We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Girl with Bad Attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Danialla Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pretty Girl with Bad Attitude”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Don't get me wrong, the physical building is stunning. The concept of the villa is awesome.
But many thing made the villa have bad reputation. I wouldn't say much, was stay in Villa Matahari for RM 344++ when we arrive
1. The toilet light was broken, we have to wait until 10pm till someone repair. We checked to the receptionist, they said the electrician is too busy put up the Hari Raya light in the restaurant.
continued with light up the firecracker all night long. We didn't go to shower, but went to dinner outside.
2. When we back, we check the bed. Plenty hair on the bedsheet and several pubic hair.
3. Made complaint to the receptionist, no apologize but give us another key, which is the next door villa. Even worse, all the sheet are covered with stain. Someone ejaculate, and nobody bothers to wash..?? erggghhh
4. We made another complaint, we said rather to sleep our car or drive to Renaissance Kota Bharu rather sleep on someone's DNA. The GM don't even bother see us, but give us another villa. Meant to upgrade for free but I guess its another disaster.

5. Villa Mariam, chalet is stunning, luxury bed and toilet. Everything came up in a huge size. But again, stain everywhere.
6. TV is not ASTRO, but Thai cable TV
7. Toiletteries is not crab-tree and Evelyn, but same with the one French Hotel Ipoh use
8. Our room infested by Bee nesting in the shower, but we can't be bother to complaint again. Just close the door, brush teeth on the porch and try to sleep.
9. Make complaint to receptionist on the next day : they just stare at us with plain look, no apologize, not even interested to listen.

Won't stay here again for sure, we would stay in Renaissance next time we travel to Kota Bharu again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DIYAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    13
    6
    12
See reviews for
26
13
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Located away from the bustling city life of Kelantan and facing the magnificent South China Sea.
A very well kept place.
Good service with splendid staff and well spoken English among staff.
Room was magnificent with the Russian design and is cozy and clean.
Floral arrangement for special occasion was an eye opener.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 3103LEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Dear all,

I am writing this to let all of you know how bad the attitude of their management and staff of this hotel. To be true the outlook of the hotel looks great and ideal for family getaway but too bad they just ruin their business.

Basically I was visitng the resort with my relatives in Malaysia to have a look of the beach and etc, we are indeed not paying guest in the hotel we are just dropping by the place for a look. We went to the beach and have a look that is when one of the staff came over and CHASED us off the beach. We were not even making noises we are just standing there looking and enjoying the sea breeze. Thereafter we left and wondering if the beach might be private to them.

When we get back we questioned them through their Facebook page asking if the beach is private or public and they mentioned that it is public but however they will like the public to avoid the area as for the privacy of their hotel guests. So we were telling them their staff attitude was not asking for our cooperation he was CHASING us off instead moreover it is a public beach so to be exact they do not have the rights to chase us off.

I worked in the service industry in hotels before and I do understand their point of protecting the privacy and comfort of their guests so we feedback to them on the attitude of the staff and they replied us saying that if that is the case we should just not step into the place again and it is jus too bad for us. We were all so SHOCKED by their reply towards our feedback and end of the day they deleted our feedback.

From what we see from other reviews, it is not the first time they were given bad comments and other people had been chased away from the beach as well. In that case they should just buy over a part of the beach and set it as their private beach to prevent issues arising.
The hotel attitude and management replies are just so disappointing and they just lose us as potential guests.

Please think twice before staying there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
34 Thank Dissatisfied122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

visited last month. Good locaton, bad resort. Dont go to this place. Staffs are unfriendly. Owner shouted at my friend when he uses the public toilet. Worst place ive been to. I will never go back to this place anyomore.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Jun32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Truly a wonderful experience. I have been privileged to stay in some of the small hotels and this one makes the top of the list. We had a truly wonderful experience... The facilities, the hotel, the rooms and the service were all great. For a memorable trip, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devonaholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Should be advertised for backpackers? We did not expect to learn the hard way: dusty rooms, no towel rails or hooks (at a 'beach resort') even backpackers would expect?) no hot water, no soap, disorganisation around laundry. No shelter on beach (no deck chairs or brollies). Open plan kitchen & dining cannot stop flies on food, but at least some fans could have helped. Communication was slack & reactive although we were told that they had just unexpectedly lost 6 migrant staff. Most of front line staff very young & helpful but perhaps lacking guidance & good management oversight. Service most times was 'fetched' vs offered.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new city
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I went there in a group where i share a room with my wife, the room and bathroom are spacious.
However some unpleasant experiences that i want share:
- the counter receptionist is not friendly
- the bed is broken, so you can hear annoying squeaking sound
- only one english tv channel, the rest are in thais, french, russian, spanish...
- food are horrible and expensive

This is the first and last time i will be going to the villa.. Not recommended to all..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Bharu
6.6 mi away
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Pasir Puteh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
18.5 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 39 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
19.7 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Danialla Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Danialla Beach Resort

Property: Villa Danialla Beach Resort
Address: Lot 385 Jalan Kandis Melawi | Jalan Tok Bali, Kota Bharu 16310, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Danialla Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unparalleled beauty of nature and the luxury of creature comforts are brought together perfectly at Villa Danialla. Pamper yourself with a massage as you listen to the sound of waves crashing against the shore or indulge in a sumptuous meal as you watch the sun slowly rise from the horizon of the calm ocean right in front of you. Explore the beaten path and discover the wonders of the Perhentian Island and the rejuvenating powers of the La Hot Springs.Whatever your idea of a tropical paradise is, we've got it covered, so come and escape with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Danialla Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Danialla Beach Hotel Kota Bharu
Villa Danialla Beach Resort Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing