We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location good. Hotel bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malibest Resort
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Location good. Hotel bad.”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Malibest Resort has the potential to become one of the best accomodation bets in the most happening beach of Langkawi. But severe lack of maintenance and poor service has ensured that it doesnt. Rooms are spacious but tired and with dirty bed linen. Lobby has free wi-fi but the very look of the reception will deter you from spending your holiday here. At the entrance is a restaurant where crappy Hindi songs are played throughout the day. The adjoining beach is okay but it is too full of picnicers during the day. The only good thing about this hotel is its location. But there are plenty of other cheaper options in the same vicinity. Would not have stayed here had we not booked our room in advance.

Room Tip: Go for the treehouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDMKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    316
    214
    66
    86
See reviews for
237
262
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the super deluxe beachfront room (RM 160/night). The room was very spacious, with pretty comfy beds and a great mini fridge (for ice cold water and beer!). The view was amazing, the room was right on the beach, 25 meters distance from the sea. At night we were sitting in front of our room/on the beach with a cold beer, watching the sunset and listening to the sound of the waves...perfect! We had two chairs outside which we also used for some sunbathing during the day. Staff were really friendly, but in case of information on trips etc. they could just only refer us to other travel agents. We did not really try the restaurant since there is a way better (budget) option down the road.

Unfortunately, breakfast is not included but there are plenty of (cheap) options at a short walking distance. WiFi is only available in the lobby, but very fast!

The only thing we disliked a little was that the rooms are quite noisy, we could hear our neighbors and the people chatting on the terrace behind our room. During our stay in June it was not crowded at all, but I can imagine that in high season it can be noisy when guests and non-guests are chatting on the beach, next or in front of the rooms.

Overall a great budget option with maybe the best location of all hotels at pantai cenang. Definitely try to book a super deluxe beachfront room! The view that comes with that room is worth everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchtraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

"got room on 2nd flr n we ask for rm facing sea they say all full.Ok when they fix hotshower.Hell starts at night when toilet leak on ceiling.Strange it came out from the lights(u can watch on youtube).They trnfr us to another room below which earlier they said all full.LIAR!..the whole night we were without water bcause they turn off the watertank.The next day we ask the manager for refund n they offer another hotel Langgura Baron.They should have avoid tourist to stay at this unfit place for safety n think what are we paying for!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leocancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Johor Bahru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Quite dissapointed about the room. I plan to give my girlfriend a surprise with great sea view and comfortable room but I failed..not sure it is me fail or this resort fail..with the price RM160 Beach Front Deluxe Room, plus no breakfast..it is totally not worth unless the location is extremely great.
Room- rot door, and stuck with floor, low power air-con. RM160 with loosen bed and unknown person hair..extremely dark even switch on all the light..
Location - great , step out from room is the beach..i like the wave sound during night.

Many many grumble just dont want to list out..i just wont stay here anymore.

Room Tip: just dont believe the photos on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank simplekoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It is located right on Pantai Cenang beach, one of the best beaches in Langkawi. Cottages are clean with beach views and nice ambience. They have vegetarian restaurant serving Indian/ Asian dishes. Wifi only in the lobby area and not in cottages.

Would like to ask the owner to provide with beach chairs and some umbrellas on the beach area.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rishikochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stayed here for 3N. I took the beach front room, but I also liked the wooden Cottage which is in the second line on the Beach, It is as good as a beach front room.

Great Spacious room, the room does not have too many amenities but a great place in terms of Location, Politeness of staff, Great Indian restaurant and peaceful environment.

However the hotel staff is strict in check Inn and Check out timings. They will allow you to check Inn only around 3PM, so be prepared to wait for a while after your flight.

Supermarket, money changer is right next to the Hotel and so is the main market. Underwater world is close by. It is closer to AB motel so you can enjoy reasonable water activity from here.

Closer to Beach, Quiet and relaxing, Great Indian Restaurant, Value for Money, Next to the Main market, Polite Staff etc are the Plus points for the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarafPulkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Just pay attention to what their website says and you won't be disappointed. We stayed in the delux treetop chalet and it was great. Location is in the middle of all the shopping and dining in the area and you can walk to it all. If you want a beachfront room, be sure to reserve a beachfront room.

A few beach bars are just a minute or two walk down the beach where there is live music right on the sand.

Room Tip: Pay attention to website details
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDisberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#19 of 100 in Langkawi
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#24 of 100 in Langkawi
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Property: Malibest Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malibest Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing