We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the hype” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ishan Malaysian Spa

Ishan Malaysian Spa
Ranked #4 of 33 Spas & Wellness in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ishan Malaysian Spa offers all the elements of an out-of-this-world spa experience - tucked in the hilly terrain, nestled in the tropical rain-forest, overlooking the Andaman sea. Using all the natural ingredients such as tropical flowers, herbs, vegetables, roots & exotic fruits in the soul healing treatment. There are also cooking class & yoga classes done within the natural landscape, surrounded by hornbills, monkeys, giant squirrels, exotic birds. & Many more...
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
New tork
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We organised a pickup from our hotel to the spa.they showed up 20 minutes late.
The treatment package didn't do anything for me since the entire time the employees were talking to other another - very distracting and rude.
Were told that their credit card system wasn't working and that they would drive us to the ATM so we could pay cash. No way I said..literally seconds later the system was working.
Overall not worth the $ and don't recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ajiramjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    50
    17
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hygiene problem”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

It is dirty, bugs in the room, geckos and frogs in the bath tub, the towel is smelly, my friend got allergy after the massage:(

Helpful?
1 Thank Qian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baskie, Owner at Ishan Malaysian Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi there,

Very sorry for your 'Jumanji' experience in Ishan Malaysian Spa. I am sorry to ask if it so bad, why did you continue to have spa treatment in our place? Also we feel bad about your friend's rash. Are you sure he got it from here? I shall send you a personal message to find out more details shortly.

The management truly regrets if this incident really happens here. We'll take stern action regarding this. But we are clueless on the time & date this incident actually took place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Located in amongst the bush and up a steep hill this place is very serene. We were in a private hut for couples which was really nice.
Although the place is quite dated it was still an amazing experience and well worth every penny.
One very small criticism would be there was no music playing. That would have topped it off.

We were celebrating our anniversary and we were surprised with a cake that was personalized with our names on it. Such a nice gesture and wonderful surprise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Admon1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baskie, Owner at Ishan Malaysian Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for an honest review. Glad that you enjoyed the whole experience. We stopped the music a while ago to ensure that the guest to be able to listen to the sound of true nature. But we shall reintall the music soonest. Our sincere apology.

We also realize that being the oldest spa in Langkawi, this rustic place start looking dated. So, we are actually in the midst of renovating and refurbishing the entire place. Having said that, the ambience & the quality of the treatment will be same or even better the next time you are here.


Smiles,
Bas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK experience but place is outdated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The place was a bit in renovation already and the massages we got where OK to good. However the room we were treated and the massages table were really getting outdated. Also we had to keep our own underwear on which of course is now ruined with oil. Every where else you get the way to small throwaway underwear. They have the name of being the oldest spa on the island, so we thought is would be good, but there are better and cheaper. The quality price is not in good balance here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob_de_Vries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baskie, Owner at Ishan Malaysian Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you very much for your very honest opinion, Sir. We truly value your input. Thank you for appreciating our massage. We normally will give batik shorts for men before massage. The disposable paper undies are only for body scrub & wrap session. From now onwards we shall ensure you get disposable for massages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A green oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Love the ambience! Tucked above the roads, the spa rooms are surrounded by greenery. Had the birds of paradise treatment and it was an enjoyable 3.5 hours. Especially liked the coffee scrub and the facial. Left my skin smooth and feeling squeaky clean. Was not too keen on the massage, probably as I am used to a different style. A nice place to recharge before returning to the bustle of home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baskie, Owner at Ishan Malaysian Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi! Thank you very much for a honest review. The next time we shall check with you what sought massage will be more appropriate for you. See you soon in verdant Langkawi.

Smiles,
Bas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ishan Malaysian Spa also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Ishan Malaysian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing