We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money”
Review of One Hotel Helang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Hotel Helang
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's like just next door to Langkawi airport... so convenient where we offloaded all our luggages before set off for the day.The room is very spacious, my children ran around in the room when we back to hotel after out for the whole day. The place where we take our complimentary breakfast is so spacious too and with quie good spread of choices.
What I dislike during our stay.... the towels stink. The bedsheet and pillow case are very dirty. All our family members complain itchy from head to toe after 1st night. We requested front desk to have bedsheet and pillow case replaced but the cleaner was just put back neatly without replacement as we saw stains on the same areas of bed and pillow. The channeled TV are not connectable totally after the technician troubleshooted for few hours. First time renting 4star hotels that fails in hygience and TV entertainment.
Will not go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
28
33
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this due to the proximity of the airport & it was perfect. About 2 minutes through the airport carpark, with absolutely NO airport noise from inside the hotel. Check-in was fairly quick although they had no booking showing for us from Agoda, but of course I had my copy so it was soon remedied. We were on the 5th floor (room 560) for 6 nights, overlooking the pool. The room is massive, definitely in need of an update but all the same, everything was fine with plenty of space, desk, lounge chairs etc. There were too few lights in the room for the size, & we found the bedlamps had no bulbs anyway but the guys sorted that out for us when asked. It was still so dark but that was only a minor problem. The bed was big & comfy enough, the shower was lovely, hot & good pressure & also another hand held shower in the bath tub. Amenities were also good. The hallways were so big, the carpets very stained & worn & the lifts were very smelly during the day with people dripping water in there from the pool. It was nice to watch out of the hall windows at the planes coming & going from the airport.
The pool area was great, plenty of sun chairs but they run out of pool towels quite often & a hassle to get anyone to get them. The pool seemed to be nice & clean & the gardens pleasant.
Breakfast was included, it was a bit hit & miss. The serveries were scattered around the dining area with many different sorts of food but very little for westerners. They had cornflakes the first morning but not again after that, they had orange juice one or two mornings only, then even had cordial ! They run out of bread most mornings & we seemed to have to wait up to 10 minutes before more was brought out. There were a few staff walking around but no-one was in a hurry & seemed quite disinterested at times. Most of the staff were friendly enough though, just not in a hurry to do anything. The lobby was absolutely massive, wifi was only available here so the area had lots of lovely comfy seating etc. This hotel would have been very grand in its day. We did not eat here as we had a motorbike to go to & from Cenang & Kuah to the many restaurants in these areas. And there are a couple of eating places at the airport as well. All in all, we would definitely go back if in Langkawi as it is nice to be away from the hustle & bustle of the touristy areas & the beaches are so much nicer up around this area also.

Room Tip: One facing the pool is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My third time stay here..tis time, Travel in group of 9pax inc one elderly..ask for connecting rooms, none available..Ms Lili did her best to accomodate our request, tks Ms Lili..rooms in One Helang is actually big, comes with one xtra day bed..toilets big, spacious n bathtub..tv channel limited, breakfast average..rest, all were good..happy to come back nx time..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azamin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dengkil, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Check in is a little bit slow, but it's ok I can tolerate.
'Empty Hotel'.
Spacious and comfortable room. Plus, they have a day bed.
No bellboy. Please carry your own luggage ya. :)
Good WiFi signal.
Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 424, good WiFi signal :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlinda_Yusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel now is known as One Hotel Helang Langkawi which is previously known Hotel Helang Langkawi. First when we enter the lobby, it was really awesome as the lobby looks very huge and you can feel like staying in the 5 stars world class hotel. However, take note, there is no bell boy in the hotel. Staying here for 2 nights, we never see any bell boy. You have to open the entrance door byself and carry all your baggage byself. There is no standby Bell boy at all. The receptionist are not that friendly. We are really shocked when we saw the hallway carpet is in a very worst conditions. It is really dirty and disgusting. The room is not that good, it is very old and the floor is not clean at all. I think they never clean or mop it at all. The toilet is also very disappointing. I am very sorry to say, this hotel should be rate as 1 star hotel in term of cleanliness and services. The breakfast was really simple and not tasty at all. It is just eating in the school canteen with simple taste food. I would never recommend this hotel to anybody. I do agreed with others which is no wifi in the room, if there is, the connection is not that good. Please avoid and look for more comfortable and great service hotel. Langkawi actually have more much better hotel that this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy Poh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for 01 night (enough!) on 9Apr. Nice things about this hotel: location next to the airport. Spacious room. I stayed in a Deluxe 02 queen bed room in non-smoking floor. Got bathtub, soap, shampoo, body-lotion. No toothpaste.

POOR WiFi, I can say NO WIFI, upon check-in the receptionist did not inform anything about WiFi, we need to ask the password however the signal is really really poor in the entire hotel.

The breakfast very limited choice and taste not so nice.

The room which I stayed, floor was very dirty, I can feel the floor has not been mopped for very long time. Stained carpet in the hallway. Lift also very old.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnastasiaDwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have seen the recent negative reviews recently but im` happy to note that they have improved the room sheets and all.All in was a good stay.Really hope the Hotel takeover will happen soon for the new management to refurbish this once wonderfull hotel.

Room Tip: Call the management to make sure you get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinusFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
71.9 mi away
Hotel Helang Langkawi
Hotel Helang Langkawi
#42 of 103 in Langkawi
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Express Hotel
Bella Vista Express Hotel
#76 of 103 in Langkawi
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alia Residence Business Resort
1.0 mi away
Kuala Melaka Inn
Kuala Melaka Inn
#75 of 103 in Langkawi
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#29 of 103 in Langkawi
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Hotel Helang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Hotel Helang

Property: One Hotel Helang
Address: Hotel Helang Jalan Lima, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your One Hotel Helang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing