We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel with poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billion Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Billion Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average hotel with poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Room was OK; not luxurious but allows a good rest. My husband thought the bed was too hard but i could still sleep ok. TV was small and grainy and doesn't have too many channels. This is not at all a luxurious hotel but they have a great pool. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was just ok. Breakfast included in the room is much like canteen food (sorry). There is a duty free shop right across the hotel. You have to cross a shaded area though.

Oh service. Service is HORRIBLE. My husband sent his coveralls for laundry and they never sent it back until after 10pm (so no hope of preparing for an early morning the next day) and even then that was only after I called many times. Receptionist only answered 3 times after it rang for a long time (I called many times). Each time they said they will check or that it is on the way (because it was raining) but it never came until the 3rd time i called.And housekeeping never answered.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    37
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
12
9
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
NE scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting.
I have stayed here several times now but this is the first time since being taken over by new owners.
The reception staff are excellent and very helpful.
The hotel is clean and modern and the rooms are large spacious and modern, they well laid out; the bathroom is clean and well serviced.
The pool area and bar is a good area to relax, the pool is clean and are the changing rooms.
Definitely one of the better hotels in Labuan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Room decor was very nice, ample lighting and spacious. But the mattress and pillows werent that comfortable to sleep in. Ordered room service twice, food was ok but not worth the price. Great outdoor environment, nice swimming pool and sea view but could use some maintenance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank rusticwanderess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Located across a filed from the only shopping center in Labuan so its convenient to get KFC or Pizza Hut or snacks. Some local stalls are also nearby for food. The town area is also within walking distance but in the tropical heat would be quite a challenge!

The rooms are large and recently refurbished so no worries there.

The breakfast is okay in terms of variety but as I stayed for 5 days, there was little difference one day to the next. Replenishment was also extremely slow so at any one time, a few chafing dishes were empty. There is an egg station but need to patiently wait your turn.

The housekeeping staff were nice but the reception rather cold most times. On checkout, one staff handled my laundry charge. After payment while waiting for transport, another staff discovered a mistake and his manner of getting me to pay the additional amount was offensive - as if I had cheated them. Hey, I pay what I am asked to pay! If it's your mistake, apologise to me instead of looking accusatory.

Next visit, I'll try Dorsett across the road.

Room Tip: Pool or sea view is better. Non smoking floor if non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morichan5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Spent 3 weeks there on training trip. Overall a good option for those on business trip to Labuan. The swimming pool is a highlight here, quite a large pool. The breakfast was excellent and rooms are spacious and well taken care of.
May seem pricey but worth the deal!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rengaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel in now the millionaire hotel. I stayed here several times and enjoy the big rooms. Limited menu in the restaurant and the buffet could use some western touches, My tv was fuzzy the entire time an d several things did not work in the room. I hope the new management will get this Labuan Landmark back into shape, It is great location...just a walk across the park to Financial Centre. You gotta love the super cars parked out front as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Waterfront hotel is set in an ideal location close the financial centre (shopping mall) and only a short walk from the city centre.
The room itself was big and spacious and had all the mod coms I required. The Hotel staff were friendly but at times a little slow! The hotel pool was great and the Sunset bar overlooking the docks was terrific.

I certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would always recommend a non-smoking room, even if you are a smoker! Much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jurassic-matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lazenda Hotel
Lazenda Hotel
#1 of 4 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.8 mi away
Summer Beach Lodge
Summer Beach Lodge
#2 of 4 in Labuan Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billion Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billion Waterfront

Property: Billion Waterfront
Address: 1, Jalan Wawasan, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Waterfront Labuan Financial Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Billion Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billion Waterfront officially opened its doors on the 01st December 1994 and was launched by the former Prime Minister of Malaysia Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. The hotel is developed on approximately 4 hectares of reclaimed land adopting a contemporary architectural style with its external and internal decors. In 2004, the hotel received a 4-Star hotel rating from Tourism Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Billion Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing