked #74 of 153 Langkawi B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Good.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed here during the Malaysian school holidays and if i'd thought i could walk away from it then i would have done. Manager was rude and bordering on aggressive/confrontational. He said he didn't receive the deposit but that Hostel Bookers did - so we needed to pay it again (only another 50RM but still!). Room was satisfactorily basic but bedsheets weren't nice.

Yes, it is a good location... but so is pretty much anywhere on Cenang beach. There are some chalet's 100m down the beach where the staff were much more helpful and rooms cheaper so I'd recommend that. Oh and we booked the "chalet room"... and it's not a chalet at all, it's just another room but more expensive.

Room Tip: No point paying more for "chalet" - if you do stay here just go for the regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotswold_traveller_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

This place started off badly and continued to go downhill. reception staff messed up our booking and tried to the put us in a cheaper room for a more expensive price thinking we wouldnt notice. the manager was aggressive when he became involved and even tried to make us pay the deposit again. as it was school holidays and everywhere else was booked up we had to stay otherwise we would have left at that point. the manager was clearly very inexperienced, aggressive, and disinterested, and the reception staff very giggly and dishonest.

rooms were dilapidated, e.g. taps not working, sheets dont fit the bed, cheap and ugly furntiture, dead kitten on the welcome mat. to top it off it was very expensive for what it was. we moved to malibest which really puts this place to shame.

the only good thing about kedawang beach inn is the location- close to a quiet part of the beach. however, this is not a good enough reason to stay here as there are plenty of much better places close to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamaliceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Pattaya, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I am very disappointed with this Inn. It has many mosquitoes around. It is not tidy and the reception is far away in another building. It looks haunted, dark and uninviting. We felt unsafe as it was situated away from the main road and secluded.The TV has only 1 channel and is blurred. My friend's room has no TV. When we wanted to extend our stay another day they raised the price so we left. For what it cost, there are many other hotels near by which are cheaper and better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jae8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the people. From when we arrived we found the owner to be a quiet, gentle, friendly and helpful man. But most of all they are honest!...
We left after one night because we wanted to be in the middle of Cenang beach. The day later I realised I was missing my favourite ring, thought it was safe with my other jewellery. After a lot of searching we realised I must have left it at Kedawan. To be honest I wasn't hopeful they would be helpful, but I was wrong. My partner went to see them and they were very helpful. No one was in the room so they both looked, but it wasn't there. The owner took our phone number saying he would talk to their cleaner and let us know. The next day we received a call from the owners wife, they had it! I was so happy and grateful that they were all so helpful and honest.

The guesthouse itself:
The room has a large comfy bed and enough furniture, including wardrobe, desk and bedside table. There is also a TV with cable, it has a bad picture but just about watchable.
The bathroom is large with a hot water shower.
They provide sheets, towels and soap.
It could do with a clean, but was good enough.

There is a separate large kitchen for guests use with a large fridge, other cooking facilities, a free water cooler and a selection of books and magazines.

The location is good, close to the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCAndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I think room was expensive 150 ringgit a night, for what you got. But I booked quite late so not much choice.
Rooms are dark inside, no ventilation as no mosquito netting across windows, so cannot open window due to the number of mosquitoes encouraged by the vine outside which makes it very dark.
Bought a insect spray for the room which got rid of them, but due to lack of ventilation it was very difficult to get rid of of the smell from the room to make it comfortable to stay in.
It was also noisy when people were coming back at night due to layout of rooms.
The basin tap was broken in the room making it almost impossible to to switch on and off the water. Could not get the shower too work in the room.
TV reception so poor it was unwatchable.
Location is quite good.
There was a kitchen you could use but it was not clean, and the fridge was disgusting not clean and smelt unpleasant.
Laundry facility available 6.5 ringgit per kg was good.
Overall would not stay here again if in Langkawi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0406MAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

I booked this little place before arriving in Langkawi from Penang since it had half decent reviews. Firstly, it's pretty cheap given the month of December and lack of accommodation on Langkawi due to the time of year. However, that said, the major downfall for the rooms is the lack of light, it has one window covered by a curtain that even when open lets in limited light for two reasons 1. Tinted windows 2. Overgrowth of outside plants causing canopy of shadow which creates limited light and lots of bugs.
We stayed 6 nights cause they were pure poked but we decided in staying a further 6 nights on Langkawi but booked into White lodge Chalets which were more expensive but sheer luxury compared to the room we had. As I said in my title, this Accomodation would be adequate for a few nights at most given the location to both pantai cenang and Tengah since its slap bang in the middle and you have best of both but any longer than 3 nights I'd think you'd struggle. Good points = location, beach bar beside with excellent sunset view
Bad points = dark, lack of towel change,
Noisy guests, no balcony/private outside space

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coollager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My wife and myself booked an upfront deposit because of the good rating on Trip Adviser, we thought we would take a look at the rooms before we paid any more than our deposit, my wife took one look and decided it was not for us, I do not understand how people can like this place at all! Maybe OK for backpackers but even so there are nicer places also it is not that cheap we found a much better place to stay for only a few Ringets more, it was worth losing our deposit for.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Backtacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Easy Crystal Hotel
Easy Crystal Hotel
#49 of 104 in Langkawi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cenang Valley Inn
Cenang Valley Inn
#13 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedawang Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedawang Beach Inn

Property: Kedawang Beach Inn
Address: No 7 | Jalan Pantai Chenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Pantai Cenang which is on the North West coast of Langkawi. We are 23km away from Kuah/jetty, 12 km to the airport and underwater world is only a 5 minute walk away. Our location in Pantai Cenang is such that we are only 50yds away from the sea with only 5 rooms. There are 3 double and 2 twin rooms all with air/con, TV, hot bath, safe box and breakfast is optional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kedawang Beach Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing