We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms ok”
Review of Billion Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Billion Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The rooms and pool are quite nice here but the food is terrible. Also the pool bar is very expensive compared to the other hotels in Labuan. It's across from the shopping mall which has most things you need. Eat at the Tiara hotel or at the fratinis Italian in town. The only to good places to eat in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Room was OK; not luxurious but allows a good rest. My husband thought the bed was too hard but i could still sleep ok. TV was small and grainy and doesn't have too many channels. This is not at all a luxurious hotel but they have a great pool. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was just ok. Breakfast included in the room is much like canteen food (sorry). There is a duty free shop right across the hotel. You have to cross a shaded area though.

Oh service. Service is HORRIBLE. My husband sent his coveralls for laundry and they never sent it back until after 10pm (so no hope of preparing for an early morning the next day) and even then that was only after I called many times. Receptionist only answered 3 times after it rang for a long time (I called many times). Each time they said they will check or that it is on the way (because it was raining) but it never came until the 3rd time i called.And housekeeping never answered.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting.
I have stayed here several times now but this is the first time since being taken over by new owners.
The reception staff are excellent and very helpful.
The hotel is clean and modern and the rooms are large spacious and modern, they well laid out; the bathroom is clean and well serviced.
The pool area and bar is a good area to relax, the pool is clean and are the changing rooms.
Definitely one of the better hotels in Labuan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buckieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Room decor was very nice, ample lighting and spacious. But the mattress and pillows werent that comfortable to sleep in. Ordered room service twice, food was ok but not worth the price. Great outdoor environment, nice swimming pool and sea view but could use some maintenance.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank rusticwanderess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Located across a filed from the only shopping center in Labuan so its convenient to get KFC or Pizza Hut or snacks. Some local stalls are also nearby for food. The town area is also within walking distance but in the tropical heat would be quite a challenge!

The rooms are large and recently refurbished so no worries there.

The breakfast is okay in terms of variety but as I stayed for 5 days, there was little difference one day to the next. Replenishment was also extremely slow so at any one time, a few chafing dishes were empty. There is an egg station but need to patiently wait your turn.

The housekeeping staff were nice but the reception rather cold most times. On checkout, one staff handled my laundry charge. After payment while waiting for transport, another staff discovered a mistake and his manner of getting me to pay the additional amount was offensive - as if I had cheated them. Hey, I pay what I am asked to pay! If it's your mistake, apologise to me instead of looking accusatory.

Next visit, I'll try Dorsett across the road.

Room Tip: Pool or sea view is better. Non smoking floor if non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morichan5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Spent 3 weeks there on training trip. Overall a good option for those on business trip to Labuan. The swimming pool is a highlight here, quite a large pool. The breakfast was excellent and rooms are spacious and well taken care of.
May seem pricey but worth the deal!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rengaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel in now the millionaire hotel. I stayed here several times and enjoy the big rooms. Limited menu in the restaurant and the buffet could use some western touches, My tv was fuzzy the entire time an d several things did not work in the room. I hope the new management will get this Labuan Landmark back into shape, It is great location...just a walk across the park to Financial Centre. You gotta love the super cars parked out front as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Labuan Island
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billion Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billion Waterfront

Address: 1, Jalan Wawasan, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Waterfront Labuan Financial Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Billion Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billion Waterfront officially opened its doors on the 01st December 1994 and was launched by the former Prime Minister of Malaysia Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. The hotel is developed on approximately 4 hectares of reclaimed land adopting a contemporary architectural style with its external and internal decors. In 2004, the hotel received a 4-Star hotel rating from Tourism Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Billion Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing