We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to spend a night before going to Perhentian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
My place Guest House
Ranked #5 of 73 Kota Bharu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights there before getting Perhentian Islands. In Perhentian is difficult get accomodation if u don't arrive there early in the morning, so I decided to stay a night in Kota Bharu,but finally it was two nights.

My Place Guest House is a good place for backpackers. It's cheap.You have what u need, I got a roon( a basic room), with fan (there are also rooms with AC). The room was very clean.There is also a commun toilet, two or three showers, and a kitchen(u can cook if u want). There is also a nice hall to relax or chill.

The owners are really nice and very helpful.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank Raquelpemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We loved our stay here. It was an unexpected stay for us but we are so glad we stayed here for 3 nights. We had a double room which was spacious, really quiet and had super cold air-conditioning and a well maintained shared bathroom (with great shower pressure).

Coffee and Tea facilities are there all day for you to help yourself and toast with jam is provided for breakfast. The communal area has a really nice vibe with a lounge and large flat screen tv. The hosts are super friendly and always up for a chat - always interested in what you are up to and will offer any suggestions they have.

Close walk to 7-11, a large super market, fast food outlets and local restaurants. We also walked to the many museums around the area without any problems. One of the guys here took us on a tour to see the Buddhas and temples around the area and it was the best day we had in Kota Bharu, just chilling out to his music and talking on our way to see the sites.

My Place Guesthouse is one of the best places we have stayed in our month and a half trip around Malaysia, the value for money is unbelievable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank AbbyLeeAide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Its a cheap stay in clean rooms but without windows and no breakfast. Bathroom is notbexciting but ok. Lady at the reception was friendly and helpful. Not very close to the bus station. In general this place is ok to stay for one night but its nothing special. Reletively fast WLAN.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jasmin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ok so rooms aren't amazing. There were holes in the bedsheets and the shower in the corner is a little random, but it's a nice, airey place to stay especially after some other dingy places. Amazing value for money and loads of advice from the reception guy. It's quite loud as near the road so take earplugs! Would stay here again no worries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen and Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Loved My Place !! Staff are so friendly, the place feels like home !
I would recommend this place to anyone, very affordable !

Look forward to heading back there !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlekennard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

very close to the bus station (bus n°29 from thai border), is situated in the centre of
the city. rooms are simple but clean, with attached shower and fun but shared bath.
there is a nice common area with television, and free tea, coffee and toast available
24h. the staff is very friendly and helpful: they give you a lot of info about
about the town and all malaysia. if you book here your boat ticket to perhentian
island, you have 5RM discount.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ventoeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A simple and nice GH, with a very helpful staff. their staff Deen is really helpful and likes to jokes. Can speek urdu very well, a bonus for me because now i'm doing some research about that language. Near Mc D and 7E, and this is good because i like to feel at home with american fast food.
For sure, we'll be back!.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MikeAssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
4.3 mi away
Min House Camp
Min House Camp
#4 of 73 in Kota Bharu
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 41 in Kota Bharu
417 reviews
19.5 mi away
Villa Danialla Beach Resort
Villa Danialla Beach Resort
#6 of 41 in Kota Bharu
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Grand Renai Hotel Kota Bharu ( formerly Renaissance Kota Bharu)
1.1 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
0.8 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 41 in Kota Bharu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My place Guest House

Address: No. 4340-R2 Jalan Sri Cemerlang | Off Jalan Kebun Sultan, Kota Bharu 15300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Bharu
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a double-storey house, My Place Guest House provides basic rooms with free WiFi near Chinatown in Kota Bahru. A shared kitchen, lounge and terrace are available for guests during their stay. My Place Guest House is 700 metres from the Handicraft Village and Craft Museum and 1.5 Km from Bus & Taxi Station and Kota Bharu Mall. Each room is fan-cooled or air-conditioned and comes with a clothes rack and carpeted flooring. Guests have access to a shared bathroom and shared toilet. A breakfast is served daily at the guest house, which also offers free coffee and tea all day. Airport shuttle, transport services and all inclusive packages to Perhentian Island can be arranged at a charge. Cafeterias and restaurants are within a 2-minute walk of the property. A 24-hour convenience store and major banks are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your My place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Place Guest House Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing