We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful host, excellent service, good value, even if not in prime location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lee Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lee Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 58 Kota Bharu B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful host, excellent service, good value, even if not in prime location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for just one short night, on our way from Kota Bharu to the Perhentians, to catch the first boat in the morning. Mr Lee picked us up from the airport when we arrived around midnight, and he did arrange the boat tickets to the Perhentians for us as well. Stayed in contact via text, reminding us to confirm our return boat with the operator. The location of the guesthouse is nothing special, just a quiet residential area, but this was not what we came for in the first place. Rooms are very basic and clean, with a shared bathroom.

Overall, we felt treated like family by our host. Lee arranged all the logistics (buying the boat tickets, arranging transfer to the harbour), so we didn't have to worry about it. Highly recommended for people who are passing through Kota Bharu on their way to the Perhentians.

Room Tip: Not a big choice of rooms, as property is fairly small. Having bought a local prepaid SIM card helpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We only stayed one night and Mr Lee was very helpful and organised transport and boat tickets both coming and going. The guest house is comfortable and clean and offered a basic breakfast of toast and cereal but it is well out of town. On the plus side, Mr Lee dropped us off at a local mall and picked us up at the night markets at no charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifel0nglearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lee's guesthouse for 2 nights when traveling from Thailand to the Perhentian Islands. Firstly, the room was very clean, spacious, with a/c, and comfortable beds. Mr. Lee took excellent care of us, bringing us to and from Kota Bharu (it is not in the city center), provided cereal and toast breakfast, as well as arranged our travel to Kuala Besut and then the jetty to the islands. We also were given complimentary laundry ;-). He made us feel like we were at home, and truly took great care of us. It was so nice to stay here, and would recommend to anyone who looks for a quite place to relax, especially after a long (and hot) trip from Thailand.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MG783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Kota Bharu for a few days on our way to east coast islands. Mr Lee was the most amazing host providing us everything a traveller might need - comfortable and clean guesthouse with all the facilities one needs, great breakfast, timetables and rides, tickets and all the local knowledge one might ask. This is a home a way from home - highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heini E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

If you plan to go to the perhentians, stay here. Mr Lee charges the same prices as a regular taxi or a regular boat ticket, but it saves you searching or hassling.
He picks you up at the airport or trainstation, drives you to kuala besut and gets your boat ticket. All you have to do is sit back.
He also drives you to the centre for free if you want to go to a restaurant or visit khota bharu.
The rooms are clean, and it's just like a guestroom in a regular house.
The bathroom could use some renovation, but everything is working well.
Breakfast and drinks are arranged by mr lee and it is all you need.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schreudster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

First things first, yes it is a bit out of town but Mr.Lee was more than happy to give us (free) lifts into town and collect us again! It is a true Guesthouse, in a residential area its nice to be somewhere that feels homely.

Good Internet, Tv in the lounge, cooking facilities, drinks available at good prices, all very clean, comfy bed (firm pillow though!) Amazing breakfast, highlight being the peanut butter and jam spread, and having cereal with proper milk, nice juice, the lot!

As others said Mr.Lee couldn't do enough for you, arranging our boat tickets to the Perhentian Islands, and we also booked a transfer through him. Chatty and friendly, for a good price - what more could you want.

Even though he is out of town there is a big shopping complex a 3 minute walk away, 7eleven/ Watsons Pharmacy loads more and a huge supermarket with a small food court. Make sure you go to the busy Indian place in the corner (its the biggest food counter) we didn't really know what we were doing, and didn't know anything on the menu but through pointing and English from everywhere working we managed to get an amazing meal, for really cheap! Make sure you got the Roti 1RM each with sauce, the best!

Even once you leave Mr.Lee cannot do enough for you, we got down to the Perhentian and after 5 days here we needed to arrange a bus to KL. Google had little info and as we had to be there on a Friday we thought it was a bit too risky to just turn up on the mainland as we would usually do, the place we stayed in the Perhentian Islands were no help at all (see other reviews) so a quick message to Mr.Lee to see if he knew times/ could help. As soon as we know it he has sorted out tickets for us and given me all the details to go and collect, amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdSutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for a night before jumping over to KBR the next morning. Mr. Lee is very kind and courteous, and you can trust him to take good care of you.
- I recommend alerting him ahead of time to the time that you are arriving, since he does have a full-time job. He runs a tight ship which is apparent from his email confirmations and his availability by cell phone.
- Mr. Lee wants you to have a good time in his city and this was apparent to me by: the maps and brochures he provided, the rides into and out of town, the recommendations on how to spend my night in the city. I had an early flight the next morning and we woke up quite early, at like 4:30 or something so I felt a little guilty since it was a workday, but Mr. Lee was very courteous and didn't make me feel bad at all.
- The home and room were all very clean. I slept like a baby.
- As described in other reviews, his house is out of the way so arranging rides/taxi is necessary if you want to go to the center of town. The neighborhood he is in is very nice and appeared quite safe to me as well.

Thank you Mr. Lee!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
3.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 38 in Kota Bharu
274 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 38 in Kota Bharu
363 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 38 in Kota Bharu
320 reviews
3.4 mi away
G Home
G Home
#7 of 38 in Kota Bharu
5 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ewan's Guesthouse
Ewan's Guesthouse
#1 of 58 in Kota Bharu
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Guesthouse

Property: Lee Guesthouse
Address: No:263, ,Jalan KK 1/9 Bandar Baru Kubang Kerian, Kota Bharu 16350, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lee Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee Guesthouse Hotel Kota Bharu
Lee Guesthouse Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing