We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Market is dead”
Review of Night Market

Night Market
Ranked #30 of 130 Restaurants in Kota Bharu
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Night Market is dead”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was here last year and again now. Now I know why i could not find it. Its done with replaced by a building. There are no bulk stalls in that area at night or near-by anymore

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Durio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    35
    29
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Not the biggest of markets but still a good selection of food. Mostly locals eat here. Little atmosphere. Feels a little dirty but food stalls are clean. Remember that it does close for prayers in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vagabond1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good local food with the locals”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We went on a Tuesday evening around 7.15pm. I should have heeded the Lonely Planet comment about the whole thing closing down for evening prayers between 7pm and 7.45pm. We were told by a friendly man that we couldn't actually buy anything until prayers were over. This was not a problem really, we could just sit down and wait - or pop outside again to the 7-11 across the road to get some water.
Basically as you approach the market, there are some tables with people selling clothes, DVDs, watches, some food and shoes, etc - you have to walk past these (though worth checking out the stuff; I bought a pair of shoes for 15MYR) and down the road ... look for the yellow arch reading ‘Medan Selera MPKB’ (see my photos). The night food market is through there. Looks like you are entering some abandoned football ground but it is there, honest.
Lots of stalls selling a variety of Malay food at cheap prices. We had good chicken rice from one of the stalls which was barbeque-ing the chicken so it looked freshly cooked. Plus we had the savoury and sweet (banana) murtabaks. Lovely. Also had some sort of doughnut kind of things with a lovely custard which were ridiculously cheap but lovely. Must try. Plus there was a stall where we bought some lovely fresh orange juice - gorgeous. Behind this stall I watched a man prepare seafood stir-fried rice for a couple of local customers. It all looked very hygienic and tasty. Worth checking this out too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSCandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good local food in the open air”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

High quality local food at around RM4-5 for a main course (US$1.50). Sitting at basic tables in the open air with range of stalls from which to choose. Range of Malaysian food together with some Thai dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dfghj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food variety and hygiene”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We went to the food stalls behind Siti Khadijah market once. The food variety was good but make sure you have a good stomach if you want pre-prepared food. Otherwise it is better to order freshly cooked food.

It is a good place to try Kelantanese dishes and 'kuih muih'

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Titi Rahmawati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Night Market also viewed

 

Been to Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing