We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“quality control” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malibest Resort
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quality control”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Profit driven which fail to deliver genuine service, i stay in their brick house..their aircon is not working well, their towel was stain, its a truly budget accomodation..the building had run down, they had to do something, i regret to chose here rather than paying a bit more and stay at the sunset beach which had better touch...even we choose to stay at the brick house, its seem to translate that we were were like a 2nd class guest than their tree house one, the whole area was small and cramp...the beach front was full of water sport operator..its a sad thing that cenang had a great beach...but the rthym was not fullfill..

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    308
    203
    63
    83
See reviews for
226
249
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

As a couple we stayed in the standard Treehouse which was awesome and had fantastic views. All treehouses whether standard or deluxe would share brilliant views so no need to worry. The treehouse had all the mod cons - tea & coffee fridge, air con etc. The bed was hard - typical of Asia, but I arranged a mattress topper which did wonders! Ask for one if the bed is too hard. The bathroom was very small and quite basic but this was a small price to pay for the location and feel of the place. Definitely not a place for 4 or 5 star travellers to stay at, but for those that are real travellers/flashpackers its an ideal location and style of accommodation. Sunsets from the verandah are to die for. Didn't really have too much to do with the Staff, as breakie wasn't included, though not a problem as there were a few places about 20 metres up the road on opposite side that were nice and reasonable. Preferred "BELLA" restaurant out of the 4 located next to the Breakfast Bar. If coming back to Langkawi I would definitely stay again... mainly for the spectacular view and casual vibe. Bungalows on a beach will soon be rare!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a tree house if you are fit and healthy to climb 15 stairs and can leave the blow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinwillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Was looking for a cheap but decent chalet to stay for just 1 night coz we arrived Langkawi very late in the evening before we check in to our next resort in Pantai Tengah the next day. After reading through reviews & making price comparison to other budget chalets, we decided to try out this place.
Checking in was super fast n staff were very friendly.we got ourselves one of the deluxe wooden room named 'Beras Basah' just few steps away from the beautiful Chenang beach.
The most exciting part is they had wifi in the room!
I have nothing to complain about this place. Room n toilet was clean, both aircond n fan works fine, water heater, clean sheets. Would definitely come back to this place in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Aznam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We are on a holiday and out first destination we choose was Langkawi .... my fren booked Malibest earlier. Upon arrival the reception was so helpful and the most best part of it they were very friendly ,... i forgot their names.. but they were helpful to ... anything u ask .. u will get it .. the rooms were fantastic .. of course the rooms are a bit sandy.. but its sea facing and on the beach so who cares .. we have a wonderful stay and thank you malibest for making our stay a memorable one....we will definitely return next year ..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniCrushie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel has a really good location at the Pentai Cenang, just at the seaside. But I think that is the only one advantage it has. First of all, it's quite dirty, the towels and linen were old and dirty too. Second, there is no breakfast included, of course there is not a problem at all to find a good place to eat, but anyway...Our room was quite big, but there weren't good amenties. But as we don't usually spend much time in the hotel, it was ok, the price is not expensive. So if you are not very exigent, don't spend much time in the hotel, but looking for something near the beach, it can be a variant for you, but personally I, won't go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksu844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

nice place to visit. close to beach. public trasport is also easily available. close to airport as well. ample beach sport available. and very cost effective as well. sit at the beach till late night and enjoy the breeze.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We moved here after staying in another local hotel and because we just 'turned up' we actually stayed in 2 different rooms over the week we visited.
The first room was one of the wooden huts and was average priced and was further down the beach - it was lovely and well worth the money.
Our second room was the most expensive bungalow on the resort and it was amazing!
It was like a little private house on the beach - we did pay more for this though.
The only slight draw back was that other people seemed to love our 'beach house' too and we would often end up asking people to leave our balcony space etc - sometimes quite late into the night. We did approach the management about this and they asked security to walk round more often and this did help.
We didn't actually eat in the restaurant attached as both times we tried the tables were very dirty and this put us off.
This aside I would return tomorrow to Mali Best - for the location and the quality of the rooms - not so much the service of the staff.

Room Tip: Amazing wooden beach huts - average staff - but don't let that put you off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
2.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#25 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Property: Malibest Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malibest Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing