We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im astounded this hotel gets any good review”
Review of Crystal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked the room online which worked out well. Hoewever, shown the assigned room, we litteraly fled the hotel. This review might be contradicting most other reviews, but if you don`t believe the poor and disappointing standard of the rooms, let the rooms themselves dissuade you from staying in them. We afterwards stayed in another veryyyyyyy poor place in KB, but for 80RM only.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here in the family room for a 1 night stopover before heading onto the Perhentian islands. Even though the room was clean, it had no window, which felt strange. Still, the price was correct and the beds were comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Cristal Lodge 4 nights. We have 3 small children and we all enjoyed our stay very much. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious, the beds good and the shower and airco worked well - which is very convenient in the tropics ;-)

The roomprice compared to what you get is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The staff at the Crystal deserve a special mention. They were rare in that they took the initiative in meeting your needs by, for example, asking if you had X or knew about Y. Hotel location can't be faulted but roadside noise is an issue in some ground floor rooms. Hotel of choice in KB.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The lodge was a nice place to stay, the view from the rooftop was great, although it was not possible to have a drink up there. The rooms were good and clean, staff was friendly and it was great to have so many tv-channels. Nice if there's nothing to do in KB.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzandveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stopped over at this hotel on our way to and from the Perhentian Islands. Whilst there was a bit of a language barrier in trying to explain that we had pre paid for our rooms, the staff were most helpful in over coming this. On the way to the island, they gave us two keyed alike adjoining rooms, which was great because the kids could watch a tele in the other room whilst we got some rest. On the way back they upgraded our room to a suite. On both occasions we had only paid for a standard family room with two beds for the five of us. When we got back to Australia we discovered my ten year old son's favouritwe shorts and T shirt were not in his case and by back tracking we woke up he had left them on the floor of our room at Crystal Lodge. We contacted tham by email and not only did they find his clothes, but they dry cleaned them and psoted them home to us at their expense. I have stayed in much flasher hotels than this and not received this sort orf care and attention to detail. If you're looking for a cheap stop over with breakfast on the way to and from the Perhentians you couldn't do better than this place.

Room Tip: Don't expect the Hilton but the rooms and service is great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyholtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is the second time I book in this hotel. Always as a stop over to Perhentian islands. Actually this time my room was on the ground floor. The room looked renovated, clean, TV was better and bathroom looked more modern. So I advise you to request for newest rooms. Breakfast is not bad and included in the price.
The hotel is well located and probably the best option in KB. There are some nice friendly bars just at the corner, owned by Chinese people. Not much to do in Kota Bharu. Visited 2 museums but they are so small you only need 10 minutes... The craft museum is not interesting but you can take batik classes and buy some local art things

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 41 in Kota Bharu
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu)
0.1 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 41 in Kota Bharu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
0.5 mi away
Flora Place Hotel
Flora Place Hotel
#13 of 41 in Kota Bharu
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Home
G Home
#7 of 41 in Kota Bharu
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Lodge

Address: Crystal Lodge 124 Jalan Che Su, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range: £32 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Crystal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Kota Bharu
Crystal Lodge Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing