We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerana Guesthouse

Cerana Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Bharu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cerana Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 56 Kota Bharu B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

The good things: the free tea, good internet facilities, airco's, low price and the fact that we were brought to the train station at 6.30am by the staff. The not so good things: staff is often absent, rooms are small, toilet and showers are not cleaned every day and although breakfast is included according to hostelworld, it is not. But facilities such as a toaster are available and the price is so low that we never really believed we would get breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
1
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were given a back room, with an attached bathroom. Lighting's a bit dark, and at first when we arrived it seemed like there was no one around to man the hostel. But, after checking in, it was fine, just seemed like it needed bit more light to me. Located in a good spot, walking distance that irish pub (we had beer and chips) and also to Jalan Kebun Sultan, with lots of cheap and cheery chinese eateries.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Really good location, really friendly staff, simple rooms but good atmosphere. Easy to meet other travelers or to get information you need. Basic, but for really low cost. The whole package means that you just need to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TadejaMesojedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Cerana operates much more like a home stay than a guesthouse.

The staff are friendly and willing to help. While the rooms are small there is a nice common area with tea/coffee/water/fridge computers, internet (free wifi) and printing to use for relatively cheap. At 25MYR / night for 2 it was the best value we had in Malaysia.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I didn't stay here, but I have to comment about it.
So the thing is that, I actually booked a room here, and I had exchanged several emails with this guesthouse. I was very happy because the communication through the emails was really good. And we agreed on the room type, date and hour.
I even had printed those emails and had them with me.
But when I arrived the room was not available and the staff didnt really seem to bother very much. He was rather laughing in a shy way and maybe thought it is a bit funny. Well it actually is now. But just so you know I did a serious booking that was not serious at all and we had to find a room after travelling all day and arriving here in the evening.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank natasanatasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at the Cerana for RM40 per night. Double bed and own bathroom. Room was clean.
Cerana is perfectly located for the public bus station that gets you to and from Kuala Besut and the Perhentian Islands. A mere 2 blocks. It is located on a quiet back street with a (concrete) park and tree's across the road where our host played soccer with friends each night. Also a 5 minute walk to the night market and about 8 minutes to the night food market. All the shops you need between Cerana and the bus station. There is a common lounge and kitchen with filtered water. TV and DVD's and books available. Great for a couple of nights. Host was organised and helpful getting us to the train to the jungle railway.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room at the end of the hallway has own bathroom. Only a cold shower but outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fromWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Good social feel, clean, reasonable accommodation. Problem is the staff are never about. We checked ourselves in made our own bed, at some point someone arrived to clean the bathrooms but we didn't see them( to a good standard), breakfast was never avaliable, other regular guests helped us with our enquiries. It did give it a relaxed easy going feel but this total disorganisation it daft. Only that we are good honest, karma fearing tourists we slid the room rate under the staff door and checked ourselves out. Crazy

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlinghurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.4 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
KB Backpackers Lodge
KB Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 39 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Kenangan Kota Bharu
#21 of 56 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Villa Danialla Beach Resort
Villa Danialla Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerana Guesthouse

Property: Cerana Guesthouse
Address: First floor, 39521 Jalan Padang Garong | Kelantan, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best and friendliest hostel in Khota Bharu.OverviewWe are located in the City Centre two blocks from the local bus station. We are your perfect stopover on your way to the Perhentian Islands or to Thailand, as well as to other destinations in Malaysia..You will have a great stay here, our facilities include free breakfast, free coffee and tea all day, satellite TV and DVDs. "Rough Guide" says we are "a tip top Malay-run place, very sociable, well kept". Our facilities include free WiFi, internet, postal services, bicycle rental, laundry, book exchange and more. We have timetables and can help you arrange transport to many destinations, including the Perhentian islands, to a local fishing village, and to Stong State Park. We have been established since 2002, renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cerana Guesthouse Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing