We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To get the staff's attention, drive a BMW or Merc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“To get the staff's attention, drive a BMW or Merc”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived around 11PM, no one greet or assist us with our luggage. Check in was smooth. We brought our own luggage to our rooms. We booked 2 rooms & called earlier to request adjoining room. Was promised rooms next to each other but only the number is consecutive, the rooms were not (311 on the right wing, 312 was on the left). The room is small as expected, however the toilet for 312 smelt moldy. As we were not there purely for leisure (partly leisure & partly business, we didn't complaint as we were only there for 2 nights). Breakfast was bland. The nasi lemak doesn't taste of coconut milk & the rice is under-cooked. After observing from the lobby, we deduce that the bellboy only come to assist if the cars that arrive are of make from BMW, Merc & so on. Other makes don't deserve the bellboys/concierge attention. Adequate hotel, however definitely will not come again unless we desperately need to.

Room Tip: Higher room not facing the main street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ennjelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahHVKB, Sales Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear ennjelina,

Thank you for your review and we very much appreciated your stay in Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu recently.

We sincerely apologized for the inconvenience that you had to experienced during your stay in our hotel and we will look into this matter seriously for the future well-being of this hotel as well as to satisfy all our guests at its best level.

Rest assured that we take all your comments seriously to make your stay with us as one of your valuable journey, and we really hope to see you again in the near future in a better circumstances.

Thank you and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    36
    21
    9
See reviews for
23
8
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Im stay here on 12/4/14.stay in superior single.the room is small but clean.but their front staf is not friendly.no smile and welcoming us as guest at all.no info given regarding facility at the hotel.we dont even know that the hotel provide wifi username n password until we find ourself in the room card holder.and we cant even park our car in the designated guess parking infront of the hotel eventhough the parking is empty simply because we drive a small car..what a discrimination.the tv chanel is worst with poor reception.i think the management shld reconsider wthr this hotel can be called as "holidayvilla" coz this is the worst hilidayvilla we ever stayed!.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boogiealong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahHVKB, Sales Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Boogiealong,

Thank you for your review and we very much appreciated your stay in our hotel recently.

We sincerely apologized that you had to go through bad experiences during your stay in Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu, please rest assured that we take all your comments seriously for our future well-being in serving our guests with friendliness and great hospitality.

We thank you again for your thoughts and hope to see you again in the near future.

Have a nice day! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Located just opposite Wakaf Che Yeh where the local night markets opens until wee hour in the morning. Wakaf Che Yeh is where you can get various products ranging from handicraft, clothing, food. Conveniently locate where you can get food, local or 24 hours McDonald next to the hotel.

Hotel wise, it's ok but not not that we'll maintain. The room soundproofing is lacking as you can even hear the next room toilet flush! Wifi is provided in the room but you need to get from front desk the login I'd and password. Also, it's single device per ID.

Bed is not that clean mine is rather dusty. Bathroom is smaller than most hotels of same category. You need to asked for the complimentary mineral water, 2 bottles per room.

Overall, ok hotel in good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertChew-MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahHVKB, Sales Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear RobertChew-MY,

Warmest Greetings from Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu!

Thank you for your feedback and we very much appreciate your stay with us recently.
Rest assured that we take all your comments seriously to improvise our service to all our guests.

We truly apologized for all the hiccups that you had to experienced during your stay with us and we will make sure it will not happened again in the future,
Really hope to see you again soon.

Have a nice day! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Upon our arrival, no one greeted us and no one assisted us with our luggage to our rooms. We were given one side of a connecting room where we felt insecure as we were not able to lock the door from our side. We also found that the switch for the lights was wired weirdly where it took us a while to figure out how to switch on only the bed light. The WIFI password given is per device which is rather a hassle as nowadays people have more than one device. When we requested for extra bed, it did not come with extra towel and pillow. We had to insist for it before it is given to us. Furthermore, only one toothbrush is given.

On the whole, I am disappointed in the facilities as I expected more from Holiday Villa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AishahLatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahHVKB, Sales Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear AishahLatif,

Warmest Greetings from Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu!

Thank you for your review and we very much appreciated your stay in our hotel.
Glad to inform you that safety is our top priority to ensure guests satisfaction, rest assured that all rooms including connecting room is secured and safe upon guests' arrival and all rooms are provided with extra pillow.
We apologized for the deficiency that you had to experienced during your stay with us, we will make sure it will not happen again as we take your feedback seriously in order to improve and give the best service to all our guests.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you & have a nice day! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kepala Batas, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stay there for 1 night. The room was clean room.Overall the room is quite clean. The in door pool is quite clean.For the first day is quite difficult to get towel at the pool and the second day even at 8, am there is no towel at all at the pool.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabil1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahHVKB, Sales Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Nabil1771,

Warmest Greetings from Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu!

Thank you for your review and we very much appreciated your stay in our hotel.
we will improve our pool service and make sure we give the best service regardless at Poolside, Restaurant & Room Service or any other departments in this hotel to all guests in Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu.

Rest assured we take all your feedback seriously and will strive to give the best and fastest service to you and hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you & have a nice day! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife had a cIass on 01.03.2014 in Kota Bharu so we decided to take the whole family along and spend a night there on Friday, 28.02.2014. So we booked a superior room. The reason I choose this hotel is because the name is Holiday Villa and the name does carry weight. But reading the past review made me feel uneasy. Also the reason I choose this hotel is because it has a swimming pool and serve breakfast which is a must for the kids.

Upon arival, I was left smiling because Wakaf Che Yeh was just across the street and the best part is, there is a traffic light controlled pedestrian crossing right in front of the hotel. All you have to do is push a button, and wait for a few seconds for the traffic to stop and you can cross the road safely without having to fight with the traffic.

The check in was swift and they 1 keycard, a breakfast voucher and 2 password for the internet. They put me in room 508 and gave 1 key card. There is a staff helping me with the luggage all the way to the room which is very convenient. Not that I'm fussy but the name is Holiday Villa service should be impeccable.

Upon entering the room, then I notice that it is small like they said. Ok, the kid have to squeeze in. I have no complain about the room though except the size. Next time I have to go for a larger room. The amenities are adequate, the usual toiletries, including a toothbrush and a shave which is also nice because these are not usually provided in other hotel. The a wardrobe and inside the wardrobe there is an iron complete with an ironing board, a mini fridge and a safe. An electric kettle and the usual coffee with sugar and creamer. A hair dryer is in the drawer next to the bed. The toilet was clean. the water pressure is very powerful for a good shower. And yes, the toilet is small.

The came the swimming pool. The size is just nice, about 40 x 40 feet I guess. It split into 3 sections with different depths, suitable for the whole family. The biggest drawback is that the water is too cold and not heated. The kids, and myself included, had to wait for some time to gather enough courage to dip into the icy cold water. The kids were frustrated and I can see in their eyes that they were unable to enjoy while playing in the swimming pool.

The internet connection was slow, and yes, only one password for one device. So I went to the reception and ask for another one, and they gave me 3 more. They said "Take it, just in case". They have a lot of passwords and you can take as musch as you want.

At night, I went to meet a friend. I came back quite late and I don't want to bother my wife and the kids sleeping. So again I went to the reception and ask for another keycard. And they give one. I like hotels that never let the quest down.

Breakfast is ok. The usual rice porridge, the whiter rice with a couple for dishes, and egg counter for omelets and half boiled, salads, bread and buns etc.

Overall, the hotel may be the best hotel in Wakaf Che Yeh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahHVKB, Sales Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Ahmad A,

Warmest greetings from Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu!

Thank you for your thoughtful review and we very much appreciated your stay with Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu. Overall, we are still improvising our services and facilities for our guest's convenience. Regards the cold pool water, it is probably because our poolside is indoor,however we will improve the standard temperature of the pool water. Please rest assured we take your comments seriously in order to serve our guests with the best service and hospitality.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you and have a nice day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2days from 28th Feb - 02 March 2014.. room 308..

Review :

Lobby:
- no welcoming greet
- staff not friendly and we feel like strangers.

Room :
- room very small
- toilet very small and smelly
- no complimentary drink inside room
- lamp switch not functioning well.. u cant keep only one light on.. whenever u switch on/off the light..it will affect whole room.

F&B :
- breakfast choices not variety
- i expect kelantanese traditional "nasi kerabu" but no one of it be provided.
- even no nasi lemak served.
- i've ordered room service for 2 days
1. (Day 1)Mee goreng mamak + chicken wing :
1.1 i only can give 2**
1.2 no fries served with chicken wings although it shows different in the menu.
2. (Day 2)Sandwich
2.1 really dissatisfied with the sandwich taste and presentation.. i gave 1* for it

Conclusion :
- i do not know whether i'm still interested to stay in Holiday Villa Kota Bharu anymore.. as my 1st experience was too bad for us. I am expecting more from the goodwill of "Holiday Villa KB" but i didnt get it.

Overall.. 2**.
-MHMK-
Mohd Haizi///Putrajaya

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mohd Haizi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahHVKB, Sales Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mohd Haizi M,

Warmest Greetings from Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu!

Thank you for your thorough feedback and we very much appreciated your stay with Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu.

We always implement the practice of Malaysian greetings to all our guests among our staffs and friendliness as one of the most important method to make our guest feels at home in our hotel.

Complimentary drinks in room are usually practiced in resorts and leisure hotels, as a business city hotel, Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu does not practice complimentary drinks in every room. However, depending on demands and changes from time to time, we might change the procedure. Glad to inform you that we have also fixed the lamp switch problem in room 308 where you were staying.

We also served Kelantanese authentic signature dish such as Nasi Lemak, Nasi Dagang & Nasi Kerabu in our breakfast buffet besides other dishes as well.
We will also improvise the quality of food served regardless of room service, banquet and our ala carte menu in Lagenda Restaurant.

Rest assured we take your comments seriously in order to serve our guests with the best service and hospitality.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you and have a nice day! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 40 in Kota Bharu
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 40 in Kota Bharu
388 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 40 in Kota Bharu
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Habib Hotel
Habib Hotel
#13 of 40 in Kota Bharu
65 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 40 in Kota Bharu
142 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crown Garden Hotel
Crown Garden Hotel
#18 of 40 in Kota Bharu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites
Address: Pt 968 Jalan Kuala Krai | Wakaf Che Yaeh, Kota Bharu 15100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu has modern rooms offering city or pool views and free Wi-Fi. A 5-minute walk from the Wakaf Che Yeh Night Market, the hotel provides free parking. Kota Bahru Town and Kota Bahru Shopping Complex are both a 10-minute drive away. It takes 15 minutes to drive from Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites to Razali Batik Shop & Factory and Pasar Siti Khadijah (Central Market). Sultan Ismail Petra Airport is a 20-minute drive away. The air-conditioned rooms come with wood flooring and furnishings. Each is equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV, tea/coffee making facilities and safe. Private bathroom includes a shower, toilet and hairdryer. Recreation facilities at the property include an indoor swimming pool and business centre. Luggage storage facilities and a safety deposit box are available at the 24-hour reception. A variety of local and Western favourites are served at Lagenda Restaurant. Coffee Bar within the restaurant offers a selection of local an ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing